We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a basement pub that does food but good atmosphere”

Downstream Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #4 of 84 Restaurants in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$24
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Downstream was recreated in 2008 by local owner Sotirios Korogonas as a concept for a modern restaurant & lounge that retains Jasper's mountain town spirit and casual feel. Chef David Gomez masterfully delivers Jasper's best homemade meals using only the freshest ingredients. His attention to detail and passion for excellence is defined by the superior reputation his menu and our staff have earned amongst our loyal customers. Shawn Routledge and our service team ARE dedicated to ensuring a superior experience by providing our customers with a truly comfortable atmosphere in the most personal public room in Jasper. Together we have created a menu that is the best dollar for dollar value in the park.
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“More of a basement pub that does food but good atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

They had a large table in so was busy. Felt rushed, we were seated, served and had eaten two courses all within 50 minutes!
Good choice of food that is a bit different. Perfectly cooked duck. Potato thing was wierd, leave the cheese off. What is it with Canada and cheese with everything?
Very nice cherry coke coktail.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wildpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    166
    38
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband's strip steak was excellent, the appetizers & sides were delicious; while I enjoy many varieties of salmon & the preparation was fine, the salmon itself was surprisingly "gamey" in taste, a bit disappointing, since everything else was so good. Lounge seating comfortable, service a bit slow on the entrees, but very pleasant, likeable server. I would certainly eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajoyce7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Find!!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Four of us enjoyed our dinners! Two of us ordered Elk steaks which were tasty, not gamey, particularly this time of the season, as noted by our server. Restaurant wasn't iniitally busy for a weekday night, but quickly filled up by the time we finished dinner. Service was fine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nelson193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You Have To Try This Restaurant”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

By the time we hit Jasper, we knew that restaurants in the Rockies were fairly expensive, with sweet waitresses, long wait times and so-so food. Not Downstream. We came on a Wednesday night, had excellent service and some of the most interesting and inventive food anywhere. Good solid portions. Hats off to the kitchen for the menu which spans several cultures and is VERY well done. If offered, try the medley of "savory" ice creams for dessert. Very very interesting. Entrees were between $21-$28. We split one between two people, added a salad, and had plenty to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HereWeGo282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and friendly service”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We came into the bar for a quick drink and a bite to eat. The staff were friendly, the service was prompt and the food was good. Not fine dining, but a good place for well priced and nicely cooked food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foxymerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downstream Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Downstream Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing