We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home!”
Review of Columbine House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Columbine House
Ranked #6 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2009

A one room B&B with self catering facilities. The two room flatlet on the ground floor is completely self contained with its own entrance and consists of comfortable lounge, kitchen/breakfast bar, bedroom and spacious bathroom.

Hostess Karen provides a delicious breakfast of fresh fruits, juice, home made yogurt and home made bread delivered daily. The kitchen is well stocked with teas, coffee, and cereals.

Located in the residential outskirts of Jasper, transport is essential to go downtown - a little too far to walk comfortably. Karen can advise on the local restaurants - a visit to the Bears Paw coffee shop is a must. Fiddle River and Something Else restaurants can be recommended.

Plenty of great excursions, walks and hikes from Jasper. Maligne Canyon beautiful. Columbia Icefield an hour away. Mt Robson in BC is also an hour away through the Yellow Head pass with stunning scenery and a great walk (hike) up to Kinney lake and beyond.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dandms11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2009

This B&B accommodation consists of a ground floor flat in a house on a very quiet street in an affluent area of Jasper where we received a very warm welcome.

The large, well furnished main room had two settees, armchair, desk and chair, breakfast bar and comfortable bed. There was a microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge and coffeemaker with a good asortment of good quality cutlery, crockery etc. There was a good supply of books and magazines plus local maps and guides.

The large, pleasant bathroom was very well supplied with good towels, but the good shower was very tight for a manly sixfooter. A complimentary laundry service was also offered.

Materials are supplied for a self-serve continental breakfast and these were of good quality featuring a lot of home-made stuff.

There was an outside sitting area under cover in a small, secluded garden.

Cleanliness was of a high standard.

Wireless internet was fast. Parking was on street but presented no problems.

This was a quiet, convenient, comfortable place in which we spent four nights and can thoroughly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wasleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Columbine House, Patricia Street, Jasper.

Columbine House was one of a myriad of B&Bs in Jasper, where it seemed nearly every other private house was open for business. If there is a better one in Jasper, it must be very good.

With private entry from the road, our room/suite was on the ground floor of a timber house in a suburban street. L-shaped, the room was really well appointed, and spotlessly clean. The large sitting area had two big comfy couches, and what we thought was the world’s largest collection of guidebooks to Jasper and the Rockies. The kitchen area could hardly have been any smaller – but that’s a really minor quibble, and certainly not enough to put anyone off. The bathroom, however, was plenty big enough for two at the same time, and stacked with towels for use, if wanted, at Miette Springs.

In other B&Bs, we experienced a lot more interaction with the owners, notably at breakfast time. For some strange reason Jasper by-laws prohibit B&Bs providing cooked breakfasts, so there was none of that here. Here we only spoke to Karen on arrival and departure and one or two other times briefly, and merely heard others in the house, and their late-night dishwasher. We realised we were no more than paying visitors, a nice little earner for the rest of the household. If that’s what you like, this would be perfect for you.

Having said that, Karen was friendly and welcoming. Her provisions for continental were extensive, with beautiful home-baked bread, home-made yogurt, and the widest variety of cereals and drink sachets we’d ever seen.

All in all, a very good place to stay, and especially recommended for those who like to be left alone

10  Thank madpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: De Privat Mini-Suite is een simpel maar goed onderkomen. Niks moderns, maar alles is er in feite. De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brunoNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
454 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,656 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
3.3 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine House

Address: 1118 Patricia Street | PO Box 2607, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range: £75 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"At Home in the Canadian Rockies"... A private, self-contained & spacious bed/sitting room with private entry, en-suite bathroom with shower, equipped kitchenette. Sleeps four guests, on a king-size bed with quality bedding & down duvet; a queen-size sofa-bed for two more. The room is spacious for two (approx. 550 Sqft/50 sq m) or ideal for a family of three or four. WiFi, satellite TV, DVD/VCR & videos, IPOD/mp3 dock, hiking & nature books. Kitchenette with mini-fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, coffeemaker, etc. In-room self-serve breakfast provided - cereal & milk, juice, yogurt, bread, butter & jam, fresh-ground coffee, tea. Easy Access - level entry (no stairs), a short walk to street parking. Enjoy mountain vistas & relax on your sunny rock-garden patio. Quiet residential neighbourhood. Knowledgeable host is happy to answer itinerary questions. Laundry service available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing