We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, although no air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jasper House Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location, although no air conditioning”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed in the bungalows for 2 nights as part of a Caravan tour through the Canadian Rockies. The cabins were clean, cozy and quaint and we enjoyed our time there. There was no air conditioning in the cabin but only a small fan to move the hot air. It got hot in cabin in the afternoon but after dinner the lack of air conditioning was not an issue. We were unable to access the wifi from the cabin but it worked fine in the lobby, bar and restaurant areas. We had 2 breakfast buffets and ate 2 dinners in the restaurant.The food was hot and very tasty, no complaints whatsoever except the cost of food and beverages was higher than expected. The highlight of our stay was seeing 12 elk show up one morning as we walked from our cabin to the restaurant. What a sight! We were told this happens occasionally in the center area of the cabins by the picnic tables. Overall we had an excellent time during our 2 day stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    152
    57
    17
    7
See reviews for
116
195
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
184 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great location right on the river. It is out of town, but if you are traveling by car that is not an issue. We gladly traded the short drive for the setting. We were in the "Executive Suite" and felt it was worth the difference. This Suite is on the river, with a real cabin feel and a balcony facing the river. One morning two elk saundered by our unit as they walked along the river bank. We did look at a couple of rooms and they looked fine. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook breakfast in the unit and we enjoyed the restaurant one night. The only thing that wasn't perfect was the WiFi barely reached this cabin and was a little sketchy. I would definately stay here again. Almost forgot, the Jacuzzi tub was really nice after a long hike one evening.

Room Tip: Splurge on Executive Suite if you can, go for riverfront room if can't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We've stayed here before and weren't disappointed this time either. Spacious cabins, we paid extra for a river view. Comfy beds, good efficiency kitchen. How great to be able to eat outside with the sound and sight of the Athabaska River. Yes, it's out of town so you do need a car. We made our own food -- we were able to find all the groceries we needed at excellent prices in town. So quiet -- not a place to stay if you are a partier.

Room Tip: If having good free wifi is important to you, choose a room closer to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Very hot bungalow. They should definitely have ceiling fans installed as the desk fan does nothing. Very uncomfortable sleeping conditions. Bungalow also dar and out dated. Location is 2 miles from town so you need transportation to town. Wooded area surrounding cabins were beautiful unfortunately we didn't see any elk on the grounds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebk31449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed at the JHB for 4 nights while we toured the Jasper area with Sun Dog Tours(see reviews for that). It's location is outside of town about 2 mi. which can be an issue if you have no car. There is a trail that leads directly to town but it is long by most people's standards. We only had to taxi in once as our tours picked us up there. The location is great, right by the river. I would not opt for the riverside units though. They aren't worth the extra $$. Our unit was well-appointed, if bland. The wood paneling was nice. It had a kitchenette, which was one reason we went there. After eating out for many days, we wanted to make some "home cooking". There was a 2-burner elect. stovetop, no oven. There was also a microwave and a large toaster oven(on the same circuit-bad idea). The place had a queen bed and a comfortable, fold-out sofabed. It had a small kitchen sink and a full bath.
The staff was very helpful and considerate. The only negative was the overpriced meals, breakfast and dinner, at the restaurant. We had to eat there when we first arrived , but once we could shop for ourselves, we avoided the place. I suggest they have coffee in the office as the little coffee makers in the rooms are limited.
One other item:they do not advertise wi-fi, but have it. It doesn't work very well, nor does the
phone reception, I guess. Many mornings, there was a crowd of folks out by the office trying to get connected.
Overall. I would recommend it over staying in downtown Jasper. The people are friendly and the riverside ambiance is nice.

Room Tip: ASk for the 2-room suite but not the riverside ones(numbers 10-16). You'll have enough of room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CABozeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed staying in these cozy cabins. Ours was in the back overlooking the river so we spent time in the chairs outside watching the river...and numerous rafters/kayakers....floating by. On arrival, we were greeted by a herd of elk on the grounds......they stayed into the night and were gone by morning. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent. Town is a short drive (or fair walk mostly along a river path) from the hotel. Town is small but fun.... restaurants are numerous and plenty of shopping for those so inclined.

Room Tip: Get a cabin in the back overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alberta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and we enjoyed it. Yes the place is dated but most of the hotels in Jasper are dated. You are supposed to enjoy the outdoors so we only stayed here to sleep. Yes it is a few minutes drive from the town but it did not bother us at all as we love the location, right by the Athabasca River. The rooms are clean and staff are amazing. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. The air conditioning in our room worked fine, great that they have a small fridge. We don't drink coffee so not having a coffee maker is also a non-issue. For the price we paid, it is still considerably cheaper than what you get at other places in Jasper.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank millet20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper National Park hotels
2.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#9 of 22 in Jasper National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
4.8 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper House Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper House Bungalows

Property: Jasper House Bungalows
Address: Highway 93, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jasper House Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jasper House Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper House Bungalows Hotel Jasper National Park
Jasper Hotel National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing