We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seldom In Guest House
Ranked #4 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We chose the Seldom In Guest House from reading Trip Advisor reviews and it lived up to the reviews. Sherrill is a welcoming and friendly host. She is incredabily knowledgable about the local area - we followed her advice for dinner and for hiking the next day. We had a double room on the first floor and we happily shared the common bathroom on the same floor. The shared guest fridge was a welcome and useful touch. We also had free run of the living room and kitchen where we cooked our own breakfast - which we were fine with (and is why this guest house has affordable prices). Would love to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

My friend and I just returned from our trip to the Rockies. We were so glad that we booked our stays in Jasper at Doug and Sherrill's. The house is immaculate. The beds are comfy. And most important of all, Doug and Sherrill are such lovely people. It is so obvious that they love the mountains and the parks and are proud to share their knowledge with us travelers. Sherrill would help us plan our days based on our interest. Depending on our experience and physical ability, she would suggest different activities. Because of their recommendations, we had the best time of our life there in Jasper. The views were breathtakingly beautiful and the hikes were challenging and rewarding. I would go back and stay at their place without missing a beat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilacTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

So glad we found accommodations at Seldom In Guest House! Added bonus to stay with two great people who know the park and surrounding area, and are such warm and welcoming hosts.
Thank you Doug and Sherrill.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a host!!! Doug and Sherrill will never let you feel that you are away from your home!!! Not for a moment!!! As part of the planning, I did some research online for B & B in Jasper and I came across all the excellent reviews on “Seldom in Guest House”. And that leads me to book that place for the Canada Day Long Weekend. What all the reviewers had said on the review page about the “Seldom in Guest House” are all true and crosses all my expectation. Moreover, Sherrill and Doug are experience forest ranger and they know all the trails and scenic places of Jasper. They are the two excellent guide for Jasper that we got as a bonus. We came late but Doug was there to welcome us and after settle down, he showed us where we should go and he help us made a plan for next two days. One of the attractions of this guest house is the indoor plants that Sherrill take care very passionately. The outdoor plants are great too, specially the lupine. The music skill of Doug will definitely charm anybody after the hectic day of sightseeing. There are two other individual we have come across in that guest house. They are Hisa and Nana, the Seldom In helpers. These two Japanese girls are just blended with the quality of the main host of the house. Besides keeping the house clean, they share candidly their experience of vast continental travel with us and we too were delighted to get a glimpse of the Japanese culture right at the heart of the Jasper. Regarding the facilities, the guest house got a nice clean kitchen with the entire necessary utensil available. The guest house provides hot coffee for free and we made our own food. The wash room provides enough clean towels as we have seen in any other big hotels. Bed rooms are nice and clean too. There was an extra big freeze in the up-stair where guests can store their food. The main shopping area of the Jasper town is 5 minutes’ walk from the guest house but astonishingly the area is very quiet. I will definitely stay in this guest house on my next visit to Jasper. Thank you Sherrill and Doug for being such a great host!!!!

Room Tip: Book your room well ahead or you will be disappointed as it seems like never get unoccupied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zahmed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Lovely home, very experienced hosts, great location within 1-2 blocks of town, clean comfortable accommodations PLUS first-rate guidance on activities to do in the area, a folkie sing-a-long with guests and friends on acoustic guitars, a bottle of red wine, great conversation, interesting people -- what more could you want?! They do not serve breakfast, but they do have coffee and tea available, a refrigerator for guests, and full use of the kitchen (except for the stove). Sherrill and Doug are terrific and we felt very fortunate to have had the opportunity to stay with them for 2 nights. We left wanting more!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsf23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Sherrill and Doug obviously enjoy the art of hosting and entertaining guests. Both are avid outdoors folks who know the area's recreational activities extremely well. My wife and I were able to get more than enough advice and map material. Doug and Sherrill also know the town extremely well, to the extent that we joined an impromptu jam session at the Whistle Stop Pub based on Doug's advice. We had a great time! The room was basic but clean and comfortable, as was the shared bathroom. Accommodation is not inexpensive in Jasper, so this was great value. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wandering_gnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We could not have found a better place to stay in Jasper !
Everything was perfect. Room clean and comfortable. This is our best B&B experience ever.
Hosts are very friendly and helpful. If you love hiking, go for it !
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winnipeg2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
991 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
896 reviews
1 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
745 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seldom In Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seldom In Guest House

Address: 123 Geikie Street, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing