We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking”
Review of Pine Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Bungalows
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Had a last minute change of plan and made our way to Jasper from Banff. I telephoned through and made a reservation for 4 nights. Rooms were spacious and clean, good location.
Stayed here with wife and young son (was 1 at the time) they provided a crib. Had friends staying with us in a van, outside the cabin!.
Went out after dark for a wander around the grounds, and there was a bear hanging about!
Would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unknownis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

Pine Bungalows was exactly what we were looking for to begin our holiday in the Rockies. Winding down from work in the city was easy at the riverside cabin we booked for a three night stay. No phones, no television, no traffic or sirens....perfect place to decompress.
The staff were very good and aside from a minor housekeeping issue (resolved immediately) the cabin itself was better than expected with plenty of room for two.
The short distance from "downtown" Jasper meant using our feet instead of our car. Views from the riverside were excellent and the wildlife roaming through the property were an added bonus and a much welcome change from hotels in town.
I think that we can safely say that this will be a destination for us again as we travel to the Rockies every summer.
Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nuckfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We arrived at Pine Bungalow Cabins at the very beginning of a long week-end, when nearly all others accommodations in Jasper appeared to be already fully booked. Luckily for us, we found a room here! Check in was professionally handled by two very kind men: one took our luggage to be kept in a separated storage since our room would not have been ready until afternoon, while the other gave a call to Maligne Lake cruises to check their availabilities. Brilliant! When we finally took possession of our motel room, we found it very large, clean, no frills but very nice and welcoming, a perfect place to rest after exploring the Rockies! Location is wonderful, just outside but close to Jasper, near the Athabasca River where you'll have plenty of opportunities to observe wildlife: during our stay, for example, we saw a wonderful group of wapiti. Last but not least, thumbs up for the environmental commitment of the entire staff!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldcitizen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We had initially tried to book a B&B in Jasper; they were full, but recommended that we try Pine Bungalows. We stayed in a cabin for 2 (cabin #10) in late September. We were quite sorry that we had only time for one night here, as we would have gladly spent a few more nights unwinding in the beauty of the area.

The cabin had an amazing view out the front window over the river, and the wood-burning fireplace provided an extra level of coziness. We bought a bag of firewood from reception, which would have provided a few day's worth of fires.

The staff was friendly and attentive. When we found the pilot light in our room's heater was off, someone was around quickly to apologize and light it. This late in the season, there weren't too many people staying at the site, and we were told that many cabins would be shutting down the next day for renovations - so I don't know how accurate my pre-renovation-review will be.

There's no real walking trail into town, but it's a short drive and the grocery store and beer/wine store in Jasper were great and inexpensive resources for supper. There's an outdoor BBQ and seating at the cabins, but it was raining when we arrived, so didn't have a chance to try these out.

We couldn't hear any highway noise from where we were staying, though we were woken up a few times by the calls for the elk, as our visit was during rutting season.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaybee751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

No television, no phone, no cell service, no wi-fi makes for a perfect night in the woods!
We only spent one night at Pine Bungalows on Sept. 21. Although it was a short stay (we had to drive back to Calgary the next day) it was wonderful. The location of the property is just a short drive outside of Jasper village. Our cabin, cabin 39 - a superior chalet, was excellent. Although it's no heck to look at from the outside (quaint) the inside is wonderful and rustic. All of the walls are beautiful wood, king sized bed, two luxury bath robes waiting for us, small fridge, coffee maker etc. The cabin was clean and the bed was really comfortable.
The bathroom is outdated and needs some work, but it was clean and that's the main thing.
As I mentioned earlier, there is no television, internet or phone in the cabins but we didn't mind a bit. Having a night away from all of the technology we use everyday was great. There is internet available at the one computer in the main building which guests are welcome to use.
The man at the front desk, who I believe is the owner, is very friendly and hospitable and was great to chat with.
The only complaint is that the cabins are quite close together. We had a corner cabin so we could keep the curtains open on that side of cabin with no neighbours, but on the other side where we had neighbours we kept the curtains closed. We have never stayed in a cabin before so maybe this is normal for cabin rentals? Overall the property is gorgeous, the cabins are clean, well decorated and comfortable, and the service was great. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a corner cabinet so you have fewer neighbours. We had cabin 39, a corner cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel07Peterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We loved our stay at Pine Bungalow Cabins and hope to make it back someday. Our stay was never intended in the first place, but it was the best possible consequence of unplanned circumstances. While in Jasper for three days during a Canadian Rockies trip, we had originally planned to stay at the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. When that turned out to be a complete and utter disappointment, we scrambled to come up with Plan B. Fortunately, Pine Bungalows had availability for us and we were pleasantly surprised.

Our cozy little cabin had a kitchen, fireplace, outdoor grill, and the scenic Athabasca River was steps from our front door. The bathroom was small but clean and had no shortage of hot water. The kitchen was stocked with all the dishes and utensils we needed. The cabin was warm and comfortable for sleeping. Outside the cottage, we had our own charcoal grill and picnic table. We visited Robinsons grocery store downtown to get our food and it was fun to be able to cook in our own cabin and grill steaks outside. As an added bonus, it was also more cost effective than eating at some of the overpriced Jasper restaurants.

The location is convenient for going into town or driving to nearby hiking locations or sightseeing. It was also nice to be out of the downtown area where it was a quieter, more peaceful setting, and had a beautiful view of the Athabasca River.

I would recommend Pine Bungalow Cabins to anyone staying in the Jasper area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank viajerosivda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Accomodation was suggesed by frieds in Holland. Main reason being the possibility to see wild life which indeed is the case. When we entered the park also some elks entered. During the three days we saw them more often. Our cabin (40) was okay and clean. The ony reark we could make is that the heating both water and air needs mainteance.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BushBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
3.2 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
637 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lobstick Lodge
Lobstick Lodge
#16 of 17 in Jasper
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bungalows

Address: 2 Cottonwood Creek Road | PO Box 7, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Price Range: £73 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pine Bungalows 1*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Bungalows provides a peaceful setting where you can unplug and unwind with excellent wildlife viewing opportunities. Choose a self-contained cabin or bungalow for 2, 4 and 6 people on 11 acres of naturally landscaped property situated on the banks of the Athabasca River just 2 km outside the Town of Jasper. We are reasonably priced and family-friendly with discounts for Seniors. Low season rates are available as well as Accessibility Units. We offer rustic yet modernized bungalows with kitchens and fireplaces. We also boast Jasper's newest Conference Centre. It features 25 Guest Rooms with air conditioning, Wifi and outside deck suitable for 2 persons. On the main floor we have a spacious dining area with a 50-seat capacity along with a well-equipped self-catering kitchen available to private groups. We also have the Lazy Bear Lounge and meeting room on the lower level. Enjoy a simpler life where YOU set the pace. Relax and experience an authentic cabin in the mountains. Connect with Nature and your loved ones at your own campfire under our own Dark Sky. No restaurant on-site. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pine Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Bungalow Cabins Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing