We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Gate Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ship Ahoy Motel(Southport)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mid-Town Motel(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topside Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tugboat Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisherman's Wharf Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brown's Wharf Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boothbay Harbor Inn(Boothbay Harbor)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
216
103
36
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
103
36
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golfping ponghot tubcedar buildingsouthport islandboothbay harbormadding crowdthe owner managerbook storequiet oasisexercise roomoff the beaten pathlobster bakequick lunchgeneral storeten minute drivecold cereal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We came in August... fair warning - I don't think it ever really gets hot in Maine - at least not near the coast. Having said that, this was a great experience. Let me drone on, and bore you with my review:
1.) They were accommodating - we spent 2 nights with 2 adults and 1 child and added a 2nd child on our 3rd night (she was there on a U-Maine excursion) - and they let us do that and didn't charge us for 4 people except for the last night.
2.) We spent hours canoeing - and had a great time - and saw lots of local birds
3.) My son and I had a major ping pong tournament
4.) We had an ocean view room - at the water's edge - well... at high tide. At low tide - big difference - and enjoyed sitting on the back porch and taking it in.
5.) No one can really come there unless they are staying - it is far enough off the main road that you feel a world apart.
6.) We used the pool everyday. Remember, August, right? Highs of 68 degrees outside. Maine. Brr.... The pool water was warmer than the outside. And the hot tub was great at night.
7.) Every morning we just did activities at Ocean View until around lunch time - when we ambled into town to get food. And that was late. Breakfasts were as filling as you wanted.
8.) They are continuing to spruce up and upgrade

We could have spent more time there. I wish my daughter (the older one who only came on the last night) could have had time to enjoy - but we were only there because of her college trip. Just don't expect a fast pace. This is a place to get away from the crowds (and in August, Boothbay has crowds).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DFC0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The staff was great and made us feel at home. As an informal, woodsy retreat, the resort has a lot to offer for the nature lover and the adventurer, while featuring comfort and sparkling cleanliness and access to a variety of ammenities. The ariel photo may lead you to think that the island is surrounded by a white sandy beach. But instead, it is really a "white" granite rocky coastline that is off-limits on foot, and mostly covered with seaweed in the p.m. at low tide. But look past that, and you will enjoy interesting views all around, and perhaps a radiant afterglow of the sunset, By morning, the tide quietly rises and it's a stunningly beautiful series of coves and islands teaming with wildlife, including an osprey in her nest, a variety of pleasant birds calling, and a harbor seal bobbing his head with a fish. It was fun to watch the kayakers, occasional lobster boats, and sailing craft navigate the waters near and far.
In the old fashioned lobster bake we paid extra for in advance, the seafood was more flavorful than any lobster we have ever eaten beacuse they are steamed with natural seaweed over a wood fire- 2 good sized lobsters each, a doz. steamers, corn on the cob, rolls, salads, lemonade, and delicious wild blueberry cake. Mmm- what a feast!!
We truly enjoyed the clean, fresh water pond. Jim fished while I took out the paddleboat. The blooming water lilies, soft shorline grasses, and interesting protrusions of rock formations I photographed have made artistic scenes for paintings or greeting cards.
The breakfast was good, and hearty, like brunch. But, even though it was included in the price of our room, we elected to have breakfast 2 out of 5 days in town where we had heard of
certain restaurant specialities, and so we could be with the locals.
We would love to come back again, and perhaps bring our son's family when the grandchildren are of school-age. It is also a great home-base for other excursions
of the Boothbay Harbor region.

Jim and Kathie from Rochester in upstate New York.

Room Tip: Lower waterfront bldg. rooms are more handicapped accessible, but you need to drive up to the Pavillion for breakfast.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We found Ocean Gate by accident 6 years ago and have been coming back ever since. The views from our rom are excellent (we always stay in the Cedar building). The grounds are beautiful. If you have children, lots of activities for them. We always go canoeing. The breakfasts are plentiful. We tried the lobster bake this year and it was wonderful. Can't say enough good words about Ocean Gate. If you are looking for a nice place with waterviews and canoeing and/or kayaking included, this is a GREAT choice. Give it a try. You will love it!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with the Cedar Building. Second floor gives you a more private balcony. Views from any room in this building are outstanding.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We were very happy with our recent stay. We stayed in a king room in the Ocean Ridge building, which sits back a little from the main area. We had a great view of the inlet from the window and balcony(which is shared but worked fine). They are still upgrading buildings and rooms and they are on right path, our room was updated and had mini-fridge and pleasant tile bath and was a nice size room. There are kayaks, canoes all available at dock for free and we used them everyday, what a treat going out on the water and seeing the area. The outdoor pool is getting a little run down(vinyl liner needs replacing) but was swimmable and the hot tub was hot and worked fine. A decent buffet style hot breakfast is included everyday and welcome. They also have a decent fitness room and a few holes of mini golf. The staff was friendly and helpful. All in all we were happy and would return.

Room Tip: We liked the Ocean Ridge building for a little more secluded feeling. The Cabin building right next to it looks like the place to get!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your visit with us! I'm glad that you enjoyed your room in our newly renovated Ocean Ridge building. The shared deck is especially popular with groups travelling together, providing them a great opportunity to enjoy each others company while enjoying the great view. It sounds as if you had a nice time on the water with the use of our complimentary canoes and kayaks. Nothing beats the view of the water and islands from your own boat! We look forward to seeing you again!

Frank

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

View was stunning but the room was barely 2 star. Very disappointed. Breakfast brunch was soso.
Offered a Twin lobster bake for $32 a head when the excellent Robinson's Restaurant down the street had twin lobsters and the fixings for $16. Paid too much for a fair clean room with a view.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanGate, General Manager at Ocean Gate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for your review. Although I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the spectacular view, I'm sorry that you did not fully enjoy your room. Regarding the Lobster bake which has been a guest favorite every summer, I believe it is important to do a fair comparison to our authentic outdoor Lobster Bake and that of the lobster dinner at a local restaurant. It appears from your comments that you did not join in our event. I think you would have found that the twin lobsters, steamers and fresh corn on the cob prepared over an open bonfire and combined with a fresh garden salad, rolls and butter, homemade blueberry cake and included beverages to be a much better value than a steamed lobster, an ear of corn and a small dish of cole slaw which was part of the "special" that you described. I'm confident that when most of our guests compare the complimentary offerings here at Ocean Gate including the free hot breakfast buffet, canoes, kayaks, heated pool, hot tub, mini-golf and more they find it to be an exceptional vacation value compared with their other choices. One guest recently commented to us that we should discontinue all of our free, value added amenities as it would give others less things to be disappointed with! :) Although the point was well taken, we'll stick to our philosophy of adding great value to each our guests' vacation budget.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews