We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lodge in the forest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HI-Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HI-Jasper
Ranked #11 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
298 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great lodge in the forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed at this hostel for several nights in May and stayed in a private room. The rooms were comfortable and offered ample space. The female bathrooms were located in the bathrooms downstairs although they were not the cleanest.

The kitchen and eating area was very large and had multiple fridges and stoves for the guests to use. There was even a computer for guests to use.

The wifi worked well in both the common area and the bedrooms.

There was a female receptionist that was amazing but looked very overworked. There was a male receptionist who appeared to prefer drinking and lazing around with some of the clients rather than do any work.

I would advise that guests rent a car when visiting Jasper as the hostel is further away from the town but would also be helpful for visiting the nearby sites.

Room Tip: For the little bit extra the private rooms were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjaf_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    43
    42
    21
    15
See reviews for
8
33
53
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moncton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

After having read the trip advisor reviews, we were going to stay somewhere else (even in our car) but finally, we are happy to say that we had a good night. The 11 oclock curfew was well followed and we slept pretty well. This is a hostel and it is important to not have too high expectations when you sleep in a 28 bed dorm.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McGin600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I was disappointed of this place. HI hostels are normally so nice, but this place was weird. The female dorm has 27 beds! I was surprised that I could sleep! But there is no privacy at all. Everything was just okay, kitchen quite small, just 3 showers in the female restroom, staff was not so nice.I think I would choose another place next time, especially because it's not in town itself.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiss-muffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We decided to give the kids a taste of hostel living so got a private room which 5 of us snugly fitted into with a playpen. The room had towels and sheets and a door that locked. The room could do with a good spring clean, but the beds were good. The kitchen was well stocked with room for food. The bathrooms only had 3showers and toilets, but never had to wait. The location was nice, out of town and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

The communal area was okay but that's about the only positive I can muster.
Most of the huge dorm looked okay I guess but we were stuck in the far corner which had no light and was more cramped than the rest of the dorm. There were only a few plug outlets all in the same place so some outlets were unusable if people were using adapter plugs. The staff didn't stop the noise in the kitchen until about 2am when the noisy people came to be noisy in the bedrooms instead. Luckily I was only staying a night.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in the far corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

HI Jasper is in close proximity to the Tramway, approx 5 km to town, takes 1 hour and 10 min to walk to the centre, surrounded by spruce trees, with windows surrounding the lounge with views of the Whistler mountain. I L-O-V-E-d it and I enjoyed my stay. I didn't want to leave at all.

The staff is superbly helpful and welcoming. :) It is worth mentioning that I forgot my camera charger and I realized this when I was in Edmonton already. They were so kind to send it over, understanding the urgency, and didn't even charge me for it. :)

The beds are clean. no wi-fi but you can plug a LAN cable. but hey you're in the middle of wilderness, who needs to be in touch to the outside world? :)

HI Jasper, you rock! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jowawie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
194 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

This hostel is located in the middle of the forest very close to Jasper. The kitchen is big and there are so many kitchen utilities as well as a good closets for your food. The rooms are to share with another 40 people but each 6 or 8 beds are located quite separetely than the rest. I had more privacy that i would have expected. They have games, books and a computer to connect internet.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goyalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
2.5 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#9 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
2.1 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#10 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Jasper

Property: HI-Jasper
Address: 1 Skytram Road | 4 km south of Jasper off Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Jasper 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Gateway to the Wilderness Perched on the side of Whistler's Mountain, this is the place in Jasper to connect with nature and other like minded adventure seeking travelers. The mountain peak out the front door begs to be climbed the trailhead is only steps away. How can you resist? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your HI-Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Jasper Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing