We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs attention”
Review of Pine Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Bungalows
GreenLeadersGold level
Inverell, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Needs attention”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The cabin and park were in a great location, quiet and relaxing with very little noise. For $250 a night for a very basic two bedroom cabin I would expect clean bedding and towels. The towels were more grey then white and the bedspreads and blankets were dirty. Blankets had hair on them and the sheets were thin, torn and too small for beds. You also had to buy wood for the BBQ. Area around cabins needed mowing. It is a shame because this place has so much potential!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank meeg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    157
    54
    26
    28
See reviews for
113
194
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Recently spent the weekend in a riverfront cottage with my husband and was quite impressed. Based on the price tag (only $140 a night), I wasn't expecting much, but it was an adorable little place! It was clean too...found a spider at night which kinda freaked me out but I was kinda expecting that anyway. The place had a small kitchenette and a full bath. but the view was what blew us away. Looking forward to going back there...for longer this time!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMohib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a river front cabin. Setting is perfect, by the Athabasca river very close to Jasper townsite but far enough away to appreciate the quiteness of the mountains.Cabins have everything you could need,clean and bed comfortable. Wake up in the morning and look out over the river to the surrounding mountains, take an early evening peaceful stroll along the river. We had an Elk and calf one evening on the small island in the river and several Elk around the property when driving back to the cabin after a day exploring the sights of Jasper National Park. Some of the surrounding areas had closed trails as it was Elk calving season but this wasn't really a problem. No TV or Internet, who needs them when you are in a place like Jasper National Park.
Not our first visit to Jasper but the first time we have not stayed in a hotel. We would not book a hotel again, these cabins are perfect for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank United21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

As a close group of friends (couples), we try to have at least one weekend outing to Jasper in the summer and choose the riverfront facing bungalows at Pine Bungalows. Each has enough space for two with a functional kitchen (basics supplied: dishes, pots/pans, cutlery), wood burning fireplace, propane heater unit, washroom with tub/shower (toilet) and plenty of hot water. The cabins are in the trees, each with fireplaces for BBQ'g or for friendly get togethers among couples. Wood is available for sale at the office and ice is not far away in the onsite laundrymat (each cabin has a fridge & stove too).
There is daily house-keeping offered with fresh towels.
It is located a short drive or bike ride to the townsite for shopping or to the Jasper Park Lodge /Golf Course as well as well located in the Park to use as a base for hiking sorties.
We always choose the rustic bungalows with views of the river and the mountains in the distance although there are several new bungalows with more space, multiple bedrooms, etc. as well as the Conference centre with hotel-type rooms (I haven't stayed there).
This is truly a place with accomodations for all and friendly staff to insure you have a great experience.

Room Tip: Decide if you are looking for a rustic, cabin experience or need all the modern creature comforts wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We've just arrived back home after a weekend in Jasper and our first stay in Pine Bungalows. I can say confidently that we will never stay anywhere else in Jasper and that this place has ruined any future hotel room stay for us!
The cabins are charming and rustic, but offered far more than I expected from the research I had done ahead of time.
Laminate floors, comfy bed, more lights than are necessary. Tiny kitchen, perfect for two. And all the basic kitchenware you would need. Even a broom behind the door to sweep up the pine needles that like to make their way inside. The fireplace is pretty and we were swept up in the scent of campfire and wood once we walked inside!
You want hot water? You got it here! It takes a minute to get there but once it's there, it's very hot and not in shortage. The décor is charming. We had a sweet picture of two bear cubs climbing a tree in our unit, and the couch offered a perfect place to sit and watch out the window as the elk munched on the grass in the morning.
The staff come in to take towels you would like replaced and empty garbages and recycle bins.
Literally 15 steps out the door you are on the bank of the Athabasca River and standing tall in the distance is Mt Edith Cavell.
You are literally a 3 minute drive from the town of Jasper but you would never know it once you are tucked away in your little cabin.
We were thrilled to have a picnic table and a little steel-box bbq to use, and we enjoyed watched the squirrels running around and collecting pinecones. The elk grazing by the office was just a bonus.
We didn't even miss not having a tv. We actually had to talk to each other! :) This may not be a luxury 4-star hotel, but it was a 5-star experience!
The owner, Michal is charming and friendly and all of his staff follow in his footsteps.
We loved it and didn't want to leave when it was time to go.
We will definitely be back...cannot wait!
Thank you Pine Bungalows! I just can't say it enough!

Room Tip: Riverfront rooms offer best views, but even second row back and you are "right there."...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed in 2006 and 2013, in the river front cabins. This facility suits travellers happy with basic accommodation in a beautiful setting. Whilst accommodation is very basic the pay off is the natural environment and wildlife. Watching the elk cross the river and move through the park is a highlight.
The river front cabins suit couples without children. The bathrooms present a challenge for people with restricted mobility (e.g. difficulty lifting a leg over the shower hob) and cannot be recommend for persons in wheelchairs (both bathroom and cabin maneuverability are restricted). Access to the park requires a car although fit people can easily walk to town (just have to dodge the elk).
I have read the negative comments and have not had the same experience although cabin cleanliness is an area they could improve. The river front cabins are about 20 metres from the bank, which is steep and high in places, but the views are excellent (see picture). The price is slightly high given the cabin facilities.
overall recommended as long as you are happy with 1 to 2 star accommodation as a trade off for environment and can stay in a river front cabin

Room Tip: For maximum experience choose a river front cabin, otherwise stay in town
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neverchecked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just a great escape to the nature, not being miles and miles into the wildness, close enough to the city and far enough to be on the river shore to enjoy the silence. New constructed cabins offer a lot of the comfort minus TV and internet what we would like to have an break from for a few days. Outdoor wood burning BBQ - just complete the good times.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HariSeldon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.7 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
398 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,040 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bungalows

Property: Pine Bungalows
Address: 2 Cottonwood Creek Road | PO Box 7, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Pine Bungalows 1*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Bungalows provides a peaceful setting where you can unplug and unwind with excellent wildlife viewing opportunities. Choose a self-contained cabin or bungalow for 2, 4 and 6 people on 11 acres of naturally landscaped property situated on the banks of the Athabasca River just 2 km outside the Town of Jasper. We are reasonably priced and family-friendly with discounts for Seniors. Low season rates are available as well as Accessibility Units. We offer rustic yet modernized bungalows with kitchens and fireplaces. We also boast Jasper's newest Conference Centre. It features 25 Guest Rooms with air conditioning, Wifi and outside deck suitable for 2 persons. On the main floor we have a spacious dining area with a 50-seat capacity along with a well-equipped self-catering kitchen available to private groups. We also have the Lazy Bear Lounge and meeting room on the lower level. Enjoy a simpler life where YOU set the pace. Relax and experience an authentic cabin in the mountains. Connect with Nature and your loved ones at your own campfire under our own Dark Sky. No restaurant on-site. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pine Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Bungalow Cabins Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing