We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glacier View Inn
Wetaskiwin, Canada
1 review
“Worth it.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was surprise getaway for our anniversary, and i will say, "He done good!"
we were surprised with it being a split level room, so there were two queen size beds for our enjoyment. When you can sink into the pillows and covers and feel like you're in the clouds while looking out at the mountains, its great.
My disappointment was that there was no mini fridge! If my option is over priced food and driving into town for food, it would be nice to have a mini fridge for snacks.
No wifi = no problem (that's what being in the mountains is about)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Edlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_Giannandrea, General Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2015
Dear A_Edlew,

Thank you for staying with us, and including us in your Alberta adventure. So glad you were able to enjoy it. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. I have to agree with you, not having technology has its advantages. Limited options for food can be a challenge. We ve taken your suggestion into consdieration for future improvements.

Thanks again, see you soon

Andre Giannandrea
Group General Manager, Hospitality
Brewster Travel Canada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    161
    110
    54
    28
See reviews for
162
203
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eppelheim, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Amazing Hotel at an amazing place. Get there around 16:30 and you avoid the hundreds of bus tourists. I recommend a room with glacier view. It's worth every penny. Check-in without luggage first and get to park at the hotel parking lot to get it in.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zulu1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_Giannandrea, General Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2015
Dear Zulu1972,

Thank you for including us in your travel plans, and for sharing your feedback. We very much appreciate it. So glad you enjoyed your time, and had an opportunity to experience the glacier.

Look forward to having you back on your next trip to Canada

Safe Travels

Andre Giannandrea
Group General Manager ,
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Booked this as part of a Brewsters Overnight on a Glacier package. What a great hotel.

Firstly, it is not that difficult to find folks. No problem parking either. My only issue was the visitor centre was so packed with people waiting for the new Glacier Skywalk you could hardly even walk though, let alone lugging a suitcase. Once you make your way through the mob past the frosted glass doors, check-in was a breeze. Had a Glacier View room so had a lovely view of the Athabasca Glacier and surrounding mountains. Weather was hit or miss, so no lovely sunset viewing for me as it was very cloudy/overcast. The loft room was huge and very comfortable, however, not very soundproof. I could hear my neighbors kids running up and down the stairs, and the people across the hall propped their door open with the security latch so their kids could run freely up and down the hallway. Ridiculous and highly annoying, but at least they went to bed early.

I had breakfast included the next morning as part of my package. Had the Eggs Benedict which was passable. Check-out was even faster than checking in.

Great stop to do the tours in the area. Because I was staying over I was able to do the last Glacier Adventure snocoach tour of the day and the very first Glacier Skywalk tour the next morning. Come early or stay late to beat the crowds. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank work2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_Giannandrea, General Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear Work2travel,

I hope the rest of your summer treated you well. We re very glad you were able to work our adventure, and Hotel into your travels. I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback and review.

I can appreciate the nosie factor being a bit annoying, I m glad it was to minimum, and that you were able to have a positive experience overall.

Thanks again , Safe Travels

Andre Giannandrea
General Manager - Hospitality Group
Brewster Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I traveled across Canada in July-August 2013 (Windsor to Toronto; Toronto to Prince Rupert; Prince Rupert to Victoria). I read everything I could on TripAdvisor about Jasper National Park and in particular, the Glacier View Inn. There is plenty of thumbs down information on the entries for this hotel, especially that it is overpriced and the food quality poor in the restaurant.

I decided to 'take a chance' and booked a room along with a trip up the glacier on one of the ice buggies. We were not disappointed. The room was ready on time and it was in excellent condition. The room was set up like a Residence Inn, couches downstairs, and sleeping quarters up. I am attaching a picture taken at moonrise of the glacier.

We also had a pleasant meal in the restaurant.

Yes, it is expensive, but if you are only going to do this ONCE, then bite the bullet. This is a resort area that is only open a few months during warm weather. Yes, it is overrun with tourists and tourist buses, but the property is set up for it. And, the glacier will eventually be gone. You can stay elsewhere and then drive to the glacier; save some money, deny yourself a beautiful view!

Room Tip: Ask for a 'glacier view' . . . it will cost more, but you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnedry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_Giannandrea, General Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear Pnedry ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We very much appreciate your perspective and kind comments, means alot to the team. As you were able to experience it is quite the pace the entire facility functions at. I ve happily passed along your kind comments.

I m glad you were able to include the Glacier View Inn in your travel plans, and that you had such a great experience .

Thanks again, Safe Travels,

Andre Giannandrea
General Manager - Hospitality Group
Brewster Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Here for one night to take in the Athabasca glacier and the fabulous new Skywalk attraction, both are an absolute must! Couldn't fault the room which was surprisingly spacious. It is a bit of a drag from the car park which I expect in inclement weather could be quite arduous. Food was expensive so be prepared for that. Having said that we ate in a restaurant with a fabulous view which served fabulous food and would recommend you eat there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham-Spencer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_Giannandrea, General Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Dear Graham-Spencer ,

We very appreicate having had the opportunity to have you as our guest. Thank you for including us in your travel plans, and for taking the time to provide your feedback. Guest feedback is very valuable to us. I m pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we re able to expeirence the adventures as well. We ve passed your comments along regarding your restuarant experience, to the people responsible for that outlet.

Thanks again, see you in Canada again soon.

Safe Travels,

Andre Giannandrea
General Manager - Hospitality Group
Brewster Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We only stayed here for one night, as a break in our drive along the Icefields Parkway. The room was comfortable and the facilities were more than we had expected for the price that we paid. While we were there, we went on the Ice Explorer and the Skywalk and would recommend both. Once evening falls, you do realise how isolated you are but this is a main part of the attraction of staying here. The restaurant provided very good quality food but we did feel that it was very expensive....I guess that is what happens with a 100% captive audience though, and it wasn't a real issue for a one night stay. Overall, staying here was a really good experience, with the awesome views being a real contributing factor.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for a glacier view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_Giannandrea, General Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2014
Dear Diane,

Thank you for including us in your travel plans and for taking the time to provide your review. We re very pleased to see that you had such a poisitive experience, our team puts a lot of effort into doing so. Great that you we re able to take in the adventures as well. Always happy to get feedback from our guests, and pass it along to the team...

Hope you come visit us again soon !, Thanks again

Safe Travels

Andre Giannandrea
General Manager - Hospitality Group
Brewster Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Our family of four (2 teenage daughters) stayed here for 3 nights while driving from Banff to Jasper. We chose the hotel because of its proximity to the icefields and the views of the glacier. After spening most of the day travelling along the Icefields Parkway (stopping frequently to take in the views) we were happy to finally arrive at the hotel. It is quite a different set up to your regular hotels. Very "touristy" with the Brewsters tour desk the first thing you see. The glacier adventure was also there but unopened when we were there. We actually found it a bit difficult to find the front desk. It was located off to the side behind a glass door. No real signage that stood out. After asking for directions, we were checked in and upgraded to a loft room. Check in was easy & staff were great. The whole set up of the building and the rooms are done to allow you to have your main focus on what matters; the icefields outside. Very plain and unassuming building and rooms. The rooms themselves were showing their age, but were clean & relatively comfortable. We had problems with a blocked toilet as soon as we arrived but help arrived quickly and cleaned it all up for us. Not the best start but... The room had a small living area downstairs with couch, tv and table. Upstairs was two double beds & a dresser. The thing I found most difficult to cope with was the fact that there was only one small window in the living room. Apart from the fact that it faced directly out to the glacier and gave such a limited view of such an amazing sight, it also made the room very claustrophobic to the point that I was unable to sleep upstairs. The low slanting ceiling and lack of windows upstairs didn't help. If we stayed there again I would ask for a regular room rather than the loft style. Other than that, the room was comfortable but tv and internet recpetion was poor and being located where you are (out in the middle of nowhere on an icefield) after dark there is not much else to do so the girls would have appreciated the opportunity to watch some tv. As I said earlier, we chose the hotel for its location as far as the views. There was nothing else for miles. The hotel had a chinese restaurant we dined at one night (see separate review). The information centre on the lower level was closed for the duration of our stay. It was very conveneint as far as the ice explorer tour which we did. The tour is run by Brewster & pick up is in the hotel lobby so we were able to be there early & take the first tour bus out to the icefields. If you can do that, it is the best time to go. No other tourists excpet your bus and it gives the best opportunity to enjoy the adventure. If we were ever lucky enough to travel from Australia to Canada again, we would probably stay at this hotel again (in a regular room with opening windows) because you get the best views. We were literally looking straight out to the Athabasca Glacier and wached the sun set each evening from the huge balcony that runs around the hotel. It was a magical experience and one we will never forget.

Room Tip: Regualr room with a glacier view. Definitely pay for the view of the glaciers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozmum3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_Giannandrea, General Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Ozmum,

I m glad to see you enjoyed your time in Canada and we re able to include the adventure and our hotel in your plans. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback and review of your experience and time with us. Guest feedback is always the starting point for improvement and making needed change. The services available as far as TV, and internet are very limited given the location, however based on all the guest feedback we are researching options to provide a better product for our guests. Thanks again

Safe Travels

Andre Giannandrea
General Manager - Hospitality Group
Brewster Travel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper National Park
57.1 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#9 of 22 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
56.1 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#13 of 22 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
28.1 mi away
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lo...
#10 of 22 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.2 mi away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#10 of 32 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
19.6 mi away
HI Rampart Creek Wilderness Hostel
0.0 mi away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#28 of 32 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glacier View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glacier View Inn

Property: The Glacier View Inn
Address: Icefields Parkway (Highway #93 North) | Just north of the Banff/Jasper National Park Border, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glacier View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glacier View Inn is a model of environmentally sensitive design, built to incorporate the pristine environment that it surrounds. There are 32 guest rooms - most have at least two queen beds and a loft. All are well appointed, with satellite TV, and direct dial phones. Many rooms offer spectacular views of surrounding mountains and glaciers but you should make sure to request a room with a view early as these are the first to go. Most rooms are well suited for families needing more space than a conventional hotel room, as well as traditional sized rooms for couples or individuals. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Glacier View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glacier View Hotel Banff National Park
Glacier View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing