We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was so romantic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was so romantic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

When we arrived, we were greeted with very friendly staff.
They showed us to our cabin, and it was just what I had imagined it would be like.
We had a romantic dinner. Which you need to make a reservation when you arrive. That evening one of the staff came to the cabin with a bundle of fire wood and started the fire place for us.
It was the end of a very perfect night.
We are happy we stayed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    232
    89
    31
    26
See reviews for
148
318
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Location 4
Sunwapta's location is both good and bad. It's the perfect distance from Banff that we were able to drive through Bow Valley Pkwy to Louise Lake/Ice fields Pkwy and have time to go on the Ice Explorer without rushing too much. We were even able recuperate a little before dinner there and see a few more spots around the area before sleeping. However, because it's right in the middle of Lake Louise and Jasper, there are sights that would've been more convenient if we just stayed at Jasper (like Maligne Lake). It's a great stop for a night or two, but no more.

Service 5
Everyone was extremely friendly and approachable. They were also very talkative, we got a lot of stories from them which I enjoyed.

Amenities 2
There really weren't any amenities, but you don't go here to be in a pool.

Food 5
Dinner was excellent. Breakfast was generous and excellent. Loved it.

Room
The bed was comfortable. I really liked leaving the fire overnight - made the night really cozy. The area was a bit smelly, though so we couldn't leave our windows open too long.

Room Tip: We got the Summer deal (325 for one night, champagne, $75 food voucher, and breakfast) and thought i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
211 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

After the crowds of Banff and Lake Louise, we were thrilled with the pleasant, laid back, and friendly oasis of Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge. The staff, who came from all over the world, were truly wonderful. Gracious, helpful. and they kindly sent my iPad to me when I left it in the room. That shows real honesty, integrity, and devotion to customer service. I reviewed the restaurant separately, but it is a real find. Excellent food and great selection including many local and regional specialties. While the room got a little warm (no air conditioning and only one small window), we opened the door a little in the evening and that solved the problem. A small refrigerator in the room was very helpful. We expected the internet to be nearly impossible but it actually wasn't that bad. The resort is run off a generator and is thus 'off the grid.' But, that just means it's an oasis from the crowds and a nice national park experience; a little rustic but in a very nice way. We saw what we thought was the owner walking around the grounds quite a bit and checking to make sure everything was 100%. I would love to stay at Sunwapta again if we can find time to visit the Canadian Rockies sometime in coming years. If you want to be in a bustling, busy environment with lots of shops, restaurants, and tour buses, this one is not for you. But, if you want to feel a bit away from it all but still spoiled with an excellent restaurant, a very clean room, and friendly staff with just a short walk to excellent waterfalls and close to wonderful hiking and sights, this is the place for you. It is so nice to find a place where people really care about doing a great job. They could just rest on the fact that they're in a national park and give minimum service, so-so food, etc. But, they obviously take real pride and it shows. Thank you Sunwapta Falls RML!

Room Tip: If you want to stay in a cabin, book early. Else, the regular lodge rooms are fairly typical hotel r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Trisha!

Wow! Thanks so much for leaving this fantastic review! Thanks too for choosing us :)

Readers, normally I have a lot to add or to say, but really Trisha has touched upon some of the most important things to consider when thinking about a stay at Sunwapta. Instead of commenting, I simply cut and paste with a few comments :)

WHAT OUR LOCATION MEANS AS STATED BY TRISHA!
"... If you want to be in a bustling, busy environment with lots of shops, restaurants, and tour buses, this one is not for you. But, if you want to feel a bit away from it all but still spoiled with an excellent restaurant, a very clean room, and friendly staff with just a short walk to excellent waterfalls and close to wonderful hiking and sights, this is the place for you."

"...We expected the internet to be nearly impossible but it actually wasn't that bad."

My comment: All true, and when it comes to WIFI, it’s best to expect poor or no internet here. That way you may be as pleasantly surprised as Trisha! We have the best internet we can get here right now and are in talks with a new service provider that MAY be able to provide more.


OUR SERVICE COMMITMENTS AS NOTED BY TRISHA!
"... laid back, and friendly oasis... The staff, who came from all over the world, were truly wonderful. Gracious, helpful... real honesty, integrity, and devotion to customer service.... We saw what we thought was the owner walking around the grounds quite a bit and checking to make sure everything was 100%"
"It is so nice to find a place where people really care about doing a great job.... They could just rest on the fact that they're in a national park and give minimum service, so-so food, etc. But, they obviously take real pride and it shows."

My Comment: We are so glad this comes through. We hire and train largely based on values. We like to work by the values we hold in life. I can say that our staff take a lot of pride in what they do and genuinely enjoy it. Reading reviews like this really brings a glow to everyone’s hearts here! Thank you!!!

RESTAURANT!
"...it is a real find. Excellent food and great selection including many local and regional specialties."

My Comment: No argument! The evening dining is incredible.. Make sure you make reservations in advance of check in to guarantee a good seating time. It’s an intimate dining room with 13 tables… Reservations: info@sunwapta.com / 1-888-828-5777. Please indicate the date of your stay!

ROOMS AND BOOKING!
“If you want to stay in a cabin, book early. Else, the regular lodge rooms are fairly typical hotel rooms, but very clean and comfortable.”

See my comments to the review or two prior to this one to get some good options on booking windows that will allow you to get what you want in the Rockies in peak season (July - mid Sept). But yes, the earlier you start the better!

Remember, no matter how you book, when it comes to unique hotels or destinations like ours, always call the hotel directly to ask all those questions other booking channels just can't answer. Plus, by calling us you can make special requests too! Even if you book via an OTA like Booking.com or Expedia, or your travel agent, call us and get all the info you really need to make the right decision!

info@sunwapta.com / 1-888-828-5777

Thanks again Trisha! It would be a great pleasure to have you return!

Matt
Director of Sales, AGM
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hadn't planned to stay here but ended up staying three nights when all the campgrounds along the Icefields Parkway were full. It's only about a half hour drive to the Columbia Icefield and a half hour to Jasper town, easy walk to Sunwapta Falls, great scenery, with quiet and woodsy rooms. We chose to stay in the rooms rather than the cabins (which are really four plexes). The rooms overlook the woods and are quieter while the cabins are closer to the parking lot and the main road. Most of the rooms are small with twin or full beds but some are quite spacious with a queen bed (we ended up staying in a different room each of our three nights since we showed up last minute). The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was so-so but the dinner was magnificent. Great place to stay if you want a more rustic experience. No pool and very limited and spotty WiFi.

Room Tip: rooms are smaller, a little less expensive and further from the road. Cabins are somewhat larger and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
HI Ted W!

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your Sunwapta Experience with the TripAdvisor community! I'm glad we had some vacancy to help you out!

For the benefit of the readers out there, I add the following:

AVAILABILITY AND PLANNING!
If you are planning to come to the Rockies in the summer months (July, August and first half of Sept), whether you are camping, taking advantage of one of the wilderness hostels or enjoying the full service of the many hotels, please please please book in advance!

How far in advance? Well, for your perfect selection of room, I would say no shorter than 6 months. For good selection, but with many dates sold out, 4 months. For availability with limited selection, 1 month. For any type of availability if there is some left, less than two weeks.

Don't be too disheartened, there are some rooms to be had 'last minute'. There are last minute cancellations or room allotments that are released, but for July and August, if you're in a town looking for rooms that night, do it EARLY in the day, and if you find an available room, I recommend taking it fast :)

ROOM TYPES AT SUNWAPTA
Thanks Ted for a great overall description of the room types. We have bungalows with 4 separate hotel rooms in each. Two of those (our Rocky Mountain Double) have 2 double beds, full private bath and a deck to enjoy. All rooms have TV with movie channels, fridge, in room tea/coffee (free) as basics. The other 2 rooms in the bungalows are our Hideaway rooms. These feature 1 queen bed, full private bath, and a real wood-burnign fireplace! We provide wood and fire lighting service at no additional cost.

Then we have our accommodation lodge. If you are booking online, only one room type is available in our accommodation lodge. It's like our Rocky Mountain Double but a little smaller. It has full private bath, 2 doubles and a large shared veranda surrounding the entire building. It's ideal for small groups travelling together.

Size wise, our Rocky Mountain Double is the largest at approx 245sq feet. The Hideaway is approximately 215 and the Lodge rooms 220. They are all single room hotel rooms. We have a few other room types and it sounds like Ted stayed in one of them. They are in our lodge and feature either 1 double bed or 2 twins.

WIFI AND NOISE
Sunwapta is very quiet at night. The Icefields Parkway is a sightseeing vacationer highway so it gets very quiet as people go to check into their hotels for the night. Even rooms that face the highway and parking lot are quite quiet at night.

The quietest rooms are the ones facing the forest to be sure! We have a few of these. But again, overall it is a quiet location, and the clients we serve are generally speaking looking for a quiet stay in our wilderness location.

We have removed all advertising that we offer internet as we have very limited service available to us due to location. However, I have been in meetings with providers to work on how we can improve our service and there may be some hope! I will wait until the final stages are done to report more, but it would be in 2015 that we would see these improvements.

I like to say the following: if you NEED wifi and consistent steady internet for work or professional related concerns, we're not a good pick. Your cell doesn't work for most of the way between Jasper and Lk Louise either. Be prepared to relax instead, and enjoy the company of the people you are with. If work can wait, let it wait. If not, you have an excellent excuse: stuck in the middle of stunning Canadian Wilderness :)

HOW YOU SHOULD BOOK!
You can book any way you like. If you are looking for our budget rooms not available online, you have to call or email us directly:

1-888-828-5777 or info@sunwapta.com.

Even if you like to use your travel agent or favourite OTA like Booking.com or Expedia, please call us first. The reason I say this is so that you can ask ALL the little important questions you know you want answers for before booking. You can also make requests or tell us things that will help us make your stay special and memorable.

DINING:
Is exceptional at Sunwapta. The evening restaurant is intimate with 13 tables and the regionally inspired menu complements your day and our surroundings. You do need reservations for the dining room. Make them earlier if you can. Reservations are made via our front desk:

info@sunwapta.com / 1-888-828-5777.

SUMMARY:
Coming to the Rockies in summer? Book early, call the hotels directly to get real answers to your questions, then book however you like! The longer your advance booking is made, the more likely you will be able to refine what you want and have expectations met.

Hope to see you all our way soon! Thanks again Ted!

Matt
Director of Sales, AGM
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife and I stayed one night here and enjoyed our stay. We were driving the Ice Field parkway, and drove from Lake Louise to Jasper, then turned around and drove back and spent the night here. The drive was magnificent. We were really pleased by the accommodations at at Sunwapta Lodge. Nothing too fancy, but clean and comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised by how nice the falls were (a VERY short walk from the lodge) so that was a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nola404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Nola404!

Thanks so much for driving back from Jasper and deciding to stay at Sunwapta. We're all super glad to see you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking time out of your life to leave a review!

I love a couple of aspects of your review. In particular: the Parkway and the Falls. There's not a lot of marketing out there about the Icefileds Parkway, and I think people in general just don't realize what they are missing out on by not driving the 200km stretch between Lake Louise and Jasper.

I will only elaborate on a few items for the TripAdvisor community:

THE ICEFIELDS PARKWAY IS INCREDIBLE!!!
As Nola has written, it is magnificent. There are too many words and superlatives to be used. Please, if you are coming to the Canadian Rockies, make the complete journey. Banff is not the end of the Rockies, nor are the Columbia Icefileds. Get all the way to Jasper, and soak in the magnificence of Nature that stretches between these mountain towns. You will never regret and never forget that journey!

THE FALLS!
Not talked about enough... but maybe that is a good thing :) Just a 10 minute walk from any of our rooms to the Sunwapta Falls. There you find a beautiful and rather undeveloped area. Take another 40 minutes from your day and you can enjoy the easy return trip to the lower sets of falls. Or, rent one of our bikes and ride 6km to the sublime 'Big Bend' campground!

The Sunwapta Falls are just one attraction along the Parkway, and there is a great deal more to see and do. We have lots of info, maps and our in-house self drive itineraries have helped MANY experience incredible sights adn activities. But further to that, we will customize your sightseeing days and act as ticketing agents for everything in Jasper! Give us a call or drop us an email to get started on planning your days in Jasper National Park!

1-888-828-5777 / info@sunwapta.com

NOTHING FANCY!
True! We are a 2 star hotel. That rating is based on amenities of course. There are no phones in rooms. No cell reception. Wifi is spotty at best. There is no pool or hot tub or air conditioning. So how did our little 2 star hotel get so high up on TripAdvisor? We feel that coming to the Rockies is more than a hotel room.

We think you will be hard pressed to find an experience like staying at Sunwapta. We are right in the middle of a National Park, close to several amazing sightseeing locations and activities with one of Jasper's most beautiful attractions just a short stroll away. The evenings here are magical and full of peace.

Outside of location, you will find an uncommon level of commitment and care, joy and service here. We know the privilege of our location, and feel passionate about helping you have experiences that will ignite your passion for Jasper. Combine epic sightseeing days designed by our staff, with memorable experiences and gorgeous dining in a true Canadian Rockies wilderness location. That's how, we think, our little 2 star property has a 4 circle rating!

Thanks again Nola! Come back any time :)

Matt
Director of Sales, AGM
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We loved this place. Very close to Sunwapta falls and only a short drive to the Canadian Ice Fields. The room was spotless and the food exquisite. Quiet and homely. The staff friendly and helpful. Quality for price. The grounds are magnificent with chipmunks and an array of beautiful birds scampering about. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The gift shop is well stocked with souvenirs as well as essentials. Would highly reccommend

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Snoozieq55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcorlett, Director of Sales at Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Snoozieq55!

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us in your journey from Australia! Thanks too for the great review :)

I think you've captured a good picture of the general ambience at Sunwapta and what we strive to provide our guests from all over the world.

Readers, remember, no matter how you book your room for us, feel free to contact us first to ask any questions you may have from location, to services, to amenities, to ideas for your stay in Jasper!

If we're not the right place for you, we'll have some recommendations ready: info@sunwapta.com / 1-888-828-5777.

Thanks again Snoozieq! Hope you are still enjoying your vacation time in Canada and abroad!

Matt
Director of Sales, AGM
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannali, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed here as part of a group and shared a nice, quiet room in a cabin.It was very clean, comfortable and spacious.The best thing about the hotel were the staff who were all very welcoming, helpful and friendly which made the whole experience of staying here an absolute pleasure.We even had a group talk from a a local naturalist.The impressive Sunwapta Falls are a 15 minute walk but try to go early or late to avoid the hoards of tourists.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
28.1 mi away
The Glacier View Inn
The Glacier View Inn
#15 of 21 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
29.0 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#8 of 21 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
28.0 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#11 of 21 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.7 mi away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#11 of 33 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#26 of 33 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
13.0 mi away
HI Athabasca Falls Wilderness Hostel
HI Athabasca Falls Wilderness Ho...
#12 of 33 in Jasper National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Property: Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Address: Hwy. 93, Icefields Parkway | Box 97, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada (Formerly Sunwapta Falls Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jasper National Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-time recipient of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence, Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge is an ideal choice if you're looking to unplug from the hectic pace of regular life. Here you will find yourself surrounded by nature with the most warm, caring and wonderful staff you are likely to find on your travels in Canada. We’re only open from mid-May to early October. We operate at 98% occupancy and sell out fast, so book early on Facebook at SunwaptaFalls or sign up for exclusive offers on our website. Entirely committed to ensuring you have the best experience possible in Jasper, we provide private consultations and create custom sightseeing guides, activity bookings and if you like, full meal packages. Leave your Jasper planning to our expert staff, so you can enjoy the company of the loved ones you are travelling with while taking in the best Jasper has to offer. Most often chosen for our location, the lodge is a scenic 45-minute drive south of downtown Jasper and a 45 minute equally stunning drive to the Columbia Icefields. Our cabin-style accommodation is nestled in the forest between mountains and lakes with just a short walk to the beautiful Sunwapta Falls and other local hikes. In the evenings its just us, the stars, the sound of the falls and the scent of wood burning as it crackles in our many fireplaces. Our Certificate of Excellence awarded restaurant provides unbelievable casual fine dining in the charming ambience of our heritage lodge. In the morning we offer full mountain breakfasts from 7am and healthy options to take on your day of sightseeing. See you in the Rockies! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Hotel Jasper
Sunwapta Falls Hotel
Hotel Sunwapta Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing