We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hurry, before it's gone!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Glacier View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Glacier View Inn
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hurry, before it's gone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Fantastic view from our room of the sunlight setting and rising on the glacier. We timed getting there from Lake Louise about an hour before sunset so we could sit out on the expansive hotel deck and watch the beautiful light. Our room was spacious and spotless. The kettle with coffee, hot chocolate etc in the room was a nice touch. In the morning, you're right there ready to explore the ice field on the glacier tour. Be quick though - the glacier might only have another 60 - 70 years left, thanks to human kind!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank regretnothing1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear regretnothiing1928,

Thank you for your recent review of The Glacier View Inn. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests as it allows us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to serve you better in the future.

It is wonderful that you were able to capture the sun setting and rising on the glaciers. It is a beautiful site that not many people are able to enjoy.

The Ice Explorer is the perfect activity to complete your stay. It combines the excitement of being able to walk on the largest Icefield in North America with interesting facts and history to help you better understand what you are experiencing.

In May of 2014, the Glacier Skywalk will be opening and it is only 7km from the Inn. The Skywalk features a walkway leading to a glass-floor observatory that lies 918ft above the Sunwapta Valley.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    160
    108
    54
    27
See reviews for
159
199
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed at this Inn in 1980 and 1993, wow, what improvements they made. The room was huge, we had the corner unit with 2 queen size bed, many windows, amazing views, very clean, comfortable beds, friendly staff. Loved it. Congratulations on a job well done. Friends of ours had another room and also 2 queen size beds, did the Glacier Explorer tour, the tour guides all have great personalities, nice interaction with their guests. Did not want to miss this.

Room Tip: If you want to experience the area, this Inn is a must stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni_Bill_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Toni_Bill_11,

Thank you for your recent review of The Glacier View Inn. It was a pleasure to host you again. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests as it allows us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to serve you better in the future.

We at Brewster Hospitality are so pleased that you enjoyed our renovations and are able to see the amount of work we put into our renovations. With the new Glacier Skywalk opening in May 2014, we would love to host you again so you can try another new experience. The Skywalk features a walkway leading to a glass-floor observatory that lies 918ft above the Sunwapta Valley.

Thank you again for your loyalty and we hope to host you, your partner, and friends again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed on this property on 31st August with my friends on our way to Jasper. The hotel is on the highway 93 just adjacent to the Columbia Ice fields. The Ice fields bus starts from the hotel itself which has a visitor information center inside. The hotel's location is just wonderful. They has glacier view restaurants and other amenities which makes its worth staying. On the second floor, there is a good open balcony to take pictures of the beautiful 5 glaciers which can also be seen from the glacier view room of the hotel. Must take pictures in evening!!!
Room service was good. Room was quite spacious, clean and comfortable. We stayed in a duplex glacier view room and liked it. There is a gift shop inside the property which has really good collection at a good price. Overall, I would strongly recommend staying in Glacier view inn and taking Columbia Ice field 1 hour tour on your way to either Jasper or Banff.

Room Tip: Its worth the trip/ money if you book the Glacier view room and enjoy the beautiful glaciers and ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HN87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear HN87,

Thank you for your recent review of The Glacier View Inn. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests as it allows us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to serve you better in the future.

You and your friends seemed to have an amazing time at the Glacier View Inn and that is exactly what we aim for with every guest.

Our glacier view rooms, though they cost a bit more, offer the chance to view the glaciers late at night. In the early summer time, often you can see and hear avalanches (from a very safe distance!) from your room.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to host you and your friends again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed in the Inn on August 25 and in July of 2012. There are only 32 rooms at the Inn, but the location adjacent to the Ice Fields makes it a worthwhile location. They recently updated the lobby and gift shop, but have not touched the rooms. Rooms are comfortable, but the bed on the main level needs to be replaced. The restaurant has a captive audience as it is a distance to any other place to eat. Food is decent, but the prices are extremely high. With four adults we paid $102 for breakfast with just ordering eggs, coffee and an order of toast to go with the omelets. Tip is included with your bill. Only other complaint about the Inn is the distance from the lobby to the parking lot. Be prepared to carry your luggage from the lot across a bridge and into the lobby. Would be nice if you could pull up adjacent to the lobby to make unloading easier especially in the rain.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Bill F,

Thank you for your recent review of The Glacier View Inn. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests as it allows us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to serve you better in the future.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the location and comfort of your room. We are currently looking at the options for creating a separate parking lot close to the hotel for our hotel guests. It is taking some time to overcome the red tape but we are putting our best effort to service our guests better in the future. In the meantime, our guests are more than welcome to enter through the 'buses only' entrance and unload their luggage close to the lobby. Our staff can then provide directions to the overnight parking.

The Food and Beverage facilities are all owned and operated by a third party company unrelated to Brewster. I would be more than happy to provide your feedback to their management for their review.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to host you and your family again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed for a night with our two children at the hotel last week and we were really positively surprised. We had read very bad comments of past guests and we actually don’t understand most of them. The room was big, clean with comfortable beds. The staff was as kind as you expect from a Canadian Hotel. The restaurant had a kids menu (with around 8 different meals for them) which we really appreciated. We booked a room with views to the glacier and it was absolutely awesome. Of course, the location of the hotel is just perfect. You must take the bus to the Glacier from the hotel. I know it isn’t cheap, but you can’t expect it to be cheap when it’s located where it actually is and with no other hotels and restaurants near. I don’t think Parks of Canada would allow having more hotels in the area. I’m sure we’ll go back with our family and friends. If I had to say something negative…the breakfast in the Restaurant is expensive.

Room Tip: I would recommend other visitors to stay in the rooms with the Glacier views (the little difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATPCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear ATPCalgary,

Thank you for your recent review of The Glacier View Inn. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests as it allows us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to serve you better in the future.

I am very happy that you made the decision to stay with us. Brewster Hospitality provides the best services it can in a remote area. It can be hard for some to understand that the same luxuries they experience in urban areas are not readily available in a remote location. We are doing our best to listen to guest feedback and improve on areas where we have the authority to do so.

If you enjoyed the Ice Explorer, be sure to check out the the Glacier Skywalk opening May 2014. It is a cliff-edge walkway that leads to a glass-floored observation deck 918ft above the Sunwapta Valley.

The Food and Beverage facilities are all owned and operated by a third party company unrelated to Brewster. I would be more than happy to provide your feedback to their management for their review.

Thank you again for your feedback and we are excited to host yourself, family, and friends in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I was nervous about this hotel because of the mixed reviews. However, our stay was more than pleasant and plenty comfortable. The views are absolutely stunning and if you stay here spend the few extra bucks to have a view of the glacier!!! This was a perfect stopping point after having spent the entire day on the Icefields Parkway hiking, driving, taking photos and doing the glacier walk. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The hotel could definitely use some updating, but nothing that ever made us feel as if the place was run down. We heeded other travelers advice by avoiding the pricey restaurant. We bought food at the Safeway in Banff and ate by our window overlooking the glaciers. One real negative for me was the large staircase to climb with our bags to get into the building. I asked at the front desk if I was parked in the right place and the employee said yes. Otherwise, would recommend this as a good stopping point before heading back to Banff or heading on to Jasper (still another 1hr. 20 mins from here).

Room Tip: Get a glacier view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackiesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Jackiesd,

Thank you for your review of Glacier View Inn. We love to hear from all our guests, especially when they had a memorable experience with us.

Please accept our apologies that you had to carry your bags up the large staircase. We do have an area right by reception where you can drive to and unload your vehicle; we just do not allow overnight parking. This comment will be passed on to the Front Desk so that they can clarify with guests that they are able to unload before climbing the staircase.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Inn should you find yourself in Jasper National Park.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had a great stay at the Glacier View. I didn't request a glacier view room, but that's what we got, so we were happy. My kids loved the loft upstairs with 2 twin beds where they could sleep. There was no air conditioning, but the weather was comfortable, so we didn't need it. Our room was clean. Wouldn't recommend eating there though. The food isn't very good and way over priced so eat before you get there. We were pleasantly surprised that they had an evening walk around the glacier which was free of charged. We really enjoyed this, and the ice walk the next morning was amazing. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a glacier view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Susan S,

We do thank you for your review. We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to a glacier view room and the evening glacier walk.

As the food and beverage facilities located at Glacier View Inn are not owned or operated by Brewster Hospitality, I would be more than happy to pass on your comments regarding outstanding service and Asian cuisine to their Management for their review.

Thank you for your business and loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper National Park
57.2 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#9 of 21 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
56.1 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#10 of 21 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
28.1 mi away
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lo...
#8 of 21 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.2 mi away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#12 of 33 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
19.6 mi away
HI Rampart Creek Wilderness Hostel
0.0 mi away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#28 of 33 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glacier View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glacier View Inn

Property: The Glacier View Inn
Address: Icefields Parkway (Highway #93 North) | Just north of the Banff/Jasper National Park Border, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glacier View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glacier View Inn is a model of environmentally sensitive design, built to incorporate the pristine environment that it surrounds. There are 32 guest rooms - most have at least two queen beds and a loft. All are well appointed, with satellite TV, and direct dial phones. Many rooms offer spectacular views of surrounding mountains and glaciers but you should make sure to request a room with a view early as these are the first to go. Most rooms are well suited for families needing more space than a conventional hotel room, as well as traditional sized rooms for couples or individuals. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Glacier View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glacier View Hotel Banff National Park
Glacier View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing