We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always stay here”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always stay here”
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Nice place to stay. Great staff. Ask for room 101. It is a bit pricier, but a bit newer than the others. Has more of a mountain feel to it. These guys have a very old hotel, they are slowly doing some upgrades here & there. I often come to ski, but also come here to bike in the warmer months.

If you are looking for something central for a good price, it is here. If you are shopping for a room based on price, remember you get what you pay for. If you are used to travelling on a budget, you won't mind this place.

If you are not used to travelling on a budget and are watching your pennies, don't get upset with your stay. The hotel is old. I'm cheap, so I get it. For a lower priced hotel, this is what you get. You can go cheaper in Jasper. It will either be a hostel, a hotel with shared toilets, or a B&B.

This is the best place to stay for the price. It's better if you book directly than book through an online agent. I find email to be the best. If you stay more than once, they give you a great return rate.

Don't expect the Ritz if you are cheap. If you are cheap, the pub downstairs is a bit more reasonable for food and drinks than others. The Italian place up the road is great for food too. The staff are really great. Housekeeping does an awesome job for the age of the hotel.

That's my 411 for today...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrottr411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    62
    84
    59
    106
See reviews for
53
159
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Personally I will never stay at this hotel again, this was the worst experience ever between their lack of customer service and the room. First off their idea of a “king size bed” is two singles pushed together where you can feel the crack between each bed most uncomfortable sleep, If you are a taller person you do not want this room as the shower is extremely small , their source of hot water is no good one minute it’s okay temperature next minute its burning hot then extremely cold, one of the morning’s I couldn’t even get the hot water to turn on. The walls are very thin you can hear everything from other room’s. Their front desk staff are absolutely terrible did not inform us upon check in of the live band playing below the hotel until 1 am our room was literally vibrating and sounded as if we were in the bar. When I went to inform the front desk agent she made a face when I told her which room I was in then said yehhh their right under our room however “ this little sign has been here all day stating their was a live band” I think I should of be informed upon check in as I checked into the hotel Friday and there was no sign why would I have any reason to go up to front desk on Saturday and this so called sign was the smallest sign ever without actually standing there no one would of noticed it they had the I don’t care attitude when we checked in/complained/ and check out they did not try to accommodate our needs what so ever. If I hadn’t previously lived and worked in jasper for 3 years by the way I was treated at this hotel I personally wouldn’t return to Jasper. Trust me spend the extra money for a decent hotel and one that will actually treat you respectfully.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha-lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The room was clean and fine for the night. It was a little dated like most of jasper. If you need a hotel for a night on a budget this one will do just fine. The room was small and still had an old tv. Pink tile in the bathroom.... never seen that before!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingcanucks101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Staff was very friendly, the restaurant was good but the hotel needs serious upgrading. The room we had was tiny, and the bathroom was even tinier. After spending 3 days on the bus though, this place was perfect for us. Just don't expect luxury and you'll enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liiinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

Older and outdated but very cozy. We were quite happy! The staff was great! The rooms are very small but the location makes up for any issues! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be in the centre of the action!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcgilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We won a trip up to Jasper for two nights and stayed here for both night. The hotel is a little old but everything was clean and had all that we required.
The staff were friendly and willing to offer their opinions on places of interests in and around town.
Conveniently located in the middle of town next to food and drink spots.

While riding at Mammut Basin I suffered a concussion and was hospitalised. As part of this we had to re-arrange our pre booked bus and delay it for a day. This was no problem during the day however I was finally released from hospital late that night and we decided to go back to our original bus times. Unfortunately the bus company Sundog was already closed. My fiancée left phone messages and e-mails in the hopes that we would be back on the 7:00am bus. Once we returned to the hotel we talked to the manager. He was very friendly and helpful. He happened to be friends with the owner of Sundog and phoned his personal mobile as well as leaving him a Facebook message. In the end when we called Sundog at 6:00am in the morning they answered straight away by asking if it was my partner calling.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salatious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The room was crowded for two people. I guess we were a bit spoiled from our previous hotel in Harvie Heights - Banff Boundary Lodge is so much bigger and cheaper than this place. On a positive note, the staff were frienldy. It is close to restaurants and other attractions in Jasper.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.8 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: 404 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel is an historic Jasper hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies since 1925. This small hotel features Jasper National Park lodging with character and charm. Perfect for a Canadian Rockies vacation, the Astoria Hotel features an excellent restaurant, as well as a lively pub. At The De'd Dog bar&grill, you can find a wide selection of domestic and imported refreshments, all in lively atmosphere. A great place to watch sports or ski & bike videos. No matter what time of year you choose to stay at our Jasper hotel, you will be able to truly enjoy everything the Canadian Rockies has to offer. In winter, skiing, snowboarding, and ice climbing are all popular activities. In the summer months, the Canadian Rockies provide excellent opportunities for fishing, hiking, mountain biking, and much more. Built for a different traveler in its day, the Astoria offers a quaint abode with rooms situated on the second floor. Although there is no elevator, our staircase is short and manageable for everyone. In our classic setting, you will find that our beds will be comfortable. We have many return guests week after week, month after month, and so on. For your next Jasper vacation, stay with us at the Astoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing