We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dissapointed from our stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cedar Gate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cedar Gate
Ranked #52 of 58 Jasper B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dissapointed from our stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We were very curious to stay at this place as this was the longest stay from our trip through canada.µ
However, this was a real disapointment... The host was not friendly, breakfast is placed the morning before, so you never get the see the host... A light point is that you get freshly baked muffin.
You are staying in the basement, so not much light.
Small bed also.
The day we left, we asked her a very little service (drop something off in a shop) but she refused... It was only 100 metres down the road. So not very friendly... We had to wait an hour for the shops to go open as a consequence
We have the feeling that the hosts rent their basement for the money and her work as a event planner is the most important thing...
I am sorry but we cannot recommend this place.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank belgianchocolates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tellitlikeitisCanada, Owner at Cedar Gate, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
From time to time, we get busy in our own lives, and do not get as much time to spend with our guests as we would prefer. The small service item the guests refer to was a large crib which had to go on the bus (at my expense) to another town. The bus station is well beyond 100 metres away. I also was on a time frame that day and was not able to accommodate them which I tried to explain. I gave them alternatives for drop off. They waited less than one hour for the bus depot to open. The size of the bed is clearly indicated in our listing, with a brand new mattress and fine quality linens. We are sorry you expected larger than what is listed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

My sister and I stayed at Cedar Gate for six nights and we really enjoyed staying there. My sister stayed in the bedroom while I slept on the very comfortable (though a bit squeaky) sofa bed. We used the fridge, microwave, toaster, dishes, and utensils a lot and it was fun to put the dirty dishes in the container in the morning and have them clean and back on the shelves when we returned. Ron and Debby were exceptional hosts and helped us with whatever we needed. You can't beat the price for what you get (trust me, I looked!) and I would love to stay here again if I return to Jasper. Oh, and the internet was super fast and highly reliable (one thing I always appreciate).

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

We stayed for 5 nights at Cedargate and found it to be just what we were looking for. The room is private with a separate entrance and was nice and cosy with the heater going in the living room. The muffins for breakfast each day were very tasty. Ron was very helpful, giving us tips and info about things to do and places to see. While it is not right in the centre of town (making it nice and quiet) it is definitely within walking distance to everything you need in Jasper. Overall a great stay in a beautiful part of Canada.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed for 2 nights with Debbie and Ron at their lovely home. The accomodation was perfect, especially having our own sitting room to relax in. Highly recommended, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacogdoches, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

We spent 4 nights here and found it to be the perfect place to unwind after a hard day of hiking. There is a separate entrance into the B&B which provides privacy not always found.. There are 4 rooms - bedroom, sitting room, bathroom, and kitchenette - all beautifully decorated in a simple elegant style. In addtion to the usual contintental breakfast of cereral, yogurt, juice, coffee/tea, Debby also leaves a new bakery treat each day. The location is within walking distance to downtown Jasper and all the restaurants, shopping, etc. The only downside for some people might be that you don't have any kind of view of the outdoors from the room, though the grounds of the house are lovely.

Helpful?
2 Thank zaphoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Filia Inn
Filia Inn
#12 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.3 mi away
Doe a Deer Accommodation
Doe a Deer Accommodation
#28 of 58 in Jasper
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Gate

Property: Cedar Gate
Address: 104 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedargate Accommodation is a totally private and self contained suite. Be as private as you like, or join us in the lush garden out back for some socializing. Modern amenities in a homey setting put you right at ease. Wireless internet, wireless weather station, laundry service, private sitting area, BBQ, picnic equipment, in suite stereo, plush towels and quality bedding ensure your comfort. We look forward to welcoming you to beautiful UNESCO World Heritage Site and the world's largest Dark Sky Preserve, Jasper National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing