We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ship Ahoy Motel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Southport
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brown's Wharf Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tugboat Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topside Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mid-Town Motel(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisherman's Wharf Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
26
36
14
6
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
36
14
6
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood panelingboothbay harborpaper thin wallssouthport islanddifferent buildingsin seasonprivate balconieswatching the lobster boatsbagelslabor dayoutdoor poolfront porchcontinental breakfastwaterfront buildingbeautiful viewdockhairdryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Retro style motel on the water with nice views, depending on the room. Noisy beds and the electric outlets wouldn't hold the plugs in very well, it had an old tube TV and the towels were very small (and they kept givng us 3 when we had 4 in the room and asked for more towels each day). The breakfast place was closed and there was no place to eat other than going into downtown. A typical old small town motel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IRMLJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Ship Ahoy is an amazing motel. Amazing views and great prices! I go back every year and have for 15 years. The owner and staff are incredible and so nice they remember us by name or face and always ask how we are and ask about things we told them last year! The rooms are nice and water pressure is good. The island is so nice and boothbays just 5 mins away. There is a nice fishing dock and a country store and nice beach on the island. LOVE it here

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean are nice but I perfer the motel for the long farmers porch to enjoy time with friends and family!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msmarissa92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We got a room that had a balcony with a great views. The rooms were clean although the bathroom had issues which we were told could not be fixed but would try to do their best. The toilet seat was very floppy and the bathroom facet was not screwed down properly. The beds not so comfortable. We loved the location about 10 minutes from Boothbay Harbor.THe coffee shop was a 5 min walk at the hotel. Everything was 1.00 so if you wanted ceral that was a 1.00 then milk was another 1, toast 1.00 , butter 1.oo.coffee or juice 1.oo so for all that you might as well go to Boothbay and get a breakfast special for the same price and alot more food. There are no clockes,coffee maker, kleenex, etc in the room.For the money it was dulable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graciegirlcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My best friend and I made a supr of the moment trip to Maine when we found out our Labor Day trip to New Orleans was cancelled due to a tropical storm.

We didnt know anything about Maine but we saw Boothbay Harbor on a map and saw a review of the Ship Ahoy online and decided thats were we were going to go...we couldnt have been happier. The rooms are so cheap and we even got one night of offseason prices. We stayed at the main rooms that are on the top of the hill not directly in front of the water but there is a poarch with chairs and a table that you can sit out on and you can see the water from there. The room had two beds and it looks like something out an old movie but it was exaclty what we needed for 2 nights. The beds are ok but we brought our own throw blankets so we didnt mind.

Its about a 5-10 minute drive to downtown Boothbay but there is also a very delisious restaurant 2 minutes down the road where you can get good seafood and cocktails. The people who run the motel are very nice and helpful. There is even a little coffeeshop if you want a cup of coffee before you head out for the day and everything is only $1.00! I would definetly suggest the Ship Ahoy Motel to anyone heading to Boothbay. It was a great place to stay for 2 nights!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiPi11102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The rooms seem to not have been renovated since 1960 and the beds could be more comfortable. That's the bad news. The good/great news is that the views are about as good as it gets and the value is spectacular. They have in-season rates between $59. and $79/night depending on the view that you want to wake up to. Two of the three buildings are water front with views into the harbor and a spectacular sunrise. There is no coffee maker in the room so next time I'm taking my french press, and the TV gets only 18 stations, but who goes to Maine to watch television? It's a great family owned/operated place. I look forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: I think second floor rooms would give the best views. That's what I'm asking for next trip.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jeffrey1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews