We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Headquarters in Jasper”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seldom In Guest House
Ranked #4 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed two nights and had a shared bath. Facility is very clean; plantings around the house are spectacular; parking on the street is no problem; and Doug, the co-proprietor, was very knowledgeable and helpful when it came to picking out places and hikes in the area. Breakfast is not part of the deal, but there is an excellent bakery (Bear Paw) a couple of blocks away. We are probably at the stage where we should have an en suite room, but we knew what we were getting, and the stay at Seldom In was fine. In town and within walking distance of everything in Jasper, but the neighborhood still attracts wildlife - we followed and elk and her calf almost to the front door walking home one night. Hint: WiFi is available without a password from somewhere (?) outside the B&B but I wouldn't suggest doing more than checking email.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oxford1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of our Rockies roadtrip and from the minute we walked through the door, we were made to feel like this was our home. The owners, Sherrell and Doug are lovely and were more than happy to spend time with us to share their local knowledge about the things to see and do in the area which we really appreciated.

The location of the Gues House is perfect as it is under 5 minutes to walk to the main street of Jasper. There is plenty space for parking outside the house if you are driving as well which is ideal.

Our room was clean and comfortable, and we felt that we could come back to the house and relax at any time. We had a shared bathroom just down the hall which was fine as it was only shared with another room or two so there were no issues in waiting for it to be available.

I would highly recommend Seldom In to anyone looking for a comfortable and clean stay with a friendly welcome. This place was also excellent value and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravel10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed with Doug and Sherrill for four nights. They welcomed us into their home and shared their local knowledge with us to help us make the most of our time in beautiful Jasper. We are glad we met such friendly, helpful and welcoming people and were able to share some time and music with them. We would recommend staying at Seldom In.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for three nights here in June. It's a great base for exploring Jasper, and Doug and Sherrill are very good hosts. It was really useful to have their knowledge of the area and good advice to hand, and they were very welcoming and good company. The accommodation is very much part of their house, and there were a number of other guests staying when we were there. It can sometimes take a while to feel comfortable in that situation, but SI has a very homely feel, and we were given the run of the living areas and made to feel at home. There is a nice hostel-like feel over breakfast, with all nationalities down in the kitchen discussing their travels. Our room was spotless, as was the bathroom and we got two very good night's sleep! It's quite a warm house, in case you are a hot sleeper! We just chucked the window open and were thankful for the bug netting! The location of SI is also excellent - far enough from the main eating/shopping area to be nice and peaceful, but withing a short walk as well. Parking right outside was also easy. We would definitely come back again. Recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank randomguess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Seldom In was a fabulous home to stay in while in Jasper. Doug and Sherrill will do everything to make you feel welcome and have you enjoy their home. They were so helpful with luggage and they have a refrigerator just for guests. I really appreciated that as we had lots of food!!
Then because they are so knowledgeable about the area they told us exactly what to see on our day of touring. Every place we went to was a highlight!! We loved staying here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peonyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I had only 1 day in Jasper. The house was kept spotlessly clean and we could not have asked for more after a long day of driving. Sherill is such a friendly and knowledgeable host and spoke with such passion about Jasper that it just grew on us. She recommended 2 great trails in Old Fort Point and Maligne Canyon given the limited time that we had and we knew we didn't do justice by staying for just 1 night. Will definitely be back for more that Sherill and Jasper has to offer.

Chin & Chun from Singapore

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinJianHau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Seldom In Guest House in January and it was wonderful! Sherrill did absolutely everything (and more!) to make us feel right at home - she even baked my boyfriend a birthday cake! Accomodations were cozy and clean - the entire house is welcoming. We will without a doubt be coming back here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaireeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#7 of 17 in Jasper
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seldom In Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seldom In Guest House

Address: 123 Geikie Street, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing