We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glacier View Inn
Berwyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
165 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Based on reviews here, I was not expecting much. I booked the hotel as part of a package which included a glacier tour and breakfast. I had a good experience at check- in...the gal was friendly and helpful. The room was huge and included a loft with 2 twin bed in addition to the queen downstairs. It was clean and well maintained. The view of the glacier and mountains was great! The negatives were that there was no Internet and there was only the VERY high priced dining room. This place is very isolated and there are no other dining options. Since breakfast was included in our package, we did eat that meal in the dining room. My French toast was just ok...if we'd had to pay the bill for breakfast, it would have been the most expensive breakfast we ever had!
If you like peace and quiet and a nice room and aren't concerned about the expensive meal options, then this is a good choice. The location is good if you want to spend time enjoying the Icefield Parkway in a leisurely way.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sswksq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear sswksq,

Thank you for your recent review of the Glacier View Inn. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests as it allows us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to serve you better in the future.

I am glad you mentioned our packages as many people are unaware that we offer them. The packages are a great way to save on your trip as they group together meals, accommodation, and attractions. Most people that book a night or more at the Glacier View Inn eat on site and purchase tickets to the Ice Explorer.

As Brewster Hospitality does not own or operate the food and beverage facilities at the Icefield's Centre we are unable to control the pricing and quality. We do suggest that people who are budget conscious pack some food of their own or opt to eat in the Cafeteria as it's price point is under that of the Dining Room.

Our location is an excellent choice for those who want to spend quality time at the icefields, ski, hike, etc.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    168
    116
    60
    29
See reviews for
168
217
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

There is only a tiny sign on the Icefield center that says the name of the hotel. We drove past it twice before we saw the sign! Bed was comfy, although room was a little hot.

View of the glacier was awesome and it was nice to stay there in between Lake Louise and Jasper since it is quite a drive either way.

Make sure you ask for a glacier view room. If you book thru hotels.com or expedia you can book the standard room and pay a $20 upgrade fee to get a view.

Room Tip: Ask for glacier view room. We paid $20 for an upgrade. Rooms on the back may be loud if you have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrieredflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear carrieredflash,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests as it allows us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to serve you better in the future.

Brewster Hospitality recognizes the need for additional signage to assist guests in locating the Inn. We are currently negotiating with Parks Canada to increase signage.

You offer a great suggestion to our future guest to upgrade to the glacier view rooms. They are on the quieter side of the hotel and away from the generator and offer incredible views of the largest icefield in North America.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Does have nice Glacier View but only good thing I can say. In the middle of nowhere. Half way between Lake Louise and Jasper. Almost impossible to find if you don't know it is actually the lodge where the Glacier trips leave from on the Colombia Icefields. Bed really uncomfortable and service not much better.

The little gem was the restaurant. The food was really good but as there is nothing else around you are a captive audience so their prices a little rich.

Were booked to stay two nights but stayed only one.

Room Tip: If staying get a Glacier view room but recommend just continue on to Jasper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear ewp23,

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests as it allows us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to serve you better in the future.

Please accept our sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy your stay. We advertise ourselves as a remote location 2.5 hours from Banff and 1 hour from Jasper. Many of our guests stay with us because it breaks up the driving and/or because they enjoy being able to stay in such a remote location, though it is not for everyone.

We are currently in talks with Parks Canada about putting up signage for our guests as we recognize the difficulty in locating the property.

Thank you very much for your business and we hope you enjoy the rest of your visit to the Canadian Rockies.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The hotel is totally geared towards but tours of the glacier.
We could not find the lobby as it is tucked away in a room somewhere.
Completely overpriced, both the room and the food.
Brewster Coach Company just wants to keep the bus tours coming through
and doesn't care about the hotel guests.
A cash cow for Brewster.

Room Tip: One things, beautiful views out of the window on the glacier side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Sheldon K,

Thank you for your recent review of The Glacier View Inn. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests as it allows us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to serve you better in the future.

As much as I appreciate your review, much of what you say is incorrect. We do not cater to many bus tours as we are only an Inn of 32 rooms. The majority of bus tours that stop at the Icefield's Centre are there for the Ice Explorer and do not check-in to the Inn.

While I cannot speak for the Food and Beverage Facilities as they are a third party company, I can say that we at Brewster Hospitality care about our guests and appreciate that they deserve the best services possible. Our entire management team reviews the feedback we receive from our guests and makes improvements where we can based on those comments. Our guests often mention the lack of internet so we are now looking to secure the funding to make high speed internet available in guest rooms. Additionally, the location of our parking lot has also surfaced in comments so we are putting forth our best effort to create 'guest parking' closer to the hotel.

Since your visit, we were able to put signage up on the frost-glass doors and our guests no longer have any difficulty finding the lobby. Please accept our sincerest apologies if the lack of signage caused you any inconvenience.

We are very glad that you enjoyed the views of the glacier from your room and thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Ct.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Glacier View Inn occupies the top floor of the Ice Field Center building across the road from the Columbia Ice Field. Based upon some of the reviews that I have read, I was hesitant to stay there, but location fit our itinerary. There are no other accommodations within many miles of the ice fields. Actually, it turned out to be a quiet, comfortable hotel with great views of the glaciers at twilight and in the early morning. We had a large room facing the glaciers with a queen bed, a sofa, and two twin beds in a loft. There was HD-TV in the room, but there was no Wi-Fi available and no cell service in the area. There are multiple Wi-Fi signals within the building, but the hotel does not make any available to its guests. The hotel registration is behind some unmarked doors on the first floor near the gift shop. You have to ask to find it.

The Ice Field Center is crowded and chaotic during the day, but around five in the afternoon, it empties out and becomes very peaceful. The hotel only has 38 rooms. While we were there, it appeared that less than half of them were occupied. The hotel has a dining room for dinner and breakfast which is a bit expensive, but fairly good. That is fortunate because it is the only food service available to hotel guests at those times. The dining room should not be confused with the large public cafeteria elsewhere in the building that serves lunch to hoards of bus tours, but it is closed at dinner and breakfast time. At dinner, there were only about a dozen dinners, but we were treated to a panoramic view of the twilight descending across the peaks and glaciers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear gordon475,

Thank you for your recent review of The Glacier View Inn. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests as it allows us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to serve you better in the future.

While it appears as though there are wifi connections those are just network connections for our POS. There is absolutely no wifi or cell service currently available to either guests or staff members at this time. Brewster Hospitality does recognize the need for internet and we are currently working on securing the funds necessary to provide internet services in our guest rooms.

Additionally, we have just renovated our lobby and installed the frosted-glass doors prior to the arrival of our signage. Since your stay, our signs on the lobby doors have been installed and our guests have not had an issue since.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your overall stay and appreciated the beautiful views of the glaciers from your room.

We are committed to a continuous review of improvement methods to deliver the best guest experiences and your comments help us achieve this goal.


Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to host you and your partner again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We actually drove past the hotel as it does not have a sign, we thought it was just the Ice field centre. When we eventually got to check in we were told "that happens all the time" with a shrug of the receptionist shoulders. Apparently the hotel is not allowed to put a sign up as its in a national park ? I think just a small sign post would not be too intrusive. The check in desk was manned by a young chap who was standing in for the receptionist while she went to get their meals. He was not able to check us in so we had to wait for her to get back. I wonder why he didn't get the meals if he wasn't able to use the system. We were then told we had to park quite a distance away and walk our cases over a walk bridge. My husband requested that he park outside the lobby door to unload which they agreed to but if we hadn't asked it would have been quite a way to drag our suitcases. We know some guest did have to do this. The rooms are a good size and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Shirley P,

Thank you for your recent review of The Glacier View Inn. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests as it allows us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to serve you better in the future.

As much as we would love to put up signage to make it easier for our guests to locate our hotel, it is illegal for us to do so without prior permission from Parks Canada. We have put our location details on our website help our guests locate the hotel. We are working with Parks Canada to find a solution that works for both sides.

Currently our parking is located in the general parking lot at the front of the property. We are hoping to be able to offer our guests parking closer to the Inn for next year. We do allow our guests to unload at the rear of the building, my apologies if our staff did not offer you this

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to host you, your partner, and friends again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The location allows one to breakup the parkway drive into two days. However, there are no signs on the road or in the building clearly directing one to the hotel. Check in is hidden behind a fogged glass area. It looks nice but is not practical. Regardless, I recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor...lol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlacierView_Manager, Hotel Sales Coordinator at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear S M,

Thank you for your recent review of The Glacier View Inn. We greatly appreciate hearing from our guests as it allows us to celebrate our successes and make improvements to serve you better in the future.

Unfortunately, due to Parks Canada restrictions, Brewster Hospitality is unable to put up any additional signage. We are putting our best effort forward to negotiate with Parks Canada but we are often met with a lot of red tape.

We completely recognize the need for signage indicating where the lobby is. Since your visit, our lobby signs have been posted on the frosted glass doors and thankfully our guests have not had an issue locating the lobby since.

Thank you again for your feedback and recommendation and we hope to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jessica Hall
Hotel Sales Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper National Park
56.1 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#13 of 22 in Jasper National Park
409 reviews
57.1 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#9 of 22 in Jasper National Park
571 reviews
28.1 mi away
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lo...
#12 of 22 in Jasper National Park
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
HI Rampart Creek Wilderness Hostel
41.1 mi away
HI Athabasca Falls Wilderness Hostel
HI Athabasca Falls Wilderness Ho...
#11 of 32 in Jasper National Park
44 reviews
74.2 mi away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#10 of 32 in Jasper National Park
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glacier View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glacier View Inn

Property: The Glacier View Inn
Address: Highway #93 North | Icefields Parkway, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glacier View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glacier View Inn is a model of environmentally sensitive design, built to incorporate the pristine environment that it surrounds. There are 32 guest rooms - most have at least two queen beds and a loft. All are well appointed, with satellite TV, and direct dial phones. Many rooms offer spectacular views of surrounding mountains and glaciers but you should make sure to request a room with a view early as these are the first to go. Most rooms are well suited for families needing more space than a conventional hotel room, as well as traditional sized rooms for couples or individuals. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Glacier View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glacier View Hotel Banff National Park
Glacier View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing