We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
annmarieta78
Sherwood Park, Canada

Beautiful experience

Review of Tekarra Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Oct 2023
Tekarra is a beautiful lodge/property, just off the beaten path in Jasper. The property is well maintained and prices are fair for what you get. Staff are helpful, friendly and courteous. In the evening they offered a wildlife talk with a woman, Marie, who spoke about local wildlife we may see/have seen. Along with the chat around a beautiful campfire, they toasted s'mores with us and had great chats. The property overlooks a beautifully scenic gorge. We stayed in the Astoria Cabin #22. The cabin had one king bed, one queen and a double sofabed. The sofabed was a bit squeaky, but newer mattress on it and my son said was comfortable. The other two beds and pillows were also very clean and comfy. Only problem we had was the shower clogged, but made staff aware of it and they said it's an ongoing issue, but would see to it ASAP. We only stayed one night, so was a non issue. Property has a lovely restaurant on premises, which we didn't have time to try. But nice to have that option. Cabin was also equipped with a full kitchen (fridge, stove/oven, sink, microwave). They also provided us with a treat bag for our dog, who also could stay there for a small $25 fee. Parking available in front of the cabin, as well as each cabin had its own charcoal grill. The cabin also had a wood fireplace and the property provides each cabin its own kindling, wood and firestarters.

Tekarra surpassed our expectations and we will for sure recommend to family and friends and return once again ourselves!
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ATL Guest, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 4 Oct 2023
Thank you for the wonderful review annamarieta78! I am glad that you were able to experience the nature talk with Marie, she is lovely and a longtime local to Jasper. Thank you for mentioning the features of the cabin and our helpful team members. I will be sure to pass along your comments to everyone! We hope to see you again for future visits.
Sincerely,
Stephanie Sophocleous
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£213
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    £234
  • Agoda.com
    £208
  • Expedia.com
    £235
1.3 miles from Tekarra Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
£272
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £265
  • Hotels.com
    £272
  • Priceline
    £272
0.9 miles from Tekarra Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
£275
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £276
  • Agoda.com
    £260
  • Hotels.com
    £276
1.4 miles from Tekarra Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Junior Suite at the Maligne Lodge
£194
  • Expedia.com
    £227
  • Agoda.com
    £177
  • Hotels.com
    £227
1.0 miles from Tekarra Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
£198
  • Official Site
    £243
  • Agoda.com
    £174
  • Expedia.com
    £221
1.4 miles from Tekarra Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
HI Jasper
£207
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £207
  • Priceline
    £207
  • Expedia.com
    £207
2.0 miles from Tekarra Lodge
Free parking
The Standard Twin Beds at the Astoria Hotel
£214
  • Expedia.com
    £214
  • Hotels.com
    £214
  • Priceline
    £214
0.9 miles from Tekarra Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£647
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £647
  • Skyscanner.com
    £535
  • Hotels.com
    £647
1.4 miles from Tekarra Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £305
  • Priceline
24.1 miles from Tekarra Lodge
Free parking
Pool
bedroom - kinda odd placement of lamp but works for reading in bed
  • Skyscanner.com
    £209
  • Hotels.com
    £233
  • Official Hotel Site
    £209
27.9 miles from Tekarra Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Jasper National Park
Reviews (1,155)
Filter reviews
1,156 results
Traveller rating
558
305
131
101
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
558
305
131
101
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews s mores the river adirondack chairs overlooking close to town breakfast was included fire pit small cabin hiking trails on site beautiful location jasper town beds were comfortable these cabins lodge fireplace smores athabasca
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,156 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2023

It is RUSTIC and simple no TV in our case and Limited WIFI and that suits me. We ordered the bbq for our first nite with is SELF done. The BBQ is prepared for you with instructions. for us it was 20 mins potatoes on side then 20 minutes veggies on side the meat as you like at end. Highly recommend if you are NOT in a hurry.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ATL Guest, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2023

Thank you for leaving a lovely review. We are happy that you were able to take advantage of the BBQ package and cook at your cabin. We are in a beautiful location and it's to slow down enjoy the area. We hope to see you again for future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2023 via mobile

This was a first for us as we normally stay in a hotel/motel downtown but The Tekarra Lodge gave us a whole new perspective of Jasper. On arrival we noticed the elk wandering on the property so it set the mood.

Check in was easy and the receptionist made us feel very welcome. We were lucky enough to get one of the new units (#46) which was very comfortable for four adults and had all the facilities that we needed.

Special thanks to the whole team who made us feel so welcome including s’mores nights.

We made use of the laundry and the bikes for hire. One should note as there is nature about you do need to take care especially when the boy elk are excited.

Although the instructions for the open fire are quite clear and we followed them to the letter we did get a smoke blowback on the first night but not on subsequent nights.

Overall we had a great stay and would recommend to anyone who wants to be close to town but also in nature.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kiwifan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ATL Guest, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Thank you for leaving a wonderful review! We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us and would recommend the property. We hope that the rest of your travels were just as good. Take care and maybe we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2023 via mobile

We stayed in a Columbia King Cabin. The bed was comfortable and cabin clean. We booked this lodge because we wanted the peace and quite. It was both of those things until the neighbors arrived. You can literally hear every word being said through the walls. My husband and I are average size people I believe. He is 6 ft tall and I'm 5'7. My husband could barely fit into the shower. I fit but I couldn't turn or move once inside. The cabin also had that very old musty smell but that can be comforting to some. We did go on a walk around one of the trails and it was wonderful! We saw a ton of Elk and the view of the river was great. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location was also really convenient with a short 5 minute drive to town.

Room tip: I would avoid any cabins that share a wall with another cabin.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KacieB06
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ATL Guest, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

We appreciate you leaving a review KacieB06. We are sorry that you had a few issues that while you were here. We will pass along the comments to the maintenance team. We are glad that you could experience the wildlife and the team was helpful at the front desk. Have a wonderful week ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2023 via mobile

I guess as an Australian I found this place very expensive and not up to the standard we would expect for the price.
It was certainly clean and comfortable. The bed was against the wall so you had to climb over your partner to get out, no phone, no tv and we ran out of tea bags.
They did come and move the bed out but that meant very little space to move around.
Shower was good and heating good.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ATL Guest, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Thank you for leaving a review Liz. We do advertise that the property has no tv's and/or no telephones. I'm sorry that you missed this when reserving your stay. If you needed more tea bags we would have been happy to bring you more. Did you ask the front desk for this items? I'm sorry that you feel we fell short during your stay. We know that you have many options to choose from when travelling. We hope that the remainder of your visit in Jasper and Canada was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2023

The primary appeal of the Lodge is its location, off the highway just outside Jasper, with good views of the area.. We stayed one of the Lodge rooms, so can't speak for the cabins. The room was tiny by current standards, although clearly recently refurbished, Just about enough space for the bed, tea/coffee facilities and a couple of bedside tables, with minimal storage. The bathroom was also compact. We were over the restaurant area and there was an intermittent hum audible, presumably from a piece of kitchen equipment.

Access was via steps and through a common area, being at the time used for community activities. This was awkward for getting luggage through.

To be fair, we were given a discount on mentioning these issues to management. Still, we feel that the cost was excessive given the facilities.

The laundromat worked well.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CheeseBoard52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ATL Guest, General Manager at Tekarra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Thank you for leaving an honest review of your stay with us. The painters that were using the hospitality room last week love when visitors walk past and view their art. No need to feel awkward however there are a set of stairs at the end of the hallway/building. I'm glad the front desk team listened to your comments and applied a discount. I know this doesn't change your experience but hope that you feel we took steps to correct the situation. Have a wonderful week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews