We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Bungalows
GreenLeadersGold level
enfield, CT
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2007

My husband and I loved Pine Bungalows. I agree that the term "modern" is not applicable. It's very quaint, I guess you could call it "retro". We stayed in Cabin 21, riverfront, which was a short walk to the river. You could hear the rutting elk across the river at night. We were there in mid September.... the pilot light had to be lit by staff and the refrigerator was defrosting upon our arrival. The staff was cooperative and friendly, albeit very busy in the office. The heater was noisy, but so is the one in my house. The fireplace was a nice change from watching t.v. We enjoyed the rustic feel of the place ...a step back in time. There always seemed to be one or two elk grazing on the grounds. Definitely would recommend (unless you're used to upscale hotels/motels--you wouldn't like it) We enjoyed the town of Jasper--rather funky- more laid back than Banff.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank jananddaveenfield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    148
    48
    26
    25
See reviews for
103
179
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2007

Our 3 night stay at Pine Bungalows felt a little like a family vacation in the '60's...in a good way.

The bungalow's decor is a little outdated but they are clean and our bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in (including my own).

We took advantage of the kitchenette and cooked most of our meals at the cabin.

If you can, stay in one of cabins 1-8 which have a great view of the river, a big yard and a little more privacy. That said, we walked around the site and all of the cabins looked nice and were a stones throw from the river.

I saw a few reviews complaining about the staff. We met a number of staff during our stay, from the front desk to the cleaning crew, and they were all very friendly and helpful.

We had our 10 month old baby with us. During one of our nights there she screamed for two hours. We apologized profusely to our neighbours in the morning but they said they hadn't heard a thing.

The location is excellent. It is a 3 minute drive into Jasper and the road to Maligne Canyon, Maligne Lake is just a hop, skip and jump away.

The grounds are amazing and you won't tire of sitting and watching the Athabasca River flow by framed by the stunning mountains behind. We saw a herd of elk lounging near our cabin and there are some very nice walking trails along the river.

There are no TV's or phones which may concern some. But, we were so busy seeing all the nearby sites that we wouldn't have had time to watch TV if we had wanted to.

Pine Bungalows has received a number of awards for its environmentally friendly approach to tourism and for the price it is difficult to ask for more then what you get.

We found it the perfect place to spend 3 nights in Jasper and we would happily return.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearcat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANVEY ISLAND, ESSEX, U.K
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2007

No TV, no telephones - a real back to nature experience, but without roughing it.
The owner, Michal, decided about 10 years ago to stop mowing the grass around the bungalows and let the site "get back to nature". This certainly works, the elk and other wild animals keep the grass short.. During our stay there we saw numerous Elk and 2 bears. All this on the banks of the beautiful Athabasca river.
We originally booked 3 nights at Pine Bungalow before flying to Canada.We were touring around Canada with a rough idea as to where we wanted to go, however these plans were completely changed when Pine Bungalows said we could go back there the following weekend. That is a measure of how much we like the place, the service and the fantastic surroundings.
We will certainly be returning.

  • Liked — the fantasic location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank babarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2007

Don't waste your time or money on Pine Bungalows. It was recommended in our well-known travel guide, but things have certainly gone downhill.

We went to Pine Bungalows with a week-long reservation. We were looking forward to a nice escape to peace and quiet along the Athabasca River. We wanted to hike and spot wildlife by day and relax by the woodburning fire by night. No TV, no radio, a rustic cabin in the woods....sounded ideal.

As experienced backpackers, hikers, and cabin-dwellers, we know what to expect from certain accommodations. However, this place is overrated and very poorly maintained. At $150/ night, we were promised a basic but cozy cabin by the river. What we got was a run-down shack with dirty, damaged laminate floors. The cabin was so far removed from the river that we couldn't see it or hear it. The bed linens and towels were unclean, and there was a sign above the sink reading "$5 charge for all unwashed dishes." So, we're hoping the previous guest did a nice job cleaning the plates.

The room was full of mosquitos due to the 2" gap in the front door, and the dank smell was overwhelming.

When we expressed our concerns with management, we did not get an apology. We let them know we would not stay as the accommodations were unacceptable. We provided my cell phone number for contact information for any questions. No one attempted to call us on that number. The individual working the front desk refunded my husband's credit card. 6 weeks later, a charge on my credit card appeared for the night we cancelled. (I had provided my number when we made the reservation 4 months earlier.)

In addition to the poor property management, their business practices should be examined.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Poor business practices.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Geigerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2007

The collection of wooden bungalows amonst the Pine Trees next to the river is so 'next to nature'. A good sized room with heating and fridge. Very peacful and best if you like spotting the wildlife around you. Only minutes from the heart of Jasper town and it's shops & restaurants.

Mornring walk discovered a herd of Elk on the river bank opposite. Squirrals playing up and down the trees and plenty of birds from Kingfishers to Nuthatches.

A really good base for lots of activities and sightseeing.

Will definately go back.

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — A little grubby
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Monwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2007

For the past 40 years, my family had been journeying to the mountains and stayed at the little log cabins next to the river. With a planned family visit from England, we booked two cabins for 6 nights. We were hoping to enjoy the great outdoors and the facilities. My husband and I were both very upset to find that the room service in Pine Bugalows has deteriorated to drastically low levels. Our bathroom sink and tub was never cleaned in the 6 days we were there. We had to ask repeatedly for clean towels, toilet paper and coffee/tea for the coffee maker. Although the 'quiet time' had been posted for 10 pm, guests in one cabin were allowed to laugh and talk loudly until the wee hours of the morning. Then the next night, as our family gathered around the barbeque to cook a meal, we were approached by an individual who did not introduce himself and began warning us about the fireban which was to take affect the next day after we had been warned by a member of the Pine Bungalows staff that we could cook our meal then put the fire out. This individual also blamed the loud, boisterous talking the previous night on us when we were in our beds trying to sleep! We later found out from the Park Warden that that person was the owner. I am sad to say that after more than 30 years, I will never be returning to Pine Bungalows again. I would not recommend staying at Pine Bungalows if you are there to enjoy yourself.

  • Liked — Wildlife that roams nearby.
  • Disliked — Managment's rudeness
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2007

We have stayed at the pine bungalows for a week each year for the past 5 summers, and it has been amazing each time. The service is incredible from booking to check out. The cabins are beautiful. We have 2 small children so we typically stay in the old style 2 bedroom. They are beautiful cabins set in the pine forest. No TVs just pure nature. Always clean and quiet. The cabins are along the Athabasca river with a nice walking trail along the river.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuckiesaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
119.4 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
119.6 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
120.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
119.0 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#7 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
119.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
119.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bungalows

Property: Pine Bungalows
Address: 2 Cottonwood Creek Road | PO Box 7, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Pine Bungalows 1*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Bungalows provides a peaceful setting where you can unplug and unwind with excellent wildlife viewing opportunities. Choose a self-contained cabin or bungalow for 2, 4 and 6 people on 11 acres of naturally landscaped property situated on the banks of the Athabasca River just 2 km outside the Town of Jasper. We are reasonably priced and family-friendly with discounts for Seniors. Low season rates are available as well as Accessibility Units. We offer rustic yet modernized bungalows with kitchens and fireplaces. We also boast Jasper's newest Conference Centre. It features 25 Guest Rooms with air conditioning, Wifi and outside deck suitable for 2 persons. On the main floor we have a spacious dining area with a 50-seat capacity along with a well-equipped self-catering kitchen available to private groups. We also have the Lazy Bear Lounge and meeting room on the lower level. Enjoy a simpler life where YOU set the pace. Relax and experience an authentic cabin in the mountains. Connect with Nature and your loved ones at your own campfire under our own Dark Sky. No restaurant on-site. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pine Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Bungalow Cabins Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing