We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax & Get back to Nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 January 2012

After visiting this property several times I figured it was about time to write a review!

I've stayed everywhere from a room in the main lodge, to a lakefront bungalow, to a Fairmont King. The rooms all had one thing in common- they are decorated in a very minimalist rustic way. If you're looking for wifi & mini-bars this is not the place for you. That being said, the beds are incredibly comfortable and I slept like a baby, plus there aren't many rooms where you can see wildlife pass by from your bed, anything from Canadian Geese, to deer, to elk.

From check-in to check-out, the staff are always excellent, and the new spa area is really gorgeous. The eucalyptus steam room was a wonderful addition as is the waiting lounge space. Try the Rocky Mountain Body Wrap- Amazing! The heated outdoor pool is great, no matter the season. Always refreshing.

What can I say- another wonderful stay. Can't wait for next time!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank work2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,372 - 3,378 of 4,121 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

We took a weekend trip with our daughter to Jasper Park Lodge in November to celebrate Christmas in November and it was wonderful, Food was great and celebrations were exciting. Stayed in the cabins section and had a wonderful experience exploring Jasper and getting some down-time from the weekend.
Liked the sitting area in the cabins - and even took advantage of the babysitting services offered by the hotel. At $60 for a few hours, it was reasonable, and we got to have a date night.
Hotel was impeccably clean, room service was delicious and cabins were on lovely walking trails that were just perfect for the mild weather.

Room Tip: Choose the cabins, you don't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank threewilleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Junior suite cabins on the lake are luxury with an amazing view. There are small deck docks down below your cabin with chairs and benches to take a book or a glass of wine and enjoy being right on the lake. There are also canoes to rent and the golf is the best in Alberta

Room Tip: Junior suites on the lake are worth the price If you are with a group, ask for Outlook cabin where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

FJPL is a higher-end vintage property in a National Park. It is set up as a series of single or multi-cabin units supported by a main Lodge with rooms in it as well. Beautiful setting, but you are rather dependent on the Lodge's pricey amenities unless you want to take a 10 minute drive or $20 cab into the town. Non-extreme outdoor enthusiasts will like it here.

I stayed during a week of below normal winter temperatures, and the main lodge room simply could not keep itself warm. I was however treated to a space heater which saved my feet on the marble bathroom floor. When I moved to a cabin later in my stay, I was treated to nightmares and 40 minutes of sleep due to a central steam heating system which clangs so loudly every 20 minutes, I thought the room was being broken into all night long. I've had a better sleep in a 2-bit motel with main line train tracks in behind. Very unfortunate, as the cabin room was plenty warm. Surprised the sidewalk and steps were not cleared of snow like the rest of the property's extensive walkways. (I would have been happy to use a broom had they supplied one.)

The service here is exceptional. Felt like royalty, and I didn't have to dress like one. The employees are unionized, so I felt good knowing I wasn't being served by staff who were being exploited or treated unfairly by Fairmont.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, choose to stay in the lodge. If you are there in winter, stay in a cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Hi Lisa B - thank you for your review. Our colleagues pride themselves on a high level of service which we’re happy you experienced during your stay. We do however apologize that you were not comfortable in your cabin due to the noise. Being a heritage property, some of our cabins run on steam heat and in unusually cold spells - such as you experienced while you were here - end up making noise. That said, our Maintenance Team does their absolute best to keep these lines clear when the temperature drops. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I had a conference in the hotel and brought my family with 3 young children. From the time we checked in and thru the stay my kids had fun (and if they have fun we the adult can have fun.) The staff was very kids friendly and always very helpful. The kids got prizes from the treasure chest twice a day. Had their own menu to eat from. Since they are all 5 years old and less, they ate free, (6-12years old eat half price.). They had a game room to run around in the main building. They enjoyed the outdoor warm swimming pool. The hotel had lifejackets for them. Not many places you can enjoy outdoor pool at -15C. The kids refused to get out of the water.
In the room we had a curtain to open to keep an eye on the kids from the main bedroom. The hotel is a short drive from the town. We went there only once as it was cold that weekend. We had all we need in the hotel resort. I would certainly recommend this place to families.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you Sam for your lovely review of our hotel! We are definitely a family friendly resort and look forward to having you and yours back soon. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We took our family to the Jasper Park Lodge over Christmas in the hope of enjoying a proper 'winter wonderland' getaway. First, the good: I can't say enough about the quality of the service we received. The staff, particularly on the bell desk, are terrifically cheerful and attentive. No request seemed to be too much trouble. The outdoor pool was great fun, and a big hit with the kids, as was the skating area on the lake. The (sort of) bad: We paid a premium for lakefront room which was exceptionally spacious, but also surprisingly dark with overly worn and tatty furnishings. The lodge itself is terrific, but the many family-oriented programs that were part of the Christmas promotion were kind of a letdown (the teen hangout was a rundown room with a single Xbox game, foosball table and shuffleboard; and the pool table and ping pong tables should be chucked in the landfill. The children's play room is good, if dark.) The children's christmas hangout was also a bit flat and disappointing. Finally, the ugly: Food prices at the Jasper Park Lodge are ridiculously high, even for a major tourist destination. We thought the 'special event' meals organized for Christmas were delicious and not unreasonably expensive. However the 'regular' meals were ridiculously costly. Our first night there we took our two children to the 'casual' emerald lounge for a simple dinner of unimpressive burgers and sandwiches and paid more than $100. If you're travelling with kids we suggest you plan to eat in town (you'll need a car or a taxi, as the Lodge doesn't have a shuttle), bring some of your own snacks or fill up at the excellent breakfast buffet so you don't feel gouged by high food prices the way we did. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Lodge, but I doubt we'll stay there again if we return to Jasper.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shari30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Hello Shari30, thanks for your review. Christmas is a magical time for us here at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge and we're happy you were able to share it with us. We were however disappointed to read that some areas of the resort did not meet your expectations. We are committed to continuing to invest into the resort to meet the needs of all of our guests including making updates to guest rooms. Your comments are valuble to us as it gives us an opportunity to make improvements. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

What a great place to get away with all the luxuries you desire!

Great food, and charming atmosphere. I love the private cabins and luxuries bathroom. The pool was a favourite for the kids, and the change rooms were very clean (which is really important). The kids room was fun, and we enjoyed the yoga at the art gallery. Very unique experience. I only wish we had more time to enjoy all the amenities.

The front desk service left a lot to be desired, and they need to work on putting the customer first. Even simple questions and requests take a very long time. It felt like I was interrupting the staff.

Room Tip: The cabins are fantastic...make sure you ask for one with a view and close to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.0 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
453 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
887 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: £155 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing