We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seldom In Guest House
Ranked #4 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This guest house outshines any hotels in Jasper. The owners work for Parks Canada so are very knowledgeable about the area and willingly share this information as well as their home. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2011

If you find yourself going to B&B's and guesthouses to enjoy the personal atmosphere and the chance to make new friends, the Seldom In will not let you down. Sherrill and Doug run a very busy place, not because of the huge number of guests but because everybody just naturally seems to run into everyone else at this guesthouse.

In our case, this turned into a gathering in the living room to exchange stories, memories and songs on one night and a visit to the local microbrewery the next evening. Nothing that anyone had ever really planned but rather the result of spontaneous meetings in the kitchen over breakfast or dinner and the nice conversations that came from those moments spent together.

As with so many other guesthouses in Jasper, no breakfast is offered but a great bakery and a well stocked grocery store are just minutes away on foot. All other shops in town can easily be reached without a car as well, but you'll be pleased to know that the Seldom In has off-street parking available as well.

Our room (the only one with a private bathroom) was comfortable and spotless with a lovely shower and enough storage room for longer stays. Doug gave us an extensive overview of the attractions and hikes within the park and was there to help us with any last minute preparations. He and his wife know the park so well they can even tell you which part of a hike is really worthwhile and were you should turn back :-)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaphaelBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We expected a clean comfortable place to stay while we were in Jaspar and we found Seldom In was all that and more. We had a queen size bed with ensuite bathroom. All immaculately clean. The location is close to downtown and easy walking distance to a grocery store. There was off street parking which I appreciate.

We also had use of a lovely living room and kitchen (except for stovetop). We saved money by having breakfast and dinner in the kitchen. There was always coffee and tea available. The coffee was perfect too, nice and strong, something that I don't often find in my travels. There is a refrigerator for guest use.

There is a lovely chair in the living room that is surrounded by green plants and windows. I enjoyed relaxing in that chair and reading or catching up on my email.

Sherrill and Doug were as helpful as could be with information about the town and the park. Midoori and Iamme were also so welcoming and friendly. (I know I am probably spelling their names incorrectly and I apologize). The house has a lovely, relaxing, welcoming atmosphere.

If I could change anything, it would be to add a small table and chair to the room as I like a private place to sit and write sometimes.

For reference, we are a couple in our 50/60s. We travel frequently and I would describe myself as very picky about where we stay. I am happy to report that I was totally pleased with Seldom In.
Stayed June 2011.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quiltlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

I received a warm welcome on arrival. Sherrill and Doug are very considerate hosts who try their best to make you enjoy your stay in Jasper. Their first-hand knowledge of the area enables you to add that little special touch to your hiking experience and saves browsing aimlessly through the usual travel literature.

The first-floor bedroom I stayed in was large, super clean and offered a great view on the snowy peaks. Its size will be no obstacle to some additions in future: perhaps some sort of an armchair and a small table for books, maps, writing material and the modern traveler's electronic gadgetry. The cosy living-room is available to guests, but sometimes after a good day's hiking the need for company is not so prevalent and one just enjoys relaxing away from other guests.
The shared bathroom was as spick and span as the rest of the house. If offered all the amenities the spoilt traveller expects to find away from home. I was provided with an ample number of fine towels for the duration of my stay, a thing I often missed in other places those last years.
The well-appointed kitchen with its adjacent dining-area is open to guests at all times and even when Sherrill and Doug have a full house, it does not feel crowded. Anybody interested in self-catering will appreciate the large fridge guests have at their disposal on the first floor . Yet, it is a pity guests are not allowed to use the cooking range, a recurrent limitation in all guesthouses within the national parks apparently.

If I return to the Jasper area one day, I won't bother looking for an alternative to the Seldom In Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nordlysMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I can not say enough about Sherrill and Doug's wonderful guest house. From the moment we arrived the warm comfort of their home and the welcoming feeling experienced was like staying with old friends, they are truly great and gracious hosts. And want to know anything about the park? Just ask. Both are Park employees and provide a wealth of information that you can't get from a guidebook. I truly can recommend "Seldom In", five stars in my books. I shall return Sherrill and Doug and I will bring friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gooilersgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I have stayed at Seldom In Guest House twice already. The first time was with my mother and second time my younger sister. It was their first trips to the Rockies and the hospitality of Sherrill and Doug really made their time in Jasper a wonderful experience.

By comparsion, they were quite disappointed with our lodging choices in Banff/Lake Louise. Nothing wrong with those places, but they were a bit spoiled by the warmth and hospitality of Seldom In, that their expectations were very high afterwards.

The rooms are very clean, and house nicely decorated. Doug and Sherrill both works in the National Park and possess great knowledge of the area.

Highly recommended to travellers who do not like the commercial and sterile feeling of hotels and resorts.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juandpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tobias L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
997 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lobstick Lodge
Lobstick Lodge
#16 of 17 in Jasper
762 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seldom In Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seldom In Guest House

Address: 123 Geikie Street, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing