We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We spent three nights at Wyndswept and we are so very glad we did. We wanted to be out of town and we wanted to get away from the regular tourist centre. The drive from Jasper out to Wyndswept is spectacular and over the three days we racked up a few hundred Km on the rental between Jasper, Hinton and the sights. We saw wildlife every time we got in the car. I don't think we would have seen as much had we chosen to stay in town.
The room was very nice. The bed extremely comfortable and the breakfasts had us contemplating the need for dieting when we got home. All in all a great place to stay.
On a personal note I would like to thank Glenda for the trouble she went to trying to organise a helicopter for us and for changing the routine to accommodate our changed program.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 August 2012

Thank you for the awesome review. You were easy guests to have around and I enjoyed our quiet time of being able to visit together. I was so happy you got up to see Maligne lake, do the boat tour to Spirit island and then drive to Canmore all in your last day with us. See those driving skills came in nifty.Thanks again and thanks for coming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

My husband and I decided to stay at Wyndswept because we didn't want to stay in the heavy tourist areas. Wyndswept may not be right in the heart of Jasper but it is only a 30 to 40 minute drive which is a pleasure as the scenery is amazing. We loved being able to get up in the morning and go for drives to spot animals.

We stayed in the Pocahontas room which was lovely. Plenty of space, very comfortable bed and a spectacular view! We had a nice little deck where we could sit and take in the view.

Bob and Glenda are the perfect hosts! We felt like it was a home away from home. We were treated to an amazing breakfast each morning along with freshly baked goodies to take with us on our day trips.

Bob and Glenda were a wealth of knowledge about Jasper and the surrounding areas.. Who better to tell you about the local wildlife and flora than people who live there. It was really nice to have a chat over breakfast about where we could go and what we would see that day. Glenda even put together a suggested itinerary for two days which came in handy!

If we could take off tomorrow and head back to Canada we would definitely head back to Wyndswept. We miss Wyndswept!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 August 2012

Thank you for the kind review. Wouldn't it be great to hop in a plane and go away on holidays again, especially when you enjoyed our place and our area so much. I know, we are fortunate to live in such a beautiful spot and we enjoy sharing our home with people from all corners of the globe.
Thank you again for coming and for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The beautiful drive from Jasper..seeing elk and bear on the way...and the fantastic quality of this b&b really made my trip. Glenda and Bob are incredibly welcoming , full of great stories and advice on what to see and where to go, but don't intrude on your privacy. Some of the best breakfasts I have had during my three week trip. The Pocahontas room exceeded expectations...to sit in the jacuzzi bath and watch the sun go down over the mountains through the floor to ceiling windows was a perfect end to the day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 August 2012

Hey M, it was great you have you as a guest. I wanted to pack up my bag and go with you on your world trip. You were such a wonderful guest to have in our home and we know you appreciated it all, thank you.We are so happy you chose Wyndswept to be part of your retirement gift to yourself.Glenda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Most B & B's infringe on my sense of privacy, but not this one. I have settled for the anonymity of hotels, putting up with parking lot views, the clatter of rolling suitcases in the halls, the partying or crying children of neighbours.
Anyway. go to Wyndswept instead. We stayed in 2 of the 3 little "suites". Why? #1) quiet and private! The 3 "suites" are on the opposite ends of the top floor. Glenda & Bob live downstairs.
You can relax in your own space. 2) Like a view? The pocohontas room has an awesome view of trees, mountains and the wilds, ..what you came here for. The pansey room has a deck overlooking wilderness forest with comfortable loungers. 3) Tired of being kooped up in a standard hotel room with a noisey spouse who watches TV after midnight ? Try the chickadee suite., It has a separate wide screen TV room so you can shut the door and sleep. 4) Tired of spending $$ in pricey tourist filled restaurants that don't serve your kind of food? Use the microwaves/ refrigerator/ coffee pot in each suite. And speaking of food.....breakfast certainly isn't frosted flakes, doughnuts, powdered eggs, and lofat yogurt cups. This "breakfast included" is REAL food,cooked to order. Just let Glenda know beforehand and Voila!
At any rate, I slept like a rock, breakfast took me through most of the day, toasted my husband with real wine glasses in the evening, and profitted from alot of personal tips on how to see and enjoy the best of Jasper.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIZZICAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 August 2012

It was great to have you as guests, we too enjoyed your company. yes it works well when we are told at the time of booking any food dislikes or concerns a guest may have then we will go out of our way to accommodate your needs, we know when you are traveling sometimes its difficult to always follow your own health regime so we do specialize in doing this for all our guests if they tell us well in advance. We like full happy guests, so glad you enjoyed our Rockies. Having happy people makes our job worthwhile, thank you:) We know we.ll see you again and look forward to it:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Lovely place, amazingly gracious and thoughtful hosts, brilliant breakfasts, great location, suberb bed and luxurious bedding, nothing too much trouble for Glenda and Bob. Highly recommended and worth staying out of Jasper to experience this great accommodation. Choice of restaurants locally not massive, but we had a very memorable meal at the Overlander, which although on the upper end of the cost scale, was well worth it, both for the food and the view.

Room Tip: We were in the pansy suite - tranquil and spacious, great big bed!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnteEnteEnte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We chose the Wyndswept as it's a little way out of town (which some people seem to see as a negative?) and because it offered a full breakfast. The location is fantastic, the view from our room (the Pocahontas room) was beautiful and yes, it is about a 40 minute drive into Jasper but we had some of our best wildlife viewings (bears, elk, mountain goats, big horned sheep) on the drive into town. Glenda is lovely, her breakfasts are amazing and she providid us with an itenerary, a flask of coffee and banana bread or muffins every day. Jasper National Park is absolutely breath taking, with stunning lakes, moutains and a huge amount of wildlife, we will definitely be returning here one day and when we do we will definitely be booking back into the Wyndswept.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MurphyAndTheMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2012

Well thank you for the lovely review. I knew you enjoyed having the coffee and baking and its better not left here or I will eat it.:):) I love it when guests love the extra baking and take it for hikes, we enjoy doing kind things for people as we have such awesome guests.
You saw more animals than most and had some awesome pictures, thanks for sharing them.Glad you had safe travels home, thanks for sharing Wyndswept with us, we love where we live and are so fortunate to have the majestic mountains watching over us all the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We were warmly welcomed at Wyndswept where we stayed in the Pocahontas Room. From here there is an unforgettable view and only the road noise from below detracts from its beauty. The colours as the sun rises are particularly memorable, worth sleeping with the curtains back to catch it all.
Breakfasts were good and we enjoyed the convivial company and lively conversations with Bob and fellow guests.
Wyndswept is certainly a good B&B, but comparing it with the others that we stayed in during our trip to BC and Alberta which were equally good and in some cases had equally stunning views, it is expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Great_Expectations_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper National Park
12.0 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#5 of 17 in Hinton
175 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ramada Hinton
Ramada Hinton
#4 of 17 in Hinton
179 reviews
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
White Wolf Inn
White Wolf Inn
#11 of 17 in Hinton
173 reviews
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hinton
Holiday Inn Hinton
#6 of 17 in Hinton
279 reviews
11.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Hinton
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndswept Bed and Breakfast

Address: #12 Folding Mountain Village, Jasper National Park, Alberta T7V 1Y2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper National Park
Price Range: £118 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to stay at Jasper area's finest and only 4.5 Star, drive to the east side of JNP and enjoy our lovely B&B. A full hot cooked breakfast is served to you daily in our dining room that overlooks the panoramic mountain view you see here. Big B&B rooms, king bed, sat TV, refreshment centers, all the amenities plus more, all private full en-suites/bathrooms. Glenda and Bob are extremely knowledgeable of the area. If you want to beat the hustle and bustle of tourists towns Wyndswept is awesome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wyndswept b&b
Wyndswept Hotel Jasper East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing