We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”
Review of Columbine House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbine House
Ranked #9 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is a great place to stay in Jasper, calm and cozy and private.
With a separate entrance to the building the small apartment is equipped with a living room, king-size bed, kitchenette and ensuite bathroom.
The living room is stuffed with tons of books and information on things to do in Jasper and the lovely owner even provided us with a daily copy on weather and hiking trail conditions.
It takes approx. 15 minutes to walk downtown Jasper. With the car, you're only a few minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I stayed at this B&B for 3 nights in July with my girlfriend during our road trip through the Canadian Rockies. The lodging was spacious, clean, and stocked with lots of snack items and fresh fruit (see photo). It's located a little less than a mile from the downtown Jasper area. Because parking is free in Jasper, we ended up driving to town during the evenings, but it is certainly walkable as well.

Every day, Karen bakes a fresh loaf of bread and leaves it in a tupperware box for the following morning. This is some seriously tasty bread. The first two days we were given wheat bread, which was completely awesome; the final day we were given raisin bread, which was equally as awesome as the wheat bread. See the photo below for a preview of this delectable baked goodness. We were lucky enough on the first day to be hanging out in the room when the bread came directly out of the machine and into our possession. We tore into that warm loaf like scavengers in the Serengeti and had to restrain ourselves to ensure we had enough for breakfast the next morning. I wish I was eating that bread right now.

Whenever I return to Jasper, I will stay here again without hesitation.

One piece of advice: make sure you bring bugspray. Mosquitoes are everywhere and they are insistent on feeding on any part of your body not covered by DEET. This isn't an issue unique to this particular B&B; the entire area is inhabited by swarms of mosquitoes.

Room Tip: There's only one room available.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank eyeguy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabarita Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I spent 2 nights in late June at Karen's lovely B&B with my husband and teenage son during a Rockies driving trip from Calgary through to Vancouver. From the time of our booking Karen couldn't do enough for us. Being from Australia and knowing little about the area, her tips on the best places to visit on the drive up from Banff/Lake Louise to Jasper were helpful and spot on. The room itself is a spacious self-contained unit (microwave, toaster and coffee maker in the kitchen) situated below the main house and has it's own private entrance. The garden is lovely and the area is a quiet residential street. Parking on the street was right at the gate so easy access to bring in those heavy bags. The breakfast....what can I say? The fresh (and I mean fresh) home-baked breads every day were a real treat and there was a lovely basket of the most amazing fresh summer fruits, all beautifully ripe and ready for eating. Homemade yoghurt, REAL coffee and the most amazing preserves made sure we did not want for anything. It's an easy drive to the centre of Jasper or, if you wanted, not that far to walk. We even saw a bull elk just around the corner, so watch out for the wildlife! I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation away from the touristy main centre of town but within easy reach of everything. Thanks Karen, hope to see you again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhotosbyLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We just spent 3 nights in July at Columbine House. The owner, Karen is very friendly and detailed. You can find all information in the room. B&B room is spacy. You have a lot space to move around. The breakfast is simply, but fresh. Bread and yogurt are freshly home made. All different kind of fresh fruits were there for you to consume. The location is very convenient and easy to find.

We definitely will stay there in case we will visit Jasper in future

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank susan888_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natanya
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I found Columbine House on TripAdvisor and I was not disappointed. It was as welcoming and charming as it was shown to be. The house is in a quiet residential street, surrounded by a lovely garden. The center of Jasper is a minute away in the car and a few comfortable minutes walk on foot. The sitting space and the bathroom were both roomy, the bed comfortable and everything fresh and clean. Karen was a an excellent hostess, with great suggestions, maps, brochures and lots of help! Unfortunately we had to shorten our planned stay from 3 to two nights and Karen was more than understanding, gracious and generous. We couldn't have wanted (or found) a better place to stay in Jasper!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShiraNatanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

As did previous reviewers, we did our research prior to travelling to Jasper and were most certainly delighted with the results. Columbine House offers a perfect place to stay in an extremely well appointed and comfortable environment. The house is in a quiet street, but still within walking distance of the centre of town. Karen is the perfect host, offering invaluable advice as required and offering wonderful goodies for breakfast. We had yummy home made yoghurts, preserves, and bread, fresh orange juice, granola, and lots of milk. A perfect start to any day. Contact with Karen was ahieved via email, and the booking process was smooth and efficient. There is no point in repeating what other people have said about the comfort and contents, suffice to say Columbine House offers just about everything you will need in the way of accommodation (and more) for a great stay in Jasper. Karen even collected us from the station, which was a huge bonus! Being visitors from overseas, it was an added attraction for us that we could pay our deposit by credit card, a facility not generally offered by accommodation providers in Jasper. We would totally recommend Columbine House to fellow travellers, you won't find much better - and thank you Karen it was wonderful!

Room Tip: There is only one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melvillecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Prior to travelling to Jasper we read all the reviews and chose Columbine house. Once again - the "system" works perfectly!
Everything said about this lovely accomodation is bang on. Karen was a gracious hostess, friendly, helpful and accomodating, without being intrusive. The B&B is well located on a quiet street - although in fairness, Jasper is pretty compact, so most places are fairly central. The "room" is actually a fully self contained apartment - bedroom, sitting area, kitchenette and bathroom - all compact but extremely well appointed. The bed was very comfy, there were lots of books and brochures describing the surrounding area and its flora and fauna, even a CD player with a pile of CDs of local music. To round it off, the apartment has its own private entrance - so it really feels like coming home after a day's visiting the magnificent Jasper park.
Karen provided breakfast supplies that were over and above anything we could possibly finish in a breakfast! One HAS to note her fantastic home-made bread, with generous slices hot from the oven....yummy!!
All in all, a lovely, clean and convenient place for a couple (like us) or even a small family with one or two youngsters. Highly recommended!

.....oh, and we saw loads of bears and moose!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingFungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,504 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.6 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
901 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine House

Property: Columbine House
Address: 1118 Patricia Street | PO Box 2607, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"At Home in the Canadian Rockies"... A private, self-contained & spacious bed/sitting room with private entry, en-suite bathroom with shower, equipped kitchenette. Sleeps four guests, on a king-size bed with quality bedding & down duvet; a queen-size sofa-bed for two more. The room is spacious for two (approx. 550 Sqft/50 sq m) or ideal for a family of three or four. Recommended for kids 6 yrs. And over. WiFi, satellite TV, DVD/VCR & videos, IPOD/mp3 dock, hiking & nature books. Kitchenette with mini-fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, coffeemaker, etc. In-room self-serve breakfast provided - cereal & milk, juice, yogurt, bread, butter & jam, fresh-ground coffee, tea. Easy Access - level entry (no stairs), a short walk to street parking. Enjoy mountain vistas & relax on your sunny rock-garden patio. Quiet residential neighbourhood. Knowledgeable host is happy to answer itinerary questions. Laundry service available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing