We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elk in your front yard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed 2 night in The Jasper Park Lodge as part of our Canadian Rockies Tour. This lodge is much nicer than some of the other National Park Lodges where we have stayed. Rooms are spacious, with nice back balconies, but the bathroom was very small. We could not seem to regulate the heat/air in our room and most of the time the room was a little warm (we could have called the front desk but did not) as we were out of the room most of the time anyway.
Lots of wildlife roam through this property and we came back from dinner one night to find an elk grazing in front of our room.
This place is somewhat remote, so without transportation meals are available only in the dining rooms at the lodge. Prices tend to be high ($25 for a hamburger) and with the one meal we ate there, the service was not great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klc97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello klc97, thank you for your comments. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and experienced the beauty of wildlife right outside your guest room. We are however very sorry to hear about your challenges with room temperature and service, and for this we apologize. We hope to have you back again in the future so we can deliver the high level of service we strive for. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,959)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,426 - 2,432 of 3,960 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had 2 nights in Jasper as part of our Rocky Mountaineer trip from Vancouver to Jasper.

The hotel was very comfortable, but located some way out of town. This was no concern as we had a hire car for the drive from Jasper to Calgary.

The hotel is very different from the Fairmont hotels we stayed at in Lake Louise and Banff, but still very nice. Beautiful grounds and the lake was spectacular.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaseyandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review, CaseyandSue. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! You're right - the Fairmont Rocky Mountain properties are very different from eachother, all very unique and beautiful in their own way. We're glad you were able to experience all three! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms are fifties motel. Hoards of tourists on buses are sent here so they are not motivated to upgrade.

Location is fantastic so at $400 a night I just felt taken advantage of.

Problem is there is no luxury alternative in Jasper so this is still the place to stay. Oh well.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Zorda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear zorda2,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations. We apologize that you did not enjoy your room accommodations and hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed as a Family for two nights. We had dinner with friends (party of 9). The next day we as a family had breakfast. The concierge at the curbside was almost rude. The receptionist who checked us in was pleasant and helpful, though he didn’t keep the promise of delivering us the 2 extra keys we wanted.
Apart from the above, all the staff working there were extremely helpful. Most of them with a genuine smile. Dinner at Cavell’s: I booked a Table for 8 for 7:30 PM. Our friends were to reach Jasper from Banff. I called to cancel and rebook for the next day. I was offered to come any time we are ready the same evening.
We arrived as party of 9 instead of 8. No worries! Extremely friendly & helpful staff. All of us enjoyed the meals except 2 who ordered chicken dishes. All questions were answered without patronizing attitude. Ambience was terrific. Our table was next to large window and we could enjoy the view of the Lake and the Mountains. Of course, it was expensive which was expected. Excellent experience.
The next morning, we went there again for breakfast. We were given a table far away from the buffet. I wanted a table closer to the buffet because one of us had painful knee. In a minute a new table was set up. The service was great. The buffet was great. Again, it was expensive, but worth it.
The Room: We stayed at Deluxe Lakeview Main Building Room with Balcony. Clean, quiet and every amenity worked. Beautiful view from the Balcony.
The checkout was quick and efficient. The lady receptionist neither bothered to ask how our stay was nor offered help with any baggage, as she was asking every other person before us. I guess it was because I am a visible minority.
Overall, great experience and highly recommended. We are a weeklong stay in July.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Easwara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello Easwara, thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us - May is a lovely time to visit Jasper. We certainly hope we have the chance to welcome you back again in the future! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights and in comparison with other Fairmont properties we stayed at in Canada we were very disappointed. We were allocated a cabin away from the lake and it wasn't very appealing surrounds.

When entering the cabin it was stifling hot and we had to open both doors and windows to sleep. There didn't appear to be any controls to reduce the heat. I believe it was floor heating.

Just a generally tired resort.

Breakfast was good value.

Room Tip: Request a cabin on the lake.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robyndouglas29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear robyndouglas29,
Thank you for sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately we cannot provide each cabin with a lakeview, although our website provides a very detailed list of all room accommodations we offer and which cabins offer Lakeview’s. Please accept our sincere apologies in regards to the temperature of your guest room. We can certainly understand the frustration this would have caused during your vacation. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Beautiful location, relaxing surroundings, excellent service, great food. Will definitely come back and bring the family! From the reservation experience to the greeting at the front door to the restaurant staff to the checkout process it was a positive experience all the way!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Melba T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel grounds and setting is amazing and we were very lucky to have a day walking round the grounds, enjoying a canoe ride on the lake and watching the wildlife with the sun shining bright! We had lunch on outside and it was the perfect day, respecting the wildlife at all times as they can sit on your doorstep. The rooms as mention are tired if you have the basic room which I did the bathroom is small and not comfortable. As the property is old there is no air con and fans are in rooms but this is not enough on a hot day and lodges made of wood hold the heat so not the best night sleep. Overall this is a great hotel which has lovely surroundings but do not expect to spend too much time in your room as this can be unpleasant due to the musty smell. Enjoy the grounds, pool, restaurant and soak up the relaxing atmosphere!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_the_world2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.0 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
425 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,594 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: £159 - £572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing