We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hostel in the mountains and semi-close to town”
Review of HI-Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
HI-Jasper
Ranked #15 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Hello! Hello! Hello!
This is the review of HI Hostel jasper in you guessed it Jasper!
We arrived November 15th, the guest clerk was somewhat grumpy, which I learned after staying there for two weeks is just his demeanour but it is not a great first impression.

The Kitchen is what you first walk into. I like the layout, the kitchen stoves are separated into blocks and in between are work surfaces and also loads of cutlery, pots and pans and anything you could want!
The fridge is large which is necessary *especially in summer* The free food shelf is ace!

The sofas need a revamp, the cushions are plumped with bin bags or garbage bags to make them seem more comfortable, this doesn't work, they are just odd on your bottom

There is a huge fire and myself and friends got to create many over our two week stay!
the rates were cheaper this time of year and they also had a stay 2 nights get one free deal which was a much needed bonus!

We enjoyed the laid back attitude of the staff here.
The beds are comfortable and there are plenty of blankets if you get chilly!

The shower facilities are fine, there is a mini changing area with a curtain as they are open in the main area. the toilets are fine.
The internet was incredibly sloooooow, but you are int he mountains and it is costly.
they could offer free tea, hot chocolate and coffee.

The managers are friendly and just simply down to earth.
The mountain view is worth the walk up to the hostel.
They have a taxi shuttle that operates around 8am to town and from town at night. it only costs $3 per person.

The hostel could do with some revamping in the decoration area, and have a little more character in the building. Pictures, artwork. quotes from people.
It can get cold in winter there but with a nice fire then you are fine.
They rent out Snowshoes, and sleds!

They have BBQ'S outside so you can use them for a lean mean steak.

I would recommend staying here!
The laid back attitude of the staff and how they just chit and chat with travellers rubs off on you and everyone ends up chatting away and everybody feels at ease! :)

The lights do go on at 8am and off at 11pm!
this is not great for people who like to sleep in, but just take a face mask and use the blankets to make a den over your bunk bed and you will be fine and dandy!

It is thoroughly cleaned everyday and night! The most cleanliness hostel I have been to. well done staff!

The dorms are either mixed sex, private or girls only.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 849lizzie_loo849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

- great and nice Location in the nature
- good and clean facilities
- amazing bonfire in a beautiful forest
- jummy barbeque
- awesome, crazy and funny staff!!! Thanks for all the insider Information and the guided cave tour

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Awesome staff, has a barbecue and a fire place. Definitely a good experience ! Having already been to several backpackers, i can tell that this one is one of my favorite. The staff will always be happy to share a conversation about anything you would and advise you about what you can do around (hiking, sightseeing, etc). Plus, the hostel is only 5min from Jasper by car.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The location of the hostel is uphill and far from Jasper town, you can pay for a $5 ride with the Jasper Tramway shuttle but it stops running around 5pm. Taxis are expensive, about $18 one-way!

If you're a female, try your best to get a bed in the female dorm, which is 28-beds in one big huge room with very few power outlets. Leave the windows open for some much needed fresh air. There's 3 toilets and 3 showers for all the female in the hostel, so there can be a line-up at times. I started with a bed in the female dorm, the first night was okay with just 2 people making weird noises while they slept. While talking to another girl that I had just met, she found out someone didn't show for one of the private room. So we asked to take it over. The next 2 nights was a lot more private and peaceful.

The mixed dorm room is downstairs and about 50 beds or more, it smells and very stuffy. Some of the plumbing needs work, so their statement about being environmentally friendly is misleading. There are multiple stove tops for cooking in the kitchen however, a few on the burners doesn't work. So check first.

There is a BBQ that can be used to cook your meals. The backyard is the start of the trail straight up to the Whistlers Mountain with a pitstop at the Tramway station. Extra bedding is available downstairs outside the mixed dorm room. Towels are available at the reception desk, just ask for them.

The best thing about this hostel is that because there's so little space for privacy, everyone is more friendly. The common area has sofas and communal tables, there are picnic table outside. I met a lot of fun and interesting fellow travellers at HI Jasper! :)

Room Tip: If travelling with a few friends, try your best to book one of the 3 private rooms. They're only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingleWomanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I feel lucky to have stayed in this hostel.

Even with an injured leg, unable to do any walking, I had a great experience. The atmosphere, the wonderfully friendly and helpful manager (Ernie), falling asleep to a crackling fire in a room full of folks who feel about the mountains as you do, making and eating dinner in a cosy cabin, and playing trivial persuit with friends and strangers and a couple of beers. All the while surrounded by utterly magnificent mountains and trees and blue lakes, there for drawing or painting or climbing or just looking.

What more could anyone possibly want?

What more could you want?

(oh, and having been around the hostel all day from my torn up knee, I saw the amount of effort put into cleaning the place, it was thorough.)

Room Tip: (swimming pool and fitness centre i've reviewed as lakes, hot springs and mountains.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Contrary to everyone else it seems, I really enjoyed my stay in Jasper HI! I can't say their reviews are wrong though. Probably the most inconvenient fact is how far out of town the hostel is, and that it's halfway up a mountain. I walked from town to the hostel and you could definitely call that a hike! Do not recommend. However it is a quiet, secluded location and I very much enjoyed that aspect as well.

My bus arrived at 2am, and they were able to accommodate that by leaving directions to your dorm and you bed details out for you - obviously call to confirm this in advance. I was glad I did, the girl gave me the number of the local cab company.

The dorm rooms are huge, with poor air circulation (gets stuffy - I personally didn't find it smelly), doesn't have individual power plugs - has a powerboard & the floors are creaky. Positives are extra pillows and linens readily available if you want to change your sheets. I didn't have a problem falling asleep - I was doing a lot of hiking so I was pretty exhausted. I did tend to be woken up by others early in the morning though.

The bathrooms were perfectly serviceable, lacked privacy in comparison to other hostels but otherwise I found them clean. I recommend snagging the first shower stall - I figured the further clockwise you turn the knob the colder the shower gets. Defies logic but once you get that it's easy to find the perfect temp.

Kitchen has lots of stovetops which in great! Well equipped with small cupboards with chalk boards to identify name and departure date, also lockable. Nice communal area, opportunity to mingle with other guests.

There was a lot of helpful local information around the hostel from what hikes are the best for varying levels/durations, what nights to go out on the town and where & pamphlets from local businesses such as horseback riding and white water rafting. Last thing to mention, they request no use of skype or youtube as they don't have the bandwidth and overall the connection is pretty slow - apparently they only got wireless connection in the last few years though, so this is more of a testament to the remote location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I read reviews before coming to this hostel so I kinda had an idea of what to expect when I got there. Compared to the other hostel I stayed in, this was not very great. I stayed in the all-female room with other 25ish people. It gets very crowded and stuffy - not enough air circulation. Showers were kinda dirty and not enough for so many people - though I never had to wait for a shower. Even after the 11pm curfew you can still hear people doing things and whispering. Staff were ok. They were doing their job, but not very approachable. The kitchen area wasn't very clean. The place itself wasn't very maintained. And the worst is that it's so far away from the town. You either pay $16 for a cab or $5 shuttle (one way). it is literally located in the middle of nowhere. A car would be nice. There is wi-fi, but doesn't work all the time. However, I have heard of people who liked it.

Room Tip: Bring: earplugs, eye mask (for sleeping), torch (or flashlight), flip flops (because you have to tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
2.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
995 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
900 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lobstick Lodge
Lobstick Lodge
#16 of 17 in Jasper
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
748 reviews
3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
2.5 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Jasper

Address: 1 Skytram Road | 4 km south of Jasper off Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Price Range: £19 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Jasper 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Gateway to the Wilderness Perched on the side of Whistler's Mountain, this is the place in Jasper to connect with nature and other like minded adventure seeking travelers. The mountain peak out the front door begs to be climbed the trailhead is only steps away. How can you resist? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your HI-Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Jasper Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing