We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rustic Cabins”
Review of Tekarra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tekarra Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The location and scenery couldn't be better and the cabins are cozy and quaint. Keep in mind these are rustic cabins, if you are looking for luxury, go rent a boring hotel room. This is about an experience that you will not have from a hotel room, the view, the air, the animals, the rivers ( two converge and the property is on a bluff that overlooks the meeting of the Athabasca and Miette, stunning does not even begin to describe it), it's nature! No T.V.'s are part of the charm, there are fireplaces and wood is provided daily (unlike many other cabins in the area), and the staff are fantastic and very accommodating. We come here every year for our anniversary and have never been disappointed with the experience or the service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smartfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here because our usual Jasper accommodations, Becker's, could not accommodate us. I found Tekarra to be acceptable, but not great. The bed linens were very worn--I don't expect to sleep on pilled sheets at $400/night (for 5 persons)! The bathroom was very tiny and not nicely finished. I would stay here in a pinch, but would not seek it out.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for 1 night $370 . It was the perfect location right by the river side with plenty of outdoor space fot the children to explore .
we were very disappointed with the cabin we had,very basic and the cutlery and pots and pans were dirty . The bathroom was small and very basic .
We would not stay here again as the cost was too much for what you get .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshlady1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Log cabins. Real wood burning fireplaces. River running by. The prospect of seeing wild animals outside one's door. All of these things are for you at Tekarra Lodge, and the place just seems to shout, "Canada!"

We stayed in a lodge room, which was very comfortable; the price included a scrumptious breakfast. The lodge's lounge/rooms are above the restaurant, but noise from the restaurant was not an issue for us.

The staff was very attentive and pleasant. The location, so close to Jasper, was perfect. The scenes of the mountains and Athabasca River took one's breath away.

There seems to be a history of the place: Marilyn Monroe stayed here, and John Travolta has dined in the restaurant.

We have wonderful memories of this place and would recommend it to anyone. Thank you!

Room Tip: Lodge rooms are small and cozy; they have air conditioners, whereas the cabins do not. We found th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Anyone need to go there and spend a few days. I am convince that on the day of you departure you will want to extend your stay. It is a great place for family or anyone who is looking for tranquility. Our family has been spending part of our holiday at Tekarra Lodge fir the past 5 Years.

Room Tip: Cabin facing the Athabasca River are the best to enjoy the sun down. While some other cabins are fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul2751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

"I'm living a life of dreams" is what I think when a reflect on my two-day stay at Tekarra Lodge. The cabin was so cute I can't stand it. And what a location. We looked out our front window to see a park-like setting - trees and a couple picnic benches. Out of sight until you walk closer was the winding Athabasca River with Adirondack chairs set up to face the river. What a beautiful vista we had while the sun was setting. I am still drooling over the photos I took of the area. They are surreal.

Room Tip: We had cabin 5. Close to river and had two sleeping areas (nooks) with a double bed in each. Sort of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivingDreams2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A great place to unwind! Lovely cabins, very comfortable beds. Nice and quiet, no tv in rooms, loved that! Very knowledgeable staff of where to find what in Jasper. A superb place to stay for a mountain getaway! We listened to a great interpretive talk about the bears, wolves, caribou & eagles.

Room Tip: Beautiful cabins with quaint porches, neat showers. Just awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
1.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
465 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
995 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.9 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,691 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekarra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekarra Lodge

Address: Highway 93A | 1 km south of Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range: £174 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tekarra Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the heart of the Canadian Rockies, Tekarra Lodge enjoys an enviable location within Jasper National Park, the largest of the national mountain parks in Canada, 4200 square miles in area. Jasper became a National Park in 1907 and the town site's first buildings were constructed in 1911, then Jasper was known as the town of Fitzhugh. Tekarra Lodge is located across the river from the base of its namesake, Tekarra Mountain. Tekarra Mountain, towering 2635 meters above us is named for the Iroquois guide and hunter who accompanied Sir James Hector on his expedition through the Rocky Mountains during the mid-1850s. The skill and devotion of the guide Tekarra saved the lives of the members of that expedition. He sustained and fed them during the grim and bitter winter with caribou that he hunted on the mountain. It was because of this devotion that Sir James named the mountain Tekarra. The lodge grounds form the banks of the confluence of the Athabasca and Miette rivers. This land is maintained in its natural state, and offers a wonderful study for nature lovers. Tekarra's marked nature walk, and the Indian totem poles give pleasure to all ages. The area and history in and around the property is a fascinating one. One of the first settlements of Jasper called Henry House may have been located adjacent to the lodge on the south side of the river. Even today, there is still indication of an old homestead and some outbuildings. Tekarra Lodge was built circa 1947 and initially consisted of only a few cabins, some of which are standing today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tekarra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tekarra Hotel Jasper National Park
Tekarra Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing