We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price, very friendly”
Review of Calla's Palace

Calla's Palace
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Calla's Palace
Ranked #52 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value for the price, very friendly”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed here with my sister in February 2013. I've read the other reviews, and I didn't have as bad of an experience as the others. There was no one else staying in the house at the time, so sharing a bathroom with just my sister really wasn't a problem. Louise was friendly and accommodating. I took no issue in the breakfast, as most B&Bs don't even offer breakfast anymore. I would not recommend this place for a couple, or someone looking for a high end B&B experience, but it definitely served its purpose for us which was comfort, friendliness and a place to sleep. The price was also very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malaya567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise H, Owner at Calla's Palace, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Wish we had checked the reviews of Calla's Palace before committing to come. We agree with the other reports, and in addition, there were two very large dogs in the back yard. The dogs were digging up all of the back yard, with many, many holes. The dogs started pacing on the deck and pawing at the windows early in the morning.
The room was very dirty and dusty, and the bedding did not feel clean. Most of the light bulbs were burned out, and we left feeling as though we had been ripped off. The owner wasn't there when we tried to check in and her note indicated that she wouldn't be home until 11p.m. Fortunately, we spoke to someone at the tourist information who knew the owner, and offered to call her. We shared the bathroom with all the other guests. The breakfast was instant coffee, stale bread and little boxes of cereal. The only thing we got on the television was a snowy picture on one channel. We could write our names in the dust on the TV screen. There is more, but avoid staying at this place at all cost.

Room Tip: Read the reviews before you book the room. Don't stay at Calla's Palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Harster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Sudbury, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Although we had booked a 2-day stay, we left after 1 night. Calla's Palace was a terrible experience. No one was there to greet us: a note was left on the door. Inside, we found a messy kitchen and a cluttered and untidy home (inside and outside). Our room had dust bunnies everywhere and we had to produce our own breakfast in our room with only a bag of sliced bread, some jam and a toaster. Since all electrical units were plugged in the same wall, the electricity breaker went off and we lost all electricity. Since the owner of the B & B was not around, we could not resolve this problem. During our stay, we heard the owner early in the morning, but never got to see her when we getting ready to leave. In our view, Calla's Palace is not a Bed and Breakfast - but rather a hostel, a place where you can rent a room. This place is to be avoided.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I could not wait to move on from this place. Our first missgivings were when we saw our cluttered bedroom on the first floor. Most of the room is taken up by two beds and a table, together with a huge old dressing table that seemed to be just stored there. To top this off, there was a nest of power cables and double adapters taking up much of the table. The dissatisfaction increased when we discoved that the TV could recieve only two very distorted channels via the internal antenna.
The icing on the cake was that fact that to access the only bathroom in the house, we had to go down the stairs, and across the lounge. This bathroom (with no lock!) can be shared by up to eight people in the house. Can you imagine having to go to the toilet with complete strangers eating breakfast about 3 feet from the door!!
Louise is quite friendly, but rarely seen, and unlike most other B&B hosts, seemed completely disinterested in where we had been, or what plans we had in Jasper.
This place is not set up as a 'real' B&B - more like a "use my house while I'm out, and your very basic continental breakfast is in the fridge".
At the price charged (plus a $12.50 booking fee), I'm sure there are much better accommodation options available in Jasper.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jandmedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forcalquier, France
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Considering the prices of Jasper accommodation, we thought we'd struck a real bargain... ($100/night for 2 adults & 1 child). We were told not to arrive before 5 pm. However, when we got there, there was a note on the front door inviting us to let ourselves in. Our bedroom was on the first floor. No space for luggage. Breakfast was toast and coffee/tea/hot chocolate provided in the little fridge and kettle within the room. The bathroom was downstairs and not lockable. Didn't figure out how the shower worked and couldn't ask the owner as she didn't show up until 11pm that day and left at 7am the following morning, not forgetting to pop back though to collect her money before we left. The house is in a state of disarray and shouldn't really be a B&B. I also thought downtown Jasper is really not worth talking about compared to Banff so I would recommend you stay outside Jasper in the numerous lodges there are.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Corinne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.3 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#11 of 17 in Jasper
575 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#12 of 17 in Jasper
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.9 mi away
HI-Jasper
HI-Jasper
#10 of 20 in Jasper
151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabin Creek Jasper
Cabin Creek Jasper
#36 of 57 in Jasper
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calla's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calla's Palace

Property: Calla's Palace
Address: 717 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Calla's Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Calla's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing