We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shame about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glacier View Inn
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“shame about the food”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The actual hotel was a surprise, big room lots of room. Advertised as a glacier view room, but in reality the window is a small opening. The hotel services the icefield and glacier trips which gets really busy from around 10.30 with tour buses so do the ice trip early. The downside to this hotel is the food. The Cafe that services the tourists closes at 6.30 so the only option after that is hthe dining room which is overpriced and disgusting. Breakfast was included as a la carte, which would be fine except is was uneadible.given the hotel is literally in the middle of nowhere they have the monopoly and they could really make a name for themselves withva great dining experience.

Room Tip: Bring your own food..but beware therebis no fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kath-lee0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_Giannandrea, Front Desk Supervisor at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2015
Dear kath-lee0810

Thank you for your review of the Glacier View Inn.

First and foremost please accept our apologies for your experience with the food service during your visit, we have passed your comments on to the people in charge of those facilities in order to improve service delivery going forward.

We also thank you for your feedback regarding the hotel side of your stay, this feedback helps us to know our strengths and weaknesses so that we can provide a better guest experience in the future.

We hope the rest of your travels through Canada were great and we hope one day we may be able to welcome you back to the Glacier View Inn under much better circumstances.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    161
    110
    54
    28
See reviews for
162
203
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great hotel..albeit pricey!
Eat before you check in! Food is absolutely ghastly and overpriced in both the cafe and dining room. We ordered burgers and when they arrived promptly, we understood why as they were precooked and had been left to fester under a heat lamp.The salad was minuscule and the fries were cold. In the cafe, the vegetarian noodle plate was greasy and starchy and mostly inedible.
We found the room to be fine, especially for a family.However, we did wake up to the sounds of showers and children's voices..walls are obviously not that sound proof.
We would stay in the hotel again but would never eat in either restaurant again, Worst food ever!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre_Giannandrea, Front Desk Supervisor at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2015
Dear Jean M

Thank you for your review of the Glacier View Inn.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the food service you received during your stay, we have passed your comments on to the people in charge of those facilities in order to improve their services.

We are glad to hear however despite some noise issues you had an overall positive experience and we thank you for your valuable feedback and we very much look forward to your returning to the Glacier View Inn again.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
297 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Pros: The beds were nice. The room was very spacious. The view from the window was fantastic, could even see the stars and a meteor shower at night. The shower pressure was very nice. Great location in the park, across from the Columbia Icefields.

Cons: The price was SO high. There wasn't any continental breakfast. The shower height was a little low for anyone 5'7" and taller.

Room Tip: Pick the glacier side for a fantastic view of the icefields. Reserve the room ahead of time to guara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoapTripper3081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The view was beautiful but the hotel is very dated and needs some renovations. Our room faced the glacier but only on small window. The hotel lobby is very disorganized. No access to get a vehicle to the hotel lobby so you must pack your luggage through masses of people lined up for the attractions. There are only 2 restaurants which are both extremely over priced for the quality of food you get.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ktn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The room was fine, clean, view of the glacier, everything worked. We arrived early because the weather was so miserable, rain/snow, windy and COLD. Absolutely could not check in before 4:00. No way, can't be done. Sat in the way overpriced and way crowded cafeteria for 2 hours while we waited for 4:00. Then we waited in line to check in as a trainee was learning his new skills. Got to the room and all the windows were open..it is 38F outside! It literally took 2 hours for the room to warm up. No wifi for guests, just staff. Great location but they really need to decide if they want to be in the hotel business..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olliem0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed here recently for one night with my young family, wanting to see the glacier and not planning to drive much further that day. We had booked online in advance, and had paid the extra for a glacier view room. We arrived in the evening, around 8pm and it took a while to actually find the entrance to the hotel; there are no exterior signs. It turns out that the hotel reception is downstairs and to the rear of the building, but it was not possible to park close to the building and we had to carry our bags across the car-park and over the footbridge leading to the building (had lots of bags since we were camping in other places). It struck us that the hotel seemed like an afterthought added on to the glacier tours centre rather than being an integral part of it.

The room was not bad, split across two levels with a double bed in the attic and two singles below. The view of the glacier was superb, probably the best view I've ever had from a hotel window and also, clearly the best thing about the hotel.

We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant, the food was OK (not great), and the restaurant staff were helpful and very friendly. Upon check-in we were told that the restaurant closed at 9pm but it seemed to stay open later.

Overall, the view is a big plus, but the rest of the hotel is rather overpriced for the facilities on offer (no wifi). However this is the only accommodation for a long way in either direction (apart from camping).

Room Tip: The Glacier View room was worth the extra $20 we paid, in fact it was certainly the best thing about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were travelling from Edmonton to Jasper to Banff and wanted to see the Glacier Skywalk. I priced out hotels in Jasper and the Glacier View Inn. The package for the hotel and Skywalk came to the same price as the hotel in Jasper..... but all our savings in that package were wiped out by the cost of breakfast.

I am glad we got there quite late (9:30-ish). There were no crowds to contend with to get to the hotel lobby, but there is no WIFI and no air conditioning. We had a room for four but were only provided three towels. By the time we were settled in and watched one tv show, we just went to bed.

We had a mountain view loft room with a queen size bed and two single beds in the loft. Excellent layout for families with teenagers. Very quiet at night. There are only 32 rooms. We were told that it was full that night -- I think it was a tour group.

Bring snacks but there are no mini-fridges -- the restaurant is only open from 8a-10a, 11a-1p-ish and 6p-9p. There is a cafe that has more hours. Be warned: Food is RIDICULOUSLY EXPENSIVE here. Hot breakfast for 4 ran us $96 and drinks & sandwiches for in the car was $64.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are to the back of the hotel. You can go out on the 2nd floor to see the glaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper National Park
57.1 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#9 of 22 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
56.1 mi away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#13 of 22 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
28.1 mi away
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lo...
#10 of 22 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.2 mi away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#10 of 32 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
19.6 mi away
HI Rampart Creek Wilderness Hostel
0.0 mi away
Black Cat Guest Ranch
Black Cat Guest Ranch
#28 of 32 in Jasper National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glacier View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glacier View Inn

Property: The Glacier View Inn
Address: Icefields Parkway (Highway #93 North) | Just north of the Banff/Jasper National Park Border, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glacier View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glacier View Inn is a model of environmentally sensitive design, built to incorporate the pristine environment that it surrounds. There are 32 guest rooms - most have at least two queen beds and a loft. All are well appointed, with satellite TV, and direct dial phones. Many rooms offer spectacular views of surrounding mountains and glaciers but you should make sure to request a room with a view early as these are the first to go. Most rooms are well suited for families needing more space than a conventional hotel room, as well as traditional sized rooms for couples or individuals. Open April through October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Glacier View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glacier View Hotel Banff National Park
Glacier View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing