We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the woods!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistlers Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whistlers Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
253 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“In the woods!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights in Loop 12, which was quiet and wooded. Most sites are level and there are electric or full hook ups available. There is a shower house (about a 5 minute walk from our site) and a large playground in the central part of the campground. We walked on the trails in the campground each evening.

Room Tip: Loop 12 was wooded and quiet while we were there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5nn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasperPark, JNP Visitor Experience at Whistlers Campground, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello 5nn. Thanks for your review. Glad to hear you had a good experience! For next time you come back (and want to find other after dinner strolls) take a look at this brochure for some other great ideas, not far from Whistlers: http://www.pc.gc.ca/eng/pn-np/ab/jasper/activ/ete-summer/randon-hike.aspx

Feel free to print the map or drop by the info centre for a copy of this or any other trails brochure for the park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    91
    31
    6
    5
See reviews for
86
90
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

It's a crying shame you can only make reservations at a few campsites in Jasper. It means that everybody winds up being crammed into Whistlers and Wapiti. After all, you'd have to be nuts to drive all the way from Edmonton on a Friday evening in the hope of finding a spot at one of the other campgrounds.

The benefit is that all the RVs can be kept in one area. The downside is that tents are stuck right next to them. That might feel 'outdoorsy' to someone who thinks camping includes watching TV on your satelite dish inside your trailer, but it sure doesn't work if you want more of a wilderness experience.

We camped there on a weekend on the May long weekend, and given that we only went there to sleep, the experience started off well. We picked an unserviced site in the back, and got our tent up. Pleasant enough, but very soon our neighbours for the weekend arrived. A couple of families with kids and some young couples. We went off to get supper, and by the time we got back, the whole loop next to us had turned into 'party time'. We put in our earplugs' but the noise was still going when I woke up at 3:30.

We mentioned it to the people at the gate on our way out the next morning, and again when we returned in the morning. They told us that they'd drive by later, and gave us a number to call to report a problem, but also told us that the campsite was unstaffed overnight! Thanks. We get to deal with drunken jerks all on our own.

Good things: bathrooms are clean and well maintained. Mother elk with baby walking by in the morning. Nice sites, but hardly a wilderness experience. Crowded and busy - waits at the gate to get in, even with reservations

Bad things: inadequate staffing, poor site supervision. Reservation system hopelessly inadequate, since it only applies to a few campgrounds. How hard would it be to book other campgrounds, and just drive by and check each evening to make sure everybody was properly registered?

Room Tip: Pick sites in the back, away from the RVs with their generators, and closer to the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petey1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasperPark, JNP Visitor Experience at Whistlers Campground, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Good morning petey1955. We're sorry to hear you had a less than positive experience at Whistlers! Certainly it's not the normal response we're used to hearing from our visitors. Please contact me directly for some possible solutions to make it right for you.
In the meantime a couple of responses-
Certainly, each JNP campground has it's own flavour and character. Wilderness vs. frontline camping experiences- we would certainly characterize the campsites closer to town as being more family friendly and in turn, liable to be a bit busier feeling like what you experienced. Though most have no reservations, if you travel the Icefields Parkway you might find some of our unserviced camspites at Kerkeslin, Honeymoon or Wilcox to be enjoyable. They are not reservable however, so indeed- leaving home early or getting there on a midweek night is best.
Reservations- as we can, the system slowly expands to include other campgrounds. Pocahontas campground has just been added to the system and probably fits what you are looking for- more of a wooded wilderness feel and more rustic (it's also close to great hiking and the hot springs!). We add more campgrounds when and where it's feasible to do so.
Noisy experience- Unfortunately on a busy May long weekend, it sounds like you had some issues to contend with. While we don't staff the campground kiosk 24/7 (we do from early morning to late evening), we do have a Park Warden service and RCMP accessible through the phone number you were provided. That number, if there's issues in the campground like rowdy neighbours to report is 780-852-6155. Usually, these issues can be resolved fairly quickly.

Jasper's campgrounds are popular, and occupancy at Whistlers and Wapiti is increasing in recent years. We do gear the campgrounds closest to town for these purposes, where the "outlying ones" are left more rustic and typical of a wilderness feel. Hopefully you'll be able to make it back to Jasper soon and with these tips, find your next experience to be more pleasing. Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in Whistlers Campground in Jasper Natonal Park for May Long Weekend!
Our first trip out with our new trailer!
We stayed in 61 P and absolutely loved the location of the site. It is a little ways from the bathroom and shower house, but this is okay as I find some sites that are too close to the bathrooms will leave you with strangers cutting through your site at all times to get to the bathroom.
The site was level and well-maintained. The only downfall is the location of the fire pit. We have a 30 ft trailer and have to back all the way in in order for our slide to clear the trees. The fire pit is located at the back of the site which took a little work making sure we had room to sit around the firepit without toasting our trailer, and clear the trees for our slide and awning...
This site is so wide I am not sure why the firepit couldnt be located more central and off to the side where it would make more sense?
Also it says it accomodates up to and over 35 feet, however it is a tight squeeze to back in, having to clear trees on either side and not accidently taking out the front of your vehicle while you are cutting 'er in to the site, so I would avoid this site and opt for one of their pull through spots if you have a trailer over 30 feet...
Shower house was a tad on the dirty side and did not have hot water when I was in there, but this is what you get for "roughing it" and being in a campground that has free - push button showers.
Also word to the wise, this spot takes online reservations so I would pay attention to when the campground opens for reservations, especially for long weekends and book early if you dont want to miss out!!
Overall, loved our stay, we were super relaxed and WILL be returning :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PackCarandGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasperPark, JNP Visitor Experience at Whistlers Campground, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Pack and Go. Thanks for writing your response!
We're sorry to hear you had a tough time getting into the site you had chosen. Indeed, many of our sites in Jasper are not perfect for bigger rigs- but we are working on that with improvements to campgrounds wherever we can. Pullthoughs like you say, are a good option. Note- if you use our online reservations page, there are photos of each reservable site- reservations.pg.gc.ca. These should help you plan what kind of a site you are going to pull into. As for the washrooms again- not our usual standards. We'll pass your comment on to the supervisors and hope when you visit next time, it will be in better condition. Have a good weekend and hope you'll be back in Jasper this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
325 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Sites were level and had full hookups. Very neat and clean. Woodsy atmosphere. Prices were reasonable. $40 per night with taxes. For $8.80 extra they will supply you with firewood for the pit.

Room Tip: We were in site 59A. Was able to drive right into it. All were pull-throughs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rollingst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We decided to go camping spur of the moment as we both somehow managed to have the same 3 days off. It didn't occur to us till we hit Jasper that so many campgrounds would be booked solid on the weekend however we managed to get a very nice site at whistler. It was a little pricey as we were tenting and it was a normal site not even a powered one, but it was a very nice site right next to a little creek. Even though it was more expensive than the average campsite in Jasper, we would stay there again. The site that we had had more trees than average which means a lot of privacy, which is something not all campsites have.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasperPark, JNP Visitor Experience at Whistlers Campground, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks for the review, and glad to see you had a good time last season. Indeed- most of Jasper's campgrounds fill up VERY quickly on weekends. A possible solution is to reserve in advance using reservations.pc.gc.ca and you can book for Whistlers, Wapiti or Wabasso. Most of Jasper's campgrounds are first come/first serve. Campgrounds closer to Jasper like Whistlers and Wapiti fill up fast so it's a good idea to try a midweek day first if possible if you don't plan to reserving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athabasca, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

This a great full service campsite. The sites are treed, pull through and quiet. There is an interpretive walking trail through the middle of it. They also have a stage and public showers. I can't comment on the showers though as I shower in my RV. They also have public washrooms in every camping loop which are clean and within walking distance of all campsites.

The Jasper townsite is a short drive or bike ride. I wouldn't say it is within an easy walking distance though. It would be a bit far if one wanted to walk it.

Thus is my favourite campsite by far.

Room Tip: Check the map when booking. They have pictures of each site as well so you can choose your site and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank Sian-Keona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights during our road trip through the Rockies. It's a big popular site with queues to get in (we booked several months in advance). We had a large RV and the site is laid out so that there are clusters of circles of 6-7 units branching off the main roads through the site. We had a fully serviced site - washroom was less than 100 yards away although the showers were a 10-15 minute walk across the site. Facilities clean and well cared for.

We had a fire pit and got a fire permit for a few dollars. We bought our 15 year old an axe (would never do that in the UK) and he happily chopped wood from the local woodpile for us and our neighbours.

Jasper is a short distance and is a great place with the usual variety of shops, a small supermarket, fuel stations and a variety of restaurants. It also has an excellent launderette - just the thing when you are camping. There is a RV parking lot on the edge of town but you have to cross the railway to get to it and if a train is coming you may be stationary for some time - Canadian trains are very long!!!!!!!

Lots to do and see in and around Jasper. Spent a day walking, canoeing and sightseeing at Lake Maligne. The town is at the northern end of the Icefields Parkway. There is walking, cycling, white water rafting, riding and lots of sightseeing we just didn't have time to do. Could easily have spent much longer in Jasper

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Jason42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasperPark, Visitor Experience at Whistlers Campground, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We're happy to see you had a great camping experience at Whistlers. One note about the really LONG train delays- if you are using 93A (Hazel Avenue) to access the town of Jasper and the RV parking, you have a good chance to get stuck behind a train- Jasper is a major divisional point for the CN Railway. Local secret: drive west on Connaught Drive UNDER the train tracks and turn left again on Sleepy Hollow Road. Not only does this give you a good chance to see wildlife, but it gets you around the train if it's sitting on the crossing and causing a significant delay. RV parking is connected to the town by an underground pedway tunnel so if you are walking or biking- you won't have to wait.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#10 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistlers Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistlers Campground

Property: Whistlers Campground
Address: 607 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parks Canada interpreters put on evening shows all summer long, and a new interpretive trail running through the campground means it’s an easy walk or bike ride to town for an ice cream afterward. Those looking to rough it without getting their clothes too ruffled can reserve new Cottage Tents, where you bring your own food, drinks, axe and bedding, and Parks Canada will take care of everything else. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Whistlers Campground Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing