We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning panoramic views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistlers Mountain

Whistlers Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning panoramic views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

So worthwhile on a clear day. From the upper tram station we hiked up the to the top - it's a climb, but worth every step. The panoramic views of the surrounding mountains were stunning.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank donakempak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    20
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Phenomenal view from the top of the mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We took the Tramway to the top of the mountain and the view is phenomenal. Town of Jasper, the lakes, the mountains... It is a well worth trip and suggest to go in a clear/sunny day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Openyourheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
292 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“A hard slog to the top, but worth the effort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We combined this with a trip to see the Angel Glacier on Mt Edith Cavell - they are both in the same direction from the town of Jasper. This meant we arrived at the Jasper tramway later in the afternoon when it was slightly quieter.

You need to use insect repellant both at the bottom (in the car park and waiting for your allotted 'flight') and at the top where there were some vicious and persistent black flies.

There was quite a slow queue to purchase a ticket, but you are given a fixed time for the gondola, so you can visit the cafe and restrooms while you wait. There are just a couple of places to sit in the gondola - most people stand.

At the top of the lift there is a bit of boardwalk with interpretative signs telling you about wildlife; we saw a pica and some golden mantled ground squirrels when we visited. After that, there's a track to the top of the mountain that is surprisingly hard work. You need a decent pair of walking shoes or trainers - we saw a number of people turning back because their sandals were unsuitable for the rather slippery gravel. It definitely required an effort to reach the top of the mountain - it is quite steep - but the 360 degree views were superb.

There was a short wait for a return journey, but there were some benches to sit on once you approached the front of the queue.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Family152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

This was very cold and very busy. Riding in the gondola to the top of the mountain, I saw a Momma and baby bear on the side of the mountain. This is a great place to snow ski. I don't ski. My husband had this kn the internary, I am not sorry we went. Beautiful countryside!

Helpful?
Thank rgold02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We were packed in to the tram going up the mountain, but worth it when we got to the top. You can stay as long as you want and the ride down was great, only 11 people in the car.
We walked to the top, saw the marmots whose whistling gave the mountain its name.....you do as much or as little as you want. We had soup and coffee in the restaurant...a room with a view...the gift shop was well stocked and very reasonable

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Vivien J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whistlers Mountain also viewed

Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Whistlers Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing