We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gives 'HI' a bad rep”
Review of HI-Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HI-Jasper
Ranked #10 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gives 'HI' a bad rep”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

4-5k out of town. Have a car or be prepared to pay for a taxi due to the limited free shuttle offered by the hostel.

On arrival we were greeted by a surly English girl who could barely muster the enthusiasm to greet us properly. We all have bad days but in the service industry you can at least slap on a 'happy' face.

The male washrooms were clean but in desperate need of maintenance as the shower heads didn't work properly and some cubicles had no hooks for your clothes.

The kitchen is very, very badly designed as each stove has it's own inset, so people are clambering over each other to get to their dry food stores, which are conveniently located at the feet of the person currently stood cooking their dinner.

The laundry has restricted hours, which is understandable as they are cleaning the hostel linen during the day. However, we were advised one night that they were "backed up" so there was no laundry for the guests. This is unacceptable as it was clear the staff had left it late in the day to commence the hostel washings and as such were putting paying guests out.

"You get what you pay for" in hostels as another user has said but I have paid less and experienced a far better experience.

Avoid.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    45
    44
    22
    15
See reviews for
8
34
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My friends and I have stayed at many HI (YHA) hostels around the world and this one was simply not good enough.

We stayed 3 nights in July 2014 and were seriously disappointed with our stay. The main complaints were:

1. The hostel was about 5km out of town. Not a problem for us as we had a car but would be a serious problem for many backpackers.
2. Laundry room, washing machines and tumble dryers were filthy.
3. Laundry was only available between 5pm and 10pm and was closed all day on one occasion because the hostel was behind on its own laundry.
4. The kitchen was poorly designed which led to chaos at busy times. We ate out or got take away instead of dealing with it.
5. Shower curtains were dirty and too short which led to the shower area and wider toilet being flooded.
6. There were no charging points in the dorms for phones,cameras, etc.
7. Secure storage for luggage and personal belongings were insufficient.
8. The hostel is billed as "vintage hosteling" but it's basically just run down and in need of refurbishment.

Positives were:
1. Friendly staff
2. Strict lights out policy at 11 pm and the dorm was generally quiet after 11pm.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

My gf and I stayed here for four nights and what a great time we had! Below are my PRO's and cons of our stay:

Pros:
Staff were friendly and very helpful!

Kitchen and living area link works really well, very social!

Great views from the hostel

The rooms surpassed our expectations of a 40+ bed dorm, privacy is fine

A great positive, cool vibe about the place

Enjoyed the outdoor space for eating and chilling out
LOADS of helpful information everywhere! :).

I personally like the informative signs used throughout as they let you know 'what's what' straight away without having to ask

Very clean :)

Location was fine, it wasn't at from jasper but we had a car. Not great otherwise

Cons:
Our Beds (34 + 35) where lacking light to read - if was difficult to even find clothes and was a pain!

Female showers were poor, shower head not working, also no lock on the toilet doors!

Ended up buying our own coffee as we had to pay for it here, a little disappointing as other Hi Hostels offer either free breakfast or coffee - wasn't a major problem tho.


All in all this was an awesome stay, very happy and will be reccomending it!!



  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonCartwright1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

It wasn't terrible to spend the night here but if you have other options go for it.

It's a ways out of town. The bunk beds are old and rickety. You could smell the woodsmoke in the dorms when you woke up and my friend and I developed a cough because of sleeping while breathing it in. The bathrooms are really cold and there were two out of three stalls in the women's bathroom out of service.
The kitchen has lots of stoves but is poorly designed so it's hard to fit with other people.

The good thing was that we were able to get a Maligne canyon ice walk tour combined with the dorm room for a discounted price.

Overall this hostel felt like it needed updating and was just getting by because there aren't many affordable options for places to stay in Jasper.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SibinaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Staying at this particular HI hostel was like staying in an orphanage or refugee camp.

Cons;
- biggest issue was the rooms. There is one female dorm which sleeps up to 30 people. And one mixed dorm which sleeps up to 40! It's one big room, like a hall, with heaps of bunk beds. The photos they show on their website are misleading because there is no blocker (for privacy) between bunk beds at all. Having this many people in the one room, you can imagine what goes down, it's horrible. Don't expect sleep.

- '11pm lights out' and 'quite time' rule is not enforced by staff. The walls are paper thin, so you can hear people in lounge talking past midnight.

- the hostel is a longgggggggg way out of town if you don't have a car. over an hour walk to downtown. There is a shared taxi that comes every morning at 8.30am and another coming back to the hostel at 5.30am - so you really need to be in downtown jasper area for the solid day. I'm told a taxi is almost $20 one way.

- didn't find staff to be overly welcoming and friendly. Honestly seemed like one particular girl (dark brown hair, from the UK?) hated her job with a passion? Couldn't crack a smile from the poor girl in the 2 days I was there :(

Pros;
- share taxi to and from town was reasonable price, $3 each way

- hostel was clean

- free wifi

-the feeling of freedom checking out of this hostel :p


Look into anything but this hostel!! Cheap hotel, b&b, sleep in the car, couch surfing. Just not here - you've been warned ;)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itchinAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Hello! Hello! Hello!
This is the review of HI Hostel jasper in you guessed it Jasper!
We arrived November 15th, the guest clerk was somewhat grumpy, which I learned after staying there for two weeks is just his demeanour but it is not a great first impression.

The Kitchen is what you first walk into. I like the layout, the kitchen stoves are separated into blocks and in between are work surfaces and also loads of cutlery, pots and pans and anything you could want!
The fridge is large which is necessary *especially in summer* The free food shelf is ace!

The sofas need a revamp, the cushions are plumped with bin bags or garbage bags to make them seem more comfortable, this doesn't work, they are just odd on your bottom

There is a huge fire and myself and friends got to create many over our two week stay!
the rates were cheaper this time of year and they also had a stay 2 nights get one free deal which was a much needed bonus!

We enjoyed the laid back attitude of the staff here.
The beds are comfortable and there are plenty of blankets if you get chilly!

The shower facilities are fine, there is a mini changing area with a curtain as they are open in the main area. the toilets are fine.
The internet was incredibly sloooooow, but you are int he mountains and it is costly.
they could offer free tea, hot chocolate and coffee.

The managers are friendly and just simply down to earth.
The mountain view is worth the walk up to the hostel.
They have a taxi shuttle that operates around 8am to town and from town at night. it only costs $3 per person.

The hostel could do with some revamping in the decoration area, and have a little more character in the building. Pictures, artwork. quotes from people.
It can get cold in winter there but with a nice fire then you are fine.
They rent out Snowshoes, and sleds!

They have BBQ'S outside so you can use them for a lean mean steak.

I would recommend staying here!
The laid back attitude of the staff and how they just chit and chat with travellers rubs off on you and everyone ends up chatting away and everybody feels at ease! :)

The lights do go on at 8am and off at 11pm!
this is not great for people who like to sleep in, but just take a face mask and use the blankets to make a den over your bunk bed and you will be fine and dandy!

It is thoroughly cleaned everyday and night! The most cleanliness hostel I have been to. well done staff!

The dorms are either mixed sex, private or girls only.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 849lizzie_loo849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

- great and nice Location in the nature
- good and clean facilities
- amazing bonfire in a beautiful forest
- jummy barbeque
- awesome, crazy and funny staff!!! Thanks for all the insider Information and the guided cave tour

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
2.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
876 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
2.8 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
353 reviews
1.5 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
680 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Jasper

Property: HI-Jasper
Address: 1 Skytram Road | 4 km south of Jasper off Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Jasper 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Gateway to the Wilderness Perched on the side of Whistler's Mountain, this is the place in Jasper to connect with nature and other like minded adventure seeking travelers. The mountain peak out the front door begs to be climbed the trailhead is only steps away. How can you resist? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your HI-Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Jasper Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing