We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Staying anywhere in Jasper is expensive for some reason and the Astoria was no exception. We paid $200/night for a king room with a jetted tub and mountain view. The room was okay, a bit small. There were some renovations done but it was mostly cosmetic and the bathroom looked original. The "king" bed was actually two singles pushed together with a king sized sheet pulled over it. It was reasonably comfortable as long as you didn't sleep in the centre.
The staff at the front desk were nice for the most part. The service in the attached pub/restaurant wasn't the best but the food was okay.
I really like the location of The Astoria. It's right on the main street and within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCS1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    53
    76
    54
    99
See reviews for
49
137
35
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veneta, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

What a @#$%& hole this place is. Mold in the shower, dirt all over the room, the AC did not work. When I complained to the front desk (politely even) I was told in a nonchalant manner "well the least we can do is take a look at it". Not sure if they looked at it or not but it was not fixed. We requested a king or queen size bed and got 2 twins. (sorry that is all we have) The rooms are over a bar and restaurant, the bar patrons spend most of the evening into the wee hours laughing and hollering on the side walk. If your AC doesn't work you have to at least have your window open. I asked to speak with the Manager and was told on 2 occasions that he was busy. I would never stay at this place and strongly suggest you do not either. Jasper is beautiful though.

Room Tip: Here's a tip - do not stay at the Astoria in Jasper
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Hong Kong
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

The room was comfortable, clean and with all the basic amenities needed, the location was really good really near the train station, even though price was quite steep similar with all the other hotels around, overall it was satisfying

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank chelley1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel lobby is an old storefront on the main road in Jasper. The rooms are upstairs, above main street stores, and there is no elevator. The rooms are very small and the wash rooms (bathrooms) are even smaller. Clean but aged.

Room Tip: One of the cheaper places to stay in Jasper but you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

The hotel is historic so you can expect small rooms. Overall very nice and close to everything. I recommend going to the Dirty Dog pub, which is attached to the hotel. Overall very nice and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We booked this room online and were very disappointed. The price was very high and we were only paying for the location. The room had not been updated in many years, was dingy, dark and small. It is very centrally located, which was great for walking to dinner. We expected more for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anmer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wainwright, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We booked online and we got there the room was big enough for the bed. I had just enought space for one person to walk around the bed between the bed and the furniture. The sink is between the bed and the wall of the bathroom. The extremely small bathroom has a one person stand up shower and separated by one feet from the toilet.
And the king size bed was 2 twin size bed stock together.

I will never go back there again, i paid 180$ and i wouldnt pay 50$ to stay there.

Wainwright,Ab

Room Tip: Please dont go there unless , your stock. But there is so many option in jasper, you dont need to bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#14 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.6 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: 404 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel is an historic Jasper hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies since 1925. This small hotel features Jasper National Park lodging with character and charm. Perfect for a Canadian Rockies vacation, the Astoria Hotel features an excellent restaurant, as well as a lively pub. At The De'd Dog bar&grill, you can find a wide selection of domestic and imported refreshments, all in lively atmosphere. A great place to watch sports or ski & bike videos. No matter what time of year you choose to stay at our Jasper hotel, you will be able to truly enjoy everything the Canadian Rockies has to offer. In winter, skiing, snowboarding, and ice climbing are all popular activities. In the summer months, the Canadian Rockies provide excellent opportunities for fishing, hiking, mountain biking, and much more. Built for a different traveler in its day, the Astoria offers a quaint abode with rooms situated on the second floor. Although there is no elevator, our staircase is short and manageable for everyone. In our classic setting, you will find that our beds will be comfortable. We have many return guests week after week, month after month, and so on. For your next Jasper vacation, stay with us at the Astoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing