We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picturesque”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a fantastic stay at the Fairmont Jasper in picturesque surrounds with deer meandering through the grounds and other wildlife as well. Waking up in the morning with to light dusting of snow whilst the higher mountains were covered in snow and looking onto the nearby lake, picture perfect with the reflection on it, great photo. We spent our time at the lodge instead of going into town just to relax, very good restaurants there as well as a little retail therapy.
We were situated in a cabin which was rustic and fun and Toasty warm with in floor heating, lovely.

Great stay and would thoroughly recommend it, enjoy tour stay, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Pamela C - thank you for your review. We're very happy to hear about your fantastic stay with us! There really is nothing quite like the view of Lac Beauvert, Whistler Mountain and Mount Edith Cavell in the morning, is there? Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,316
    876
    677
    462
    259
See reviews for
930
1,756
71
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here as part of our Rocky Mountaineer rail journey. Frankly, we were a little disappointed after having stayed at the Fairmont hotels at Banff Springs and Lake Louise (which do set the bar very high, to be fair). The cabins you stay in are really no more than three star standard, quite old, and pretty simple. I think 'rustic' probably sums it up well. The rest of the resort was much better though. The grounds and surrounds are stunning, although still not as good as Fairmont Lake Louise. The restaurant we ate at (which had a nice view of the nearby lake) was just OK, quite expensive and hit and miss on quality (it depended on what you ate). But you are basically a captive audience as there is nowhere really close by to eat, the next best option is to grab a taxi and head back into town to take your chances there. After a long day on the bus, and an early start the next day we simply couldn't be bothered. I don't know how much this hotel would cost per night as it was part of our rail package, so I can't really comment on value for money sorry. Service was excellent, one of the younger bell boys even took us for a spin on a golf cart looking for bears which was pretty cool until he pointed out bears can actually out run the golf cart if they get pissed off and decide to chase you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Jennifer_kate,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are very happy to learn you were able to enjoy our surroundings and found the service to be excellent. Your comments are important to us as we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

downstairs dining room is clearly way overpriced for what they are serving, service was average. Hotel lobby is pleasant but the entire property is in dire need of a major renovation, some of the hotels in town have better amenities for half the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Jean G,
Thank you for providing feedback of your recent stay with us. We are most disappointed to learn that you did not feel you received good value for the price paid for your meals. We pride ourselves on delivering quality service and outstanding value in all areas of our operation and we are sorry this was not your experience. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Spent the last four nights in fabulous rooms at Fairmont Hotels and now in cabin at Jasper Park Lodge. Decor horrible, long walk to main hotel which I wouldn't mind if I was in a picturesque spot, very noisy throughout night - snoring from next door, constant sound of banging and this morning children making a noise. Stunning views from hotel and many cabins. My view is butlinesque! More grotty looking cabins. Asked for an upgrade but apparently none available! Not convinced. For me this is supposed to be a holiday of a lifetime. Was looking forward to two nights in the same place - just wish it wasn't here. Single woman travelling alone - stick her in there!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greygriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear graygriffen,
The shortcomings in service and quality you experienced are regrettable and clearly missed the mark in several areas on several different occasions. Clearly, this is unacceptable and not typical of the level and quality of service upon which we built our reputation and sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to create more memorable experiences. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

On arrival we were excited to see the location of the resort so close to the beautiful lake Le Beauvert. Unfortunately it went downhill from then on. We were checked into a standard room and only found this out when we entered the room. A walk back to reception was needed to ask them to sort out the junior suite we'd paid for but the attitude of the Reception Staff was " well, we are 90% full !". The junior suite was a real let down. It was cold, quite worn and no view of the lake. We were so disappointed by the whole experience that we spent all our time in Jasper only returning to the Resort to sleep. They couldn't even service the room - not our idea of a 5 star resort.

The Fairmont has a good reputation let down by this 'holiday camp' resort. Will not be returning.

Room Tip: Consider a hotel in Jasper - better value and most likely a more enjoyable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Ann R,
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide excellent service and cleanliness and unfortunately we failed to provide this for you. After further investigation our Housekeeping Managers noted there was a “Do not disturb” sign placed on your door. It is our standard to leave a message requesting a convenient time to provide daily stayover service. We truly respect our guest’s privacy and apologize this was missed. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future and wow you with the luxury service our team is truly capable of providing. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A tough review to write --- I think I'm on the same tour as previous reviewers!
The train got in late; c'est la vie. The cabin was 80 degrees! Curtains were wide open to the setting sun and we find out --- no air conditioning. Leave windows open; run ceiling fan.
Go to dinner and the dining room closes at 10. It's almost 10. They bend over backwards to provide us with a full 3 course and very delicious meal. Excellent.
The buildings are showing they're age --- broken concrete on our patio. Now what one expects at a Fairmont.
People great; physical plant needs work.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randalljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Randalljay
Thank you for your review of our property. We are delighted to hear our staff went above and beyond to ensure everyone had a great meal. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to our teams. Please accept our apologies about the condition of your patio. With the support of our owners we continue to address and improve upon our hotel product each year. We are currently renovating the older patios throughout our property. Your comments are helpful to us in this regard, and allow us to confirm that we are investing in improvements that are most important to our valued guests. We hope to welcome you back in the near future to create a more memorable experience. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

To start with, the grounds are fabulous. On the shores of a breathtaking lake, snow-capped mountains, elk, and even bear. Well we didn't see any bear but we are pretty sure that they were there and we were warned not to pat them should we intercept one going about it's beary-business.

There's a golf course that looks just fine, although I didn’t have time to be defeated by it. The staff were friendly and helpful.

To be fair we were on a package tour. However there were some pretty major problems with the accommodation.

We were in a cabin. The room itself was OK except;

. the bed was extraordinarily high. At 5', my wife needed a chair to climb onto it. And there were a number of other folk in our group who were similarly challenged. It was just silly. AND the legs on the bed appeared to have been originally designed by a cruel inquisitor as toe-breakers.

. the toilet. OK. You don’t spend a lot of time in there, but it was, to put it mildly, compact. Wedged solidly between the shower and the sink, fuller-figured may have needed to grease-up the hips to squeeze into an appropriate position. Even those of modest girth found it snug.


The meal we were served was not one of the greats. To be fair, we were on a package tour, but the main course of fish was provided without an alternative. We asked and were told that they would be happy to serve us chicken. And it was tasty too. A number of fellow travellers looked hungrily on at our chicken and complained about their fish.

I reiterate that we were on a package (Princess) and our experiences may not be universal.

Room Tip: Some of the cabins have steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serene_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Serene_Traveller,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy our beautiful surroundings! We are disappointed to read that the rest of your stay was not up to the high standards we are known for. Please accept our apologies regarding the height of our beds and size of our bathrooms. We offer many different room options to suit our guests’ preferences and we encourage all guests to make requests for certain sizes, viewpoints and locations within the hotel. We hope for an opportunity to welcome you back and will ensure that your next guestroom has a larger bathroom and a solution for making the bed more accessible. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.0 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Property: Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing