We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
cheshire england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

An excellent location in the heart of icefields parkway. Staff very friendly and helpful. Meals very good as was service in the restaurant. A walk to the lower falls is well worth the short walk. We will certainly be returning,hopefully in 2010.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angiCheshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    232
    89
    31
    26
See reviews for
148
318
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

Located in the "wilderness", the atmosphere surrounding the chalets was awesome. The staff were curtious and very, very friendly. One staff member even came into our room and lit a romantic fire for us. All free of charge.

In the morning, we took a hike (easy - for everyone) to the falls and lower falls and the views were great.

Would recommend this location to anyone wanting a very clean, comfortable room in a rusty setting.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, AR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

We booked well in advance, and the staff graciously helped us with several adjustments we had to make to our plans. The hotel is in a spectacular location, within easy walking distance from Sunwapta Falls. The rooms were not super luxurious, but were clean and cozy with brand new TV sets. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the food at the restaurant was great. We'll definitely be going back in a year or two.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archaeopteryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

We called a few hours before we checked in and got a room ("one of 2 left") and were quoted $189. When we got there, my husband asked for their lowest price room which we got ($149). Pricey, but we expected that in a tourist area. The room was fine and mostly clean.
We decided to eat in the dining room. The kitchen here is excellent, if pricey, with nice presentations of the various dishes. However, a seating time was required in this half-empty restaurant. Overly stupid more so since we were in the same room as their tacky gift shop.
There was barely any internet and it took me about 20 minutes to send a single email.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goforadrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

This "resort" is without a doubt the WORST place that I have ever stayed at AND was $235 per night, which is a complete ripoff. It was so horrible we avoided the place other then to sleep.
The website views are completely misleading, as this "resort" is really some double wide trailers divided up into rooms that are being marketed as a resort.
The bed linens have not been replaced since the 80's (seriously) and the bath towels felt like sand paper on bare skin. To top that off our room was infested with large crickets that were all over the room, including in the bed sheets (ew!), the carpet was old and smelled like mildew and the drapes didn't cover the windows.
They didn't have an alarm clock or a phone in the room so we never knew what time it was or couldn't set an alarm to get up (our phones didn't get any reception up there). However, none of that mattered since we couldn't sleep anyways. The walls on the trailer are paper thin so we were up all night listening to a baby screaming then whomever was next to us was trying to get through the adjoining door.
At 235$/night the owners are making more then enough money to repair and replace everything. They are obviously pocketing all the money and are relying on all new customers because once you have stayed here, you will never go back. Shame on them!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CAspeechie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

This pile of crap on the side of the highway is -- without doubt -- the worst place I have ever stayed AND was $235 per night, which is a complete ripoff. I would have expected to pay $50 per night., but no more because it was really a "no-tell motel" kind of place in the middle of Jasper. No kidding -- it was just that bad.
There were six of us, 3 couples renting 3 rooms, which we booked in May. The website views are completely misleading, as this "resort" is really a motel + some double wide trailers that is being marketed as a resort. Believe me, all of their money is going to the owners' pockets because NOTHING here has been updated (including the DISGUSTING bed linens and cheap, thin towels) since the early 80s. We were absolutely ashamed on their behalf, especially for the many foreign visitors who have no way of knowing any better. When I complained about the rooms, the front desk told me that if I could find other accommodations, they would refund our second night. Well, that's cold comfort since we were there on a holiday weekend in the middle of summer and there were no vacancies for 100 miles.
In addition to being a trailer house with very thin walls between the 4 rooms, the carpet stunk, the bed was old and lumpy, the linens were disgusting and totally worn out having not been replaced since the 80s, the drapes did not even hang low enough to cover the windows, so the lights from the parking lot and cars coming and going were in our room all night, there was no alarm clock, the furniture was the oldest and cheapest available, the bathroom was tiny and everything was old and cheap. We listened to our neighbors and the cars in the parking lot all night on both nights. There was no fan or a/c so we had no choice but to leave the windows open -- which was also necessary due to the stench of chemicals, age and rot in the room.
To add insult to injury, we paid $3 for a cup of coffee that tasted like old socks and battery acid.
This family-owned and operated business should be put OUT OF BUSINESS and the owners convicted of theft. Their level of greed is absolutely egregious and unforgivable. For anyone considering a trip to Jasper, avoid this RIP OFF at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Donisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

Booking a resort you think you are going to get a resort. This is not a resort. It is a stopping point for a few pictures of Sunwapta Falls, and then move on. The room was mediocre at best with just the bare essentials, and not worth anywhere near the $219 rate I paid. It's barely worth half that in my estimation. They don't even have ice machines, you have to go in to the restaurant area and get someone's attention and ask them for ice. The grounds appear to not have been touched for months...certainly not like any resort I've ever seen.
Their breakfast was actually very good, but don't order the buffet at $17 each. We (2 adults and 2 teenagers) ordered from the side items on the menu and it came out a lot cheaper. The 2 gals at the front desk were extremely nice and pleasant. Wi-Fi was only in the lobby or the restaurant, not in the room.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
28.1 mi away
The Glacier View Inn
The Glacier View Inn
#16 of 21 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
29.0 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#9 of 21 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
28.0 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#10 of 21 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.7 mi away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#12 of 33 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#28 of 33 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
32.5 mi away
Jasper East Cabins
Jasper East Cabins
#26 of 33 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge

Property: Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Address: Hwy. 93, Icefields Parkway | Box 97, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada (Formerly Sunwapta Falls Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Jasper National Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4-time recipient of TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence, Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge is an ideal choice if you're looking to unplug from the hectic pace of regular life. Here you will find yourself surrounded by nature with the most warm, caring and wonderful staff you are likely to find on your travels in Canada. We’re only open from mid-May to early October. We operate at 98% occupancy and sell out fast, so book early on Facebook at SunwaptaFalls or sign up for exclusive offers on our website. Entirely committed to ensuring you have the best experience possible in Jasper, we provide private consultations and create custom sightseeing guides, activity bookings and if you like, full meal packages. Leave your Jasper planning to our expert staff, so you can enjoy the company of the loved ones you are travelling with while taking in the best Jasper has to offer. Most often chosen for our location, the lodge is a scenic 45-minute drive south of downtown Jasper and a 45 minute equally stunning drive to the Columbia Icefields. Our cabin-style accommodation is nestled in the forest between mountains and lakes with just a short walk to the beautiful Sunwapta Falls and other local hikes. In the evenings its just us, the stars, the sound of the falls and the scent of wood burning as it crackles in our many fireplaces. Our Certificate of Excellence awarded restaurant provides unbelievable casual fine dining in the charming ambience of our heritage lodge. In the morning we offer full mountain breakfasts from 7am and healthy options to take on your day of sightseeing. See you in the Rockies! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Hotel Jasper
Sunwapta Falls Hotel
Hotel Sunwapta Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing