We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast in Bed”
Review of B&B on Balsam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B on Balsam
Ranked #22 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This was the first bed and breakfast we stayed at on our travels and after this stayed at another 2 because the experience was that good. There are 2 bedrooms upstairs that share a bathroom but as we were the only ones there at the time we didn't need to share. We received breakfast in bed every morning how often can you say that? Lori was fantastic and helped with any travelling advice she could in regards to what is nice and where to look for potential bears (unfortunately a little out of season for us). The location is perfect you don't have to drive to town at all as its only 3 blocks away, which was great when going for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingPiglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

My wife and I stayed for three days in this very comfortable B & B. There are two rooms available, one with a queen bed and one with two twins. The rooms share a bathroom, but there was nobody in the other room when we checked in, so we had the whole place to ourselves. As others have said here the rooms are quite clean and comfortable and we slept like babies on the bed. It was rainy one afternoon and we spent the afternoon lazing around, reading, watching TV and taking naps. Very mellow. Lori and her husband, Dan, are really nice and they will help you with anything you need.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nils62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

It's definitely a very nice place for travelers to rest. I really appreciate the room offered very much. It is very neat and I can see how considerate the host is as there are a lot of things in the room for travelers to use. It is also very convenient as well. There is a grocery store nearby and it is very close to the shops as well. The host is very friendly as well. When I encounter different questions, the host is more than happy to offer her help. I hope I can visit this place again in near future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichie_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

The B & B was wonderful, it was close to everything and a short walk away from the train station. The room was cozy and suited me perfectly. Lori was a great hosts and included some yummy extras like hot chocolate, treats and mints on the belows. I booked the queen bed room, great bed and it was nice having a robe in the room for the shared bathroom. I didn't spend much time there as I was out exploring but it was nice to come back there after an exhausting day.

I would stay there again if there was room. Great place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This B&B is ideally located in the heart of Jasper; it’s just a few minutes (easy) walk from the Greyhound Station and VIA Rail train station. Far enough away to be away from any noise, but close enough to be accessible. There are many easy, beautiful hiking trails which are easily accessible from this B&B.

Personally, I found the B&B to be a home from home – modern, clean and kept warm. The room provided wasn’t very large – but it was more than spacious enough I found – personally I use rooms as a base camp and a place to sleep more than anything else.

The mattress and bedding was very comfortable, the shower a dream.
The owners were friendly.

Don’t get me wrong – this isn’t the Ritz, but it is an excellent choice of B&B at an affordable price

Room Tip: They have a "double" and "twin" room - request what you'd prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DannyOffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in September as a great base to do some walking in Jasper National Park.

Lori and family were lovely hosts providing a great room and tasty breakfast.

The room was clean and was big enough for us to spend some time in relaxing after a day walking before going for dinner - contrary to some rather cramped rooms we experienced.

Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H_UK37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and got to Jasper pretty lake due to amazing scenes is on the way from Edmonton.

Lori was our host and she was really friendly and helped us with our luggage up the set of stairs and lent us cutleries for our stay.

The room was spotless and so very homely with cute and charming designs. The bathroom was shared but it was very clean and the power shower was great. They have a great little front patio which you can sit and enjoy, but we had so many things to do in 2 days that we didn't get to use it.

The location is amazing and so close to everything, Lori provides the option with or without breakfast, we chose the latter and she recommended a bakery just 5 minutes walk away off the main street, the bakery-Bears Paw has great sandwiches and cakes, we went there both days and loved all the different bakery products they had. Chocolate and Raspberyy scone and red velvet cake was top Of our list.

Jasper itself is so beautiful with so many things and activities to do, it's quieter than Banff, which we like as we prefer less touristy areas. We went to Maligne lake near sunset and it was almost deserted and had a picnic watching the sunset!

Overall we loved our stay with Lori who was a superb and kind host, we would not hesitate to stay there again and recommend it to others who want to stay.

Oh and the price is very very good in the Jasper and Banff area!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kungfusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
711 Miette Ave
711 Miette Ave
#20 of 57 in Jasper
15 reviews
0.5 mi away
All Seasons Accommodations
0.8 mi away
Celtic Haven
Celtic Haven
#11 of 57 in Jasper
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B on Balsam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B on Balsam

Address: 311 Balsam Ave, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range: £29 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely 2nd storey renovated rooms with private entrance, private outside patio and gorgeous mountain views! Located on a very quiet street only 2 blocks to downtown. Park the car in front of our house and its 5 minute walk to everything Jasper has to offer! Queen bed in one room and 1 Double pullout sofa bed in the sitting room. The sitting room has a table with chairs, fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, dishes & utensils, and coffee/tea/hot chocolate. Large private bathroom with shower. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing