We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've stayed at the JPL lodge a couple times and I have to say, each time I'm a little more disappointed. The last time was for my Mom's 65 birthday and I was treating her and a friend to a weekend at JPL. I pre-booked massages and specifically asked for female therapists at the time of booking. My mom is called up and it's a male therapist which was incredibly uncomfortable for my Mom. The spa is supposed to provide light refreshments and when we went to wait for our treatments to begin, we were hoping to have a cup of tea, or coffee, and there was nothing in the spa lounge to drink. I asked about this and got a snarky response "you are welcome to order from the menu"! Then we had dinner at the Moose's Nook, the food was good, but the portions were so tiny, that the mashed potatoes underneath the tiny steak was pretty much non-existent. Very disappointed. I wrote to the JPL manager and let them know this and after dropping over $1200 on the weekend, I did not get a call, or a response to my email. That will be the last time I spend one penny at JPL...and you have the manager to thank for that!

I do want to point out that the service we received in the Moose's Nook was exceptional. Our waiter was attentive and understanding when I told him he needs bring out more potatoes' for my mother's steak and I don't expect to be charged for it. To which he agreed.

My message to JPL, when you have clients spending the kind of money it takes to fully experience what JPL has to offer, responding to complaints should be a priority.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,508 - 2,514 of 4,034 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have recently returned from Canada and spent 2 nights at this resort. It was a wonderful experience.

Check in & check out were very well handled and spent no time in queues, The cabins are very well appointed although from the outside they do not look all that welcoming. Once inside though they are very roomy with all that could be asked for. Great nights sleep on comfortable beds. In the afternoon you even get caribou grazing at your frony and back doors to the cabins. A great sight.

We ate in the restaurant in the main lodge. This was a fantastic meal, lovely food and great wine list, let down a little by inexperienced wait staff, although it did not spoil the night.

Breakfast is wonderful with fantastic views of the lake. Plenty of variety for food and all of high quality.

There is a heated pool and gym although did not use these. We did hire mountain bikes and had a great time exploring around the resort and rode into Jasper for morning coffee. Not very far and on paths a lot of the way.

Could have spent more time here. Would highly recomend.

Room Tip: All rooms are spread over the property so no real advantage that I can see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The service was excellent on every level and the facilities were amazing as was the room .the bed and linens were most luxurious and definitely home away from home. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay but definitely stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent two nights at the Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, the hotel is set in a beautiful location, our room was in the main lodge with views over the lake to the mountains. On a short walk from the hotel we encountered Elk and Deer grazing amongst the lodge cabins. The facilities were excellent with a golf course and a charming open air pool. The hotel had a slightly faded air, but this only enhanced its charm. We ate in the bar/lounge area from a very good menu, the food was first rate, however the service did suffer due to a large influx of tour party guests. I pre-booked breakfast which was from a very extensive buffet, unfortunately once again the breakfast room was overrun by a large tour party. I feel the hotel could have looked to make better catering arrangements differentiating between touring parties and individual guests. The staff were helpful and engaging and possessed good local knowledge which they were keen to share. The lodge cabins ranged from the delightful to what appeared to be relocated army barracks. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and Jasper was a true delight.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms overlooking the lake would appear to offer the best views and you are on site for al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerwmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Excellent service, lovely atmosphere, lots of activities (boats, bikes, golf, hikes, pool, spa, etc), and a variety of dining experiences. It's a worthwhile treat to stay here, and we will do so again. The attention to detail supercedes other Jasper hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Maxine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We booked this based on the "Fairmont" name - the location was great. The lodge is quite old and worn (out). The rooms in the lodge were 60's era and showed their age - clean but worn and quite small.
For those with limited mobility - not handicaped - beware, stairs are everywhere and distances to the elevators are large.
From conversations with former staff living in Jasper - it seems that multiple owners have pulled profit out to the expense of the upkeep of this lovely lodge.

Room Tip: rooms in lodge facing lake and mountains had nice view - no privacy as balcony is shared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Ken c,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We apologize that the lodge did not meet your expectations. We certainly agree that our cabins are spread out amongst our beautiful property and can be upwards from a 5 to 7 minute walk to the main building. We do offer 24 hour complimentary door to door shuttle service provided by our friendly guest services team. Our main lodge is also equipped with accessible rooms located on the main floor of the Lodge making it easier for our guests with limited mobility. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge has a completely different vibe compared to its Fairmont stablemates in the Canadian Rockies. Whereas the latter are large and visually impressive, but also overwhelmed with day trippers and packaged tour groups, the JPL is more laid-back and relaxing. Certainly, the JPL is used by tour groups, but due to its spread out design, it never feels crowded.
The JPL is built around a central building containing the reception, restaurants, bars, shops and a number of rooms. The rest of the facility consists of a large number of separate lodges clustered around the lake. These lodges have a differing number of suites, some are of an older style, others are newer or being in the process of being renovated.
The JPL is virtually surrounded by its golf course and the lake, so it is a beautiful place to simply wander around, hire a bicycle or paddle a canoe. You could even play golf!
The JPL is several kilometres outside Jasper and thus if you want to have some drinks with your meals, you either have to use the hotel's restaurants (which are good, if a little bit pricey) or catch a cab.
A couple of comments. Firstly, in my view a 4 pm check in is pretty late as it is. Unfortunately, my room wasn't ready until 5.45pm even though I'd previously informed the hotel of my intended arrival time. To their credit, the staff provided me with a free drink (and naturally I took advantage by choosing the most expensive option on the wine list!) and later reimbursed by bar tab at dinner. The point is, this should not have happened in the first place.
Secondly, due to the narrowness of the access roads, you may need to park your car some distance away from your suite. This may necessitate carrying your luggage down paths and across lawns.

Room Tip: The lake view suites are worth the extra cost simply because of their ambience. Some have small pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.0 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
446 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,624 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
628 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: £168 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing