We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross and filthy”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the Astoria for my birthday weekend in August. We got rooms 108 and 112, one with a king sized bed (which was actually two twins with a king sheet fit over it) and my mom and aunt got the two twins in room 112. Both rooms were in desperate need of a good cleaning. There was a giant glob of hair in the corner of my shower (NOT mine) and I when I dropped the key on the floor and couldn't find it, I looked under the bedskirt to find old newspapers, a used plastic drinking cup and just gross filth in general. At over $200.00 per room, I expected at the very least, a clean room. The carpets were stained, the fabric headboards were dusty and smelly and the plastic from the inside of the lampshades were broken and falling off. In the morning, I went to make the coffee and there was still old coffee from who knows when in the pot. If I could give this hotel zero stars I would. Definitely not worth the expense.

Room Tip: There is one good room near the front (which is in all the pictures) that's about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Cecelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliverga, Public Relations Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Cecella S,

We would like to express our most sincere apologies for the state of your room. We take every review very seriously and since evaluating this review we have re-educated our housekeeping staff on the proper practices to keep up with our hotel. We ask that you do not take the state of one room as a resemblance of the state of our entire hotel. The Astoria Hotel is a 90 year old family run establishment. Our mission here is to provide a clean and comfortable place for our guests to return to after a day of exploring the beauty of Jasper National Park. We do admit that sometimes we experience faults from our staff whether it be an untidy room or less than exceptional service- This can be said for any business. Our goal is to continue educating ourselves and evolving to better suit you, our customers.
In the future we hope that you consider us again at the Astoria Hotel. We can assure you that you will find your room to be clean, comfortable and satisfactory for your next trip to Jasper.
Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel will be 90 years old next year I believe. And it feels 90 years old. Avoid room115 like the plague the walls, floor and door vibrate from about 8am until about 11.45 pm. Thankfully we were moved to an equally tired and dated room after one night. But at least it didn't vibrate. We had to stay in this hotel because all the other accomodation in Jasper was full. Sorry to say that is one of the poorest feeling hotels we had ever stayed in. But we wanted to visit Jasper and the sacrifice was kind of worth it. The staff were very kind and helpful. The breakfast in the cafe next door and the food in the bar next door were very well priced and tasty. Good service by staff there too.

Room Tip: Avoid room 115 and possibly 114.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank 691Karen2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliverga, Public Relations Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear 691Karen2468,

Yes! You are correct; the Astoria Hotel will be 90 years old in 2015! Making our hotel the oldest hotel in the Jasper townsite to date.
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. As the foundations of the hotel were built in the early 1920’s, we sometimes experience vibrations in the corner of the hotel were you were first located.
We are happy to hear that you experienced an exceptional experience in Papa George’s Restaurant and the De’d Dog Bar & Grill. We take pride in the fact that you enjoyed reasonably priced, “tasty” food with good service to go along with it.
In the future we hope that you decide to stay with us again. The next 90 years in our hotel are going to be just as exciting and if not- even more so than the past 90 years! 
Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Best wi-fi of any place on this Banff/Jasper trip. Heck, even better than data! Hotel was cheaper than some of the other places we looked at and very nice! I would definitely recommend. Clean, nice room, 2 beds and a bathroom, small fridge (this one worked). Views towards the mountains and train tracks, we left the car in a parking lot half a block away and it was safe. Hotel was booked as we needed it, last minute.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sssNoVa_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliverga, Public Relations Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear sssNoVa_VA,

Thanks for the great review! Here at the Astoria Hotel we take all reviews of every kind into consideration.
We are happy to boast some of the fastest wifi speeds in all of Jasper National Park. As well, our mountain view rooms give guests a pristine view of some of Jasper’s beautiful mountains right from the comfort of their room.
We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived late July, 2014 after having decided, last minute,to stay in Jasper for a few days - rooms were hard to find!
The only rooms available were those located above a noisy restaurant kitchen fan (that is running out of balance) for a reduced rate. We were later relocated to a quieter room with a view the next evening. All in all it was worth the somewhat noisy hassel in order for us to obtain a last minute Jasper room during high season....the restaurant was decent and the location was great...remember, though, that trains run across the main street at all hours and are noisy as well. Service was pleasant and helpful...We would stay there again!

Room Tip: Get discounts when staying in rooms over noisy kitchen - noisy from 6:30 a.m. until 11:30 p.m. - esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitzsidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Given it's location and almost fairy-tale external appearance, we were deeply disappointed with our 2 night stay here. Given that we'd pre-booked in February (for an August stay) and selected a king-size bed (as this normally delivers a similar sized room) we arrived to find ourselves at a tired, almost hostel-like tourist hotel with a cramped room at the back of the hotel, with no view and a tiny shower cum loo, with a cracked rusty washbasin in the room itself. The Receptionist made a half-hearted attempt to locate a better room for us but said all the good rooms were already taken. The air-con unit could barely cope with the heat generated by the in-room fridge and our room wasn't serviced at all during our stay. The free Wifi was erratic and on check-out, the staff were disinterested. To cap it all, we then received an email from the manager hoping we'd enjoyed our stay and offering us a discount on our next visit but at $217 per night, we'd expected something really good and this was the worst Hotel on our 6 week trip across Canada, so I think not. On the whole, our experience tainted our entire visit to Jasper, and we've now moved on, sadly unlikely to return.

Room Tip: Find another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliverga, Public Relations Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear A.P.

We thank you for your review. Here at the Astoria Hotel we use reviews as useful tools to develop our business to better suit you, our customers.
The Astoria Hotel is Jasper’s smallest hotel and has been family owned since the 1920’s. We are happy that you enjoyed the convenience of our location- which is in the center of the village of Jasper. We are sorry to hear that your room did not meet the expectations you had developed from other hotels you had stayed at during your vacation in Canada.
We would like to point out that although our staff may seem “disinterested”, we take every comment, complain and praise to consideration.
Often times guests are visiting the Astoria Hotel to use as a base-camp for their outdoor adventures while staying in Jasper. We are proud to provide a cozy and homely temporary stay for visitors of our National Park. In the future, we hope that during your next visit to Jasper you find that the beauty of Jasper’s pristine and beautiful outdoors easily makes up for slight inconveniences you may experience in your room.

Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here two nights in July and enjoyed our stay overall. The hotel is in a great location near shops and restaurants, basically walking distance to most things in Jasper. The rooms are very small, the bathroom is very small, but that was okay considering the cheap price and the charm of the old hotel. When you're in the Rockies who spends time inside anyways? We just needed a place to sleep and shower.

Parking situation did not seem ideal, but it actually worked out great parking across the street.

Some updates to linens and getting toilet seats that are the right shape/size for the toilet would go a long way.

Also - Jasper was the best place to see wildlife!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dustin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliverga, Public Relations Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Dustin S.

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We always appreciate the feedback whether it’s good, bad or anything in between.

Like you said- Our hotel has a unique and very convenient location for our guests, we’re happy that you enjoyed staying with us.

The Astoria Hotel is a small hotel with a lot of character and a lot of charm. It is Jasper’s only hotel that is currently owned by the same family that built the hotel, the Andrew Family.

Our rooms are small as well, however you’ve stated one of the key facts of anyone who comes to Jasper. The mountains are meant to be explored! What we offer is a place for you to lay your head after exploring the beautiful mountain playground that is Jasper. With Papa George’s Restaurant and the De’d Dog Bar & Grill just downstairs- we also offer great food and place to share stories with new and old friends.

In the future, we recommend you check out our website for special packages and offers to perfectly suit your stay with us in Jasper National Park.

Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is amazing! Right on the main strip of Jasper which is a fantastic place to visit if you are looking for a place to stay in the mountains. Everywhere is easy to get to and there is parking right across the street.

The De'd Dog is attached right to the hotel as well as Papa George's. Great places to go for either breakfast or for a night out! Good food, good pool (billiards), it's perfect.

But.. On the downside, the room rate I paid was rather high for the size of the room. Then again I did book through a third party booking sight so if you call the hotel there is a possibility that the rooms could be cheaper but I didn't check myself.

Also the housekeeping is not very good. I work at a hotel myself and I realize that nothing's ever perfect but when I literally find a used dirty diaper under the bed and nobody cleans our room during the day it's a bit obvious that something's not right. It made me feel very unclean in the room.

The rooms are very small but I feel that shouldn't be an issue while your in a tourist town. The room my brother and I got had just two twin beds with just enough room to store out belongings. The sink too the washroom was in the room itself whilst the bathroom was very small with just a shower and a toilet. But it didn't bother us since we were barely in the room. It's honestly a great size for two friends who are traveling and plan to spend only a little amount of time in the room. We also had the cheapest most basic room so that is a factor.

The room came with an A/C and a fan for the warmer nights which was awesome because it was fairly hot the days we travelled to Jasper. There is also a closet and drawers to store items in if needed, which was definitely handy.

Over all it wasn't a bad stay, I just wish that the housekeeping had done a better job. Again great location and a perfect place for people trying to enjoy the sights and not the hotel rooms!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ZombieBootCamp_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliverga, Public Relations Manager at Astoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear BunniWant,

As always, at the Astoria Hotel we take every comment seriously and always appreciate feedback of any kind!

We have addressed the fact that your room was not up to the standards that we operate as far as room cleanliness in the hotel. Our housekeeping team has been made aware of this fault that you experienced and are acting according so that this never happens again. Thank you for helping us to improve further in this area.

As well, we are delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. We often hear that guests find our hotel to be the most conveniently located place to stay in Jasper. Because of our location guests are never more than a short distance from Jasper’s local shops and attractions. With Papa George’s Restaurant and The De’d Dog Bar & Grill located within the hotel guests are treated to a comfortable and friendly environment and great local food without even having to leave the building!

You have mentioned that rates for you were a little rather high- In the summer season you’ll find that the Astoria Hotel is offering some of the most competitive rates in Jasper. And we believe that our customers are getting just what they pay for seeing as the National Park playground that is Jasper is literally at your doorstep when staying at the Astoria Hotel. In the future we recommend you look into using our website to make your bookings for staying with us. There you’ll find unique packages that you can create that you can’t find anywhere but our website.

For your reference our website is: www.astoriahotel.com

Again, thank you for your advice, we take every review and use it as a tool to improve our hotel for you, our customers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.8 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.6 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
980 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
887 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: 404 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range: £45 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astoria Hotel is an historic Jasper hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies since 1925. This small hotel features Jasper National Park lodging with character and charm. Perfect for a Canadian Rockies vacation, the Astoria Hotel features an excellent restaurant, as well as a lively pub. At The De'd Dog bar&grill, you can find a wide selection of domestic and imported refreshments, all in lively atmosphere. A great place to watch sports or ski & bike videos. No matter what time of year you choose to stay at our Jasper hotel, you will be able to truly enjoy everything the Canadian Rockies has to offer. In winter, skiing, snowboarding, and ice climbing are all popular activities. In the summer months, the Canadian Rockies provide excellent opportunities for fishing, hiking, mountain biking, and much more. Built for a different traveler in its day, the Astoria offers a quaint abode with rooms situated on the second floor. Although there is no elevator, our staircase is short and manageable for everyone. In our classic setting, you will find that our beds will be comfortable. We have many return guests week after week, month after month, and so on. For your next Jasper vacation, stay with us at the Astoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing