We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay there again”
Review of Pocahontas Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pocahontas Cabins
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We just got back home from a long weekend at Pocohontas Cabins. We stayed in a Delux Log Cabin. I must admit I was a little disapppointed when we got into our cabin. It looked MUCH bigger in the advertising. The fire place was not what I was expecting. It was a tiny little gas stand alone kind of room heater. It did do its job of making the place warmer (there is also natural gas heating in the place so no fireplace is needed), and did make it look like there were flames in it. It was sort of like staying in a gingerbread house.

The cabin was clean, the services were excellent. When we arrived, we found the pilot light on the gas heater was not working and the lite on the front porch was burned out. There are no phones in the cabin so we had to go to the front desk. A handy man was there to fix everything within 5 min. This is amazing considering that we checked in around 9 PM. And, he fixed both issues with a smile and an apology for our inconvenience.

The Delux Cabins have a galley kind of kitchen that inclused a small fridge, sink, 4 burner stove, and enough plates, glasses, cutlery, pots etc to cook small meals. There are also bbq's and picnic tables available if you wanted to do some outdoor cooking.

The place is a 30 min drive from Jasper town site but the drive is amazing. The scenery around Pocahontas Cabins is also amazing.

There is wifi only in the games room in the main building. No big deal if you are used to that kind of thing. The games room has enough activities available to keep kids from 10 to 80 occupied.

If you go there with the mind set that it is a bunch of cabins set off on their own, you will not be disappointed. It is very close to the main hwy so if you are a light sleeper you may have issues. My husband and I are not so had no problem sleeping. By the way, the bed was extremely comfortable. You can stay in a hotel/motel in the main town site and have the same kind of noise issue.

We stayed there Sept 21 to 23 so had no issues with there not being any a/c in the cabin. The weather was too cold to use the outdoor pool. Many people did use the hot tub (but not us). It is also dog friendly. This may or may not be to your liking. It was to ours and the next time we come we will be bringing our dog.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay, we will be back there. We found it close enough to Jasper town, but also close enough to sites that would allow you to go sight seeing.

Room Tip: They have many different types of accomodation available. Select the one that fits your needs and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed here one night during a visit to Jasper park. We had such high hopes for this stay as the cabins looked so inviting. Actually the cabin itself was very nice. We were in cabin 14 which was a new very clean nicely decorated cabin at the very end of the row furthest from the front office. Other than the fact that the cabin had no a/c during a very warm spell we had no issues with the cabin itself. In fact the bed was one of the most comfortable we had our entire vacation. The problem we had with this stay were several . First the cabin windows needed to be open to cool it down . As a result the noise from the roads could be heard all night. There is a main road that goes past the front of this complex that carries truck traffic all night. But along side this complex is a road that goes to a camp ground and hot springs. This road is very busy, especially on weekends. Also there are people walking around and past your cabin all the time, walking there dogs and such. Additionally the atmosphere in the complex is more of a campground than hotel. People are drinking and partying late into the night,dogs barking etc etc. there are no phones in the cabins so there is no one to call to complain. We did speak with the front desk in the morning about all the noise and our inability to get any sleep and the were very apologetic and adjusted our bill. However this was not the quiet more upscale accommodations I had expected so be fore warned if you are considering staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travler1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Me & my girlfriend stayed here for a girls weekend :) we had a great trip. Spent most of our time between the hot tub and visiting other guest we met along the way. Used the free bbq for a great steak dinner too. Staff were helpful. Cabins were clean and cozy. Hot tub & pool with the amazing view made it hard to head home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I just stayed in the "Panabode Motel Unit" at the Pocahontas and surprisingly it was very nice. It was in the older area, but it was very well maintained and super clean! It had a double and a queen bed (too hard for my liking). The kitchen area came with a full size coffee pot and coffee, a small microwave and under counter fridge and a kitchen sink. The bathroom was a modern shower stall and the towels and sheets were very nice. It had a swimming pool and hot tub that were well maintained and beautiful flower baskets all around the resort and rooms. I would definately stay again on my next visit. Oh, the restraunt was really good as well, not too highly priced, good serving sizes and tasty! All the staff were very nice, helpful and pleasant. Located on the road that goes to Miet Hot Springs, very conveniant.

Room Tip: Ask for a mattress pad, the beds are flat, but quite hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We booked this location based on reviews and the pictures of the Cabins. When we checked in found that we had been placed in the older cabin area - we had specifically asked for the log cabins as are shown on the site. Went back to the office and they were able to put us in a lovely 2 bedroom cabin, which had a full kitchen and living room area. Bedrooms were upstairs.

When booking, if you want one of the newer cabins - they start numbering with 1xx, example 108. The lower numbered cabins, such as 39, are the older cabins and of the two we had been originally assigned are one large room and only small stairs up to the porch and room - so if you cannot climb stairs - these would be good - just ask for one away from the main road. There are also lodge rooms - which had two stories.

There is also a lovely swimming pool and a hot tub. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food was good. If you are planning to stay for any length of time, may want to do some grocery shopping in Jasper before arriving at the cabins, as they have very limited items in their small grocery and it is at least 30 minute trip back into Jasper.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not have a room on the main highway side - very noisy when you have windows open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherie6132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

First stop on a 5 stop trip from Edmonton to Vancouver
We stopped for 5 nights at Pocahontas cabins , log cabins in a very picturesque part of Canada surrounded by mountains. Accompanied by 2 grandchildren.
Cabins were clean and well equipped , a small shop on site had very basic supplies ,as all cabins are self catering, although a good but basic restaurant serves breakfast and evening meals .
Staff were very helpfull ready to offer advice on best places to visit.
A car is a must ,there is no way of getting around without it.
Nearest major town is jasper 40 minutes away on a good straight road , jasper is a typical tourist town ,lots of shops and restaurants , route 93 connects Pocahontas to jasper ( if my memory serves me well) we saw more wildlife on this stretch of road than on the rest of our trip, including bears, wolf, elk, coyote, big horn sheep , osprey and eagles.
Pocahontas cabins have quite a number of facilities including pool,jacuzzi !gas BBQ and games room ,ideal for families on a budget. If free Wi fi is important you will have difficulty.
The bad news CANADA is in my view very expensive but as Pocahontas cabins are self catering with the option of inexpensive on site dining they are within the budget of the average family.
We enjoyed this location , pack a lunch,a long lens camera and ensure you have a back pack with adequate clothing then just follow your nose.
I should mention that Wi-fi is almost non existent .
They are log cabins not a 5 star hotel, think centre parcs , and enjoy the great outdoors ,
Be prepared to pay to enter the national parks, cost us nearly one hundred dollars Canadian

In spite of one hiccup I would give it a good rating as a family location.

Room Tip: Go for a detached stand alone cabin.if staying for more than a few days. There are some older cabins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandad99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Very good service.
Rooms are too small, not enough space to keep luggage.
Units are too close to each other and large vehicles are parked on roadways.
No shower at the pool.
Wrong map was provided by the link

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
1  Thank Thilak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
23.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
465 reviews
23 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
899 reviews
22.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
644 reviews
22.7 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
22.9 mi away
Lobstick Lodge
Lobstick Lodge
#16 of 17 in Jasper
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pocahontas Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocahontas Cabins

Address: Hwy 16 and Miette Hot Spring Road, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Jasper National Park
Price Range: £55 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pocahontas Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pocahontas Cabins are located in a peaceful area, just 25 minutes away from the bustling town of Jasper. Next to a diversity of natural attractions and wildlife, these cabins are the perfect place to stay to experience your own mountain retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pocahontas Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocahontas Cabins Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Hotel Jasper National Park
Pocahontas Cabins Jasper
Pocahontas Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing