We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the river, no internet!”
Review of Pine Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Bungalows
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“On the river, no internet!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just a great escape to the nature, not being miles and miles into the wildness, close enough to the city and far enough to be on the river shore to enjoy the silence. New constructed cabins offer a lot of the comfort minus TV and internet what we would like to have an break from for a few days. Outdoor wood burning BBQ - just complete the good times.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HariSeldon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    148
    48
    26
    25
See reviews for
103
179
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Booked 5 nights at Pine Bungalows based on Trip Advisor ratings and the reasonable cost in a very expensive area. We were very happy with our choice. Located adjacent to the Athabaska River, the cabin was clean and equipped with a reasonable amount of cooking utensils. The view of Mount Edith Cavell out the front door was spectacular. We were only a five minute drive from downtown Jasper, but it felt like the cottage was located deep in the wilderness. Most of the attractions and best hikes were all within an hour's drive - including Mount Robson Provincial Park in BC. The cabins do not include TV, telephone or internet so you are forced to take a break from the technology and focus more on the spectacular scenery. The one negative was the lack of a propane BBQ. Each cottage is equipped with a steel box BBQ for charcoal - so you have to allow sufficient preparation time in the meal planning process.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin adjacent to the river. Most of them have great views of Mount Edith Cavell,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schelle, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We arrived at Jasper without any hotel reseverations, and the cheapest room that was offered to us was over 200$. However, at the Pine Bungalows we could get a Bungalow for 160$, so we decided to go for it.
And for us, it was super. We did get the hotel service we want (towel service, the bed was made, and the cabin was cleaned), and we don't bother about missing wifi or missing TV. In stead, I got a fireplace, which we used the 2 nights we were here because it creates a nice atmosphere.
The cabins are not luxurious, but the contain everything that is needed. The bathroom is small, but 'fully functional'
We were to late in the year to enjoy outside BBQ, but I can imagine the fun of that in the high season. The view on the river is super, and the location of the site is indeed only 5 minutes (by car) to the town center.
I think this is a worthy alternative for a hotel room (if you are a little bit adventurous)

Room Tip: try to get a cabin overlooking the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our group of 18 quilters had a fabulous 3 day retreat. Majority of group stayed in the tidy conference center rooms, others shared in cabin. Our cook (hired for the weekend) found everything she needed to prepare all of her exceptional meals. Management was quick to setup the room to meet our quilters needs. We will be back the first weekend of Oct 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyStrawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at Pine Bungalows for a stress relief weekend away from the city on an early Fall weekend.

Price was at the low end of cabins in Jasper. When we reserved, we asked for and received a $10/night discount for seniors even though this does not show up in their price schedule.
Reservations over the phone were quite efficiently and correctly handled. Received a confirming e-mail promptly.

Check-In was smooth, very pleasant young lady at the front counter.

Location is quite good ... certainly the closest to town of the on-the-river cabins around Jasper. You could walk to downtown Jasper in maybe 20 minutes. There are nice walks by the river virtually right outside your front door.

The "River Front" cabin is quite cozy for a couple. Not sure how, or if, you would fit any more people in there, maybe an infant in a crib.
Like the web site says, some of the cabins are pretty "historic", and the River Front are among the oldest. No way they would be habitable in the winter, which squares with their season only running May through September.
Fireplace is a nice touch. Yes, they do charge for firewood in nice little pre-packaged bags but one bag at $5 was enough for two nights.
Bed was OK, extra pillow was supplied promptly.
Cleanliness passed the dust-bunny check.

Noise was virtually non existent. Yes you can hear the highway and the railway but those quieten down in the night.

Bathroom is pretty tiny although it does have a full tub (hooray). Mobility challenged warning ... if you have mobility issues you will not be able to use the toilet which is wedged in away too close to the wall and the bathtub. Good to see that toilet is low flush, especially in view of the proprietor's "Sustainable Tourism" promotion. Other bathroom fixtures were in reasonably good working order; water tap / shower valve was a little funky.

Kitchenette was quite well equipped: bar fridge, coffee maker, toaster and a full 4 burner electric stove with a full oven. No microwave though. Nice to see decaf' coffee supplied with the coffee maker.

Amenities ... as their web site would lead you to conclude, there aren't many!
No TV, no phone in the room (there are a couple of pay phones on the site), no clock radio.
They do have Wi-Fi Internet access but it is very rudimentary: available only in or near the two main "lodge type" buildings, very slow, did not work fully for our e-mail program.

Check-Out was a non issue, bill was up to date.

Room Tip: "River Front Bungalows" are quite small (quite nice for a couple). The lower numbered one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank energizer0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

What a simple, restful cabin to recharge after a day outdoors. We made our breakfast (well . . . Bear's Paw bakery did) every morning and packed a lunch (which was easy and economical to do with our little kitchen) before heading out each day. Then 'home' to cabin 8 for a well-earned glass of wine for me and beer for my mister as we strolled next to the river. Prepped the fireplace, had dinner in town, and then hurried back to our little cabin to sit by the river at sunset before enjoying a cozy fire while sharing about the day's adventures. We've stayed at plenty of hotels in our travels, camped, and done bed & breakfasts. This is one of the best for budget, location, simplicity and peacefulness.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPARKLE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We recently spent 3 nights in a rustic cabin (number 3)facing the river. This place is very close to the busy downtown area and gave us a quiet place to rest between activities. The setting is very attractive with lots of trees and the beautiful river right in front of the cabin. There are very nice benches placed at intervals along the river trail. We enjoyed watching elk, in the early morning, on the opposite shore. Soon they swam to an island nearby and finally they made their way to the shore at the cabins. We watched 6 female elk cross followed by a huge bull elk. Our cabin suited all our needs, although it is rather old and not at all fancy. The bathroom is crowded but the water pressure in the shower was outstanding especially for rinsing hair. The kitchen could probably use a few more pans and utensils but we made do with what was there. It was fun to take our morning tea to the bench along the river. The mattresses have some age on them but we slept fairly well. All in all, we loved our stay here. Check in was easy and the clerk was pleasant and answered all my questions. We loved being away from the town and all the busyness. The rates were some of the lowest I was quoted for Jasper so I felt we got quite a deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin from #1 to about #6 for added privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maptrotter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
119.4 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
119.6 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
120.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
119.0 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
119.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
119.6 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bungalows

Property: Pine Bungalows
Address: 2 Cottonwood Creek Road | PO Box 7, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Pine Bungalows 1*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Bungalows provides a peaceful setting where you can unplug and unwind with excellent wildlife viewing opportunities. Choose a self-contained cabin or bungalow for 2, 4 and 6 people on 11 acres of naturally landscaped property situated on the banks of the Athabasca River just 2 km outside the Town of Jasper. We are reasonably priced and family-friendly with discounts for Seniors. Low season rates are available as well as Accessibility Units. We offer rustic yet modernized bungalows with kitchens and fireplaces. We also boast Jasper's newest Conference Centre. It features 25 Guest Rooms with air conditioning, Wifi and outside deck suitable for 2 persons. On the main floor we have a spacious dining area with a 50-seat capacity along with a well-equipped self-catering kitchen available to private groups. We also have the Lazy Bear Lounge and meeting room on the lower level. Enjoy a simpler life where YOU set the pace. Relax and experience an authentic cabin in the mountains. Connect with Nature and your loved ones at your own campfire under our own Dark Sky. No restaurant on-site. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pine Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Bungalow Cabins Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing