We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved our visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jasper House Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved our visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

This is a very clean, friendly, and helpful facility just out of the Jasper Townsite. It is away from the touristy feel of Jasper, and it is located on the Athabasca River. The cabins are very clean and comfortable, and the
breakfast is good. We did not eat dinner there. There is wildlife around, and other guests are friendly. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Reserve EARLY and request location...river view, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia7062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    152
    57
    16
    7
See reviews for
116
193
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

The place is okay. Not the best, but not bad either. Log cabins with very simple rustic decor. The prices are insane for such accomodations, but that's par for the area. The only minor complaint is the management misrepresented a two bedroom suite. In reality it is one bedroom, with another bed in the living room, separated by a curtain. That bed gets zero privacy. Otherwise fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ramager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Would not go back. We are a NZ family of 3 vacationing in the National Parks, so our expectations and preferences may not be that of an average North American.
The position of the cottages is 3 km out of Jasper, so a car is needed. Potentially this could be quieter and prettier than being in Jasper itself. However the cottages are poorly sited so very few sit with a view and none seemed to have a balcony. Ours( room 37) was in a car park and a large bus was parked outside for the 3 nights we stayed there. This meant noise from 6.30 in the morning and noise from kids and next door tv until midnight. Outside were 2 comfortable chairs which could be moved to a central lawn if no one took them ,( which happened one day) but otherwise sitting in the bitumen carpark.
The family suite was very small, tiny bedroom looking out at other units and the bus, living room with kitchette, and a double bed behind curtain for our daughter. One chest of drawer and one wardrobe for the unit, the former in the living room. Generally very dark, clean enough, very dated furniture with various things needing replacing. The bathroom was ok and did have a rail over the bath but no room for toiletries. The beds were so uncomfortable that we resorted to medication to sleep!
Did not eat in the restaurant ( had good meal at Beckers chalet down the road and cassias,an Italian restaurant in town).
There are seats to look over the river and a little beach area but all a bit scruffy.

We were disappointed that this rather expensive chalet did not provide better ambience, facilities both in and out of chalet ( there was no pool, BBQ, books, DVDs, or hot tub) or outdoor areas given the intrinsic beauty of the site.
Would recommend looking at the Alpine chalets, Beckers chalets or Patricia lake chalets which appear to be similar price and nicer. Alternatively book early for the several chalets that have a better position overlooking the river .

Room Tip: Be very specific about a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stellamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

As others have said, ask for a cabin on the river! Ours had a big picture window with a lovely view. We enjoyed sitting outside on the benches and chairs provided until the mosquitoes got to us. These cabins were much bigger than what we stayed in at Lake Moraine or Cathedral Mountain and a little more "rustic." Close to Jasper but away from the crowds. Don't miss Maligne Lake or Mount Edith Cavell and Angel Glacier. These were some of our favorite spots in all of the Canadian Rockies.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We had a lovely room with basic cooking facilities. The staff are keen to promote the park experience. We really enjoyed two naturalist talks during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a-g2137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. California
Level Contributor
358 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Had a nice 1 bedroom unit with kitchenette. Great place for kids-grassy areas to play on. The unit might get noisy, but we didn't have neighbors and it was quiet. Since the July sun didn't set until 10 p.m., there was activity outside. Located few minutes outside Jasper, need a vehicle, highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bglhvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peace River, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed there a few years before the date above. We rented the cabin by the river, it was a bit pricey but worth it. the sound of the river off our deck was so nice to fall asleep to both nights that we stayed in our cabin.the food at the restaurant was very good also.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amand l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
2.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#11 of 22 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
4.8 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper House Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper House Bungalows

Property: Jasper House Bungalows
Address: Highway 93, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jasper House Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jasper House Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper House Bungalows Hotel Jasper National Park
Jasper Hotel National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing