We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Horseshoe Lake

Horseshoe Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edmonton
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Horseshoe lake is a beautiful spot. Not well marked of course and maybe that is a good thing as the short hike is a little treacherous for anyone who is elderly or frail. It is a beautiful lake though with great reflections and views and for the more adventurous, great cliff jumping if you know the best spots to jump off from.

Personally my biggest draw to the lake is that not many people do know about it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quick hike, scenic views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My favourite place in Jasper is Horseshoe Lake, about 25km south on Highway 93. There is ample parking, some interprative signage and an outhouse off the Highway. Once you walk down the path to the lake you are surrounded by a beautiful, clear, teal lake, amazing rock formations and plenty of trees.

There are several log bridges and stairs for navigating the centre land mass, they are wiggly but sturdy. Some parts of the hike are steep and we stepped down a 4 foot rockface with some effort. It isn't for the lighthearted, but for anyone who like to get lost in nature, it's amazing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Alliston F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Short trail, amazing water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We drove by seeing the lake on the side of the road and stopped to walk off our meal from Jasper. We took some incredible photos from here, the water was almost like glass.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank thatpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For cliff jumpers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Beautiful scenery; crystal clear, but very cold water. Popular cliff jumping area.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank 2_ziggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Total Blast...with Care”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Our family of 6 (four teens) stopped at Horseshoe Lake at the suggestion of a waitress in the Jasper Brewery. She suggested it as the "one thing to do in Jasper." We had a blast, but we were careful about it. It is certainly not for the inadventurous, nor for folks not inclined to observe safety basics.

We had to ford water up to our waists to get across to the cliffs (the water is very high at the moment...I think later in the summer, it will be a foot path or a shallow wade at most). Once there, we found a promising nook along the water with access out of the water. The water was teeth chatteringly cold, but as clean and clear as a glacier lake can be. We checked out the edge of our area for rocks. As long as you are relatively close, you can easily see the edges. Our family started with a three foot jump, and eventually worked our way up to a ten foot jump. While we watched others make jumps that were far higher, less defined, and certainly less safe, we kept within our sense of what was safe for us.

In the end, our kids were cold but inspired. They say this easily was the best part of our 11 day trip to Banff and Jasper...and it was FREE! Even better, we saw two bears on our way back to Jasper. Definitely take in this lake...but bring both your adventurous spirit and your common sense.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank doublecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horseshoe Lake also viewed

Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 

Been to Horseshoe Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing