We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“below standards for Fairmont -- highly do not recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“below standards for Fairmont -- highly do not recommend”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

came off the Rocky Mountain train. Very basic rooms - too damn small. Wood rotten, bathroom
were not clean. You have to walk to the main lodge. Too many bears roaming around to walk
about. Only the ground were a A + no air conditioning. Only a small fan. PAID WHY TOO
MUCH FOR THIS PROPERTY. Rate the rooms like a Super 6 or 8. Chairs where too small
to sit in, beds not comfortable at all.

Again the ground are great including the lake. That's it.

Room Tip: Do not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Donna H,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased you enjoyed our property. It is, however, unfortunate you had less than a satisfactory overall experience with us. We continuously strive to meet and exceed guest expectations and clearly did not achieve that with you, of which we apologize for. We hope to welcome you back for a chance to create a more positive, memorable experience. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    869
    673
    462
    259
See reviews for
927
1,746
70
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Only wish that I got time to explore the property a lot more. It was a short and snappy trip but an excellent one. Comfy well furbished rooms, great restaurant and a lake to walk around in the morning.. what else does one need? Not to mention that it looks right out of a postcard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supsonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Supsonthemove,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us, it is too bad you couldn’t stay longer! With so much to do around the lodge it is hard to see it all in one day. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future so you can continue exploring all the Jasper has to offer! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We've always loved a Fairmont Resort.......and this one really didn't lets us down...completely....
The area is so breath taking with lots of room to roam. They have a beautiful golf course and you can golf until 10 pm. They rent boats,bikes and kayaks. The main lodge has the best restaurants, spa and shopping. The Town of Jasper is very close by, just a short drive.
The accommodations are cottage style, a little rustic but with the nice Fairmont bedding and linens. Rooms have a small fridge and coffee Center. Plus we had a turn down service in the evening and they left us a small card telling us what the weather will be the next day and a chocolate....
Now the BAD...and I know that this stuff has to be done, but while we were there, the unit beside us was being renovated and we had noise about 9 in every morning. Plus they are redoing the stone walls in front of the cottages and we had jack hammering and dust. But couldn't they have spread the construction out some.. Also there was no parking near our unit ..we waited an hour to leave one day because we were blocked in by a service cart. Also the first day we were there, the toilet had hot water in it...which was funny, we thought it was something new..haha..nope just a broken water line..it was fixed quickly..
The lodge service was fast and friendly, but we did see a chair by the lake had used bar glasses on the arm for about 3 days.
I'm sure if we had complained about the noise they would have moved us but we had settled in before we realized...
But then there is that awesome view....

Room Tip: Just relax and enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitten50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Kitten50,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of your recent stay; we very much value the input of our loyal Fairmont guests. We are pleased you were able to enjoy our on-site activities, the spa and the great restaurants. It is however, disappointing to hear you were disturbed by the construction and lack of parking. Please accept our apologies for these challenges. Since we’re always looking for new ways to improve, parts of the hotel are on rare occasions are subject to construction or renovations. The timing of these projects are very carefully considered to limit the effects on guests’ experiences. We will certainly look into changing the scheduled construction times to limit the effect it has on our guests. Please note we do offer 24 hour valet service as we realize not every cabin has parking close by, our bell team would be happy to assist. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgeon County
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Everything was real good except the hotel ran out of steaks before everyone ate during the large banquet. The setting is beautiful. Nicely groomed park like setting. Great for walks around the lake. Many tho.fs to do, I.e. rent canoes or bicycles, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear James C
Thank you for providing feedback of your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies in regards to your meal. We will follow up with our banquet and culinary teams to ensure this does not happen in the future. We are delighted you were able to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and Canada's #1 Golf Resort! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My partner and I stayed for two nights at "The Lodge", check-in was smooth and we were upgraded to a junior suite with a beautiful view of the lake, but the room was surprisingly rustic for Fairmont standards, and the air conditioning in the room was very loud which made it a little challenging for sleep. We never actually ate on the property, check out my other reviews for some superb dining options that we checked out in town which were way more affordable than the hotel itself. The grounds are really beautiful and impeccably maintained, but it's a little less convenient especially if you don't have access to a vehicle to go back and forth from town. Recommended, particularly if you have to pay the same amount to stay at a place in town, but better dining options exist in town!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Smartyboy,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are happy we were able to upgrade you to one of our suites over looking beautiful Lac Beauvert! We will make sure the air conditioning unit in your cabin is fixed by our maintenance team and we thank you for letting us know. We hope you were still able to enjoy all the Jasper has to offer and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We arrived in Jasper by train and were lucky to meet the shuttle service - which we hadn't been told about! The driver was helpful and friendly. The hotel is approximately 6 kilometres out of Jasper so the shuttle is a necessity.

We had arrived late by 90 minutes in mid afternoon as part of a small tour party. Even though they clearly knew our arrival time and we were President's Club members our rooms were not ready. This seems odd given that many of their guests arrive on the Canadian or Rocky Mountaineer.

The cabin was a good size with a lounge area and bedroom. The room was very warm and there is no air conditioning, so opened all the windows and left them open for the next two days. Other guests had the same issue and we were told the hotel was less than helpful.

The location is magnificent with its own lake and views over the Rockies. A walk around the lake is a wonderful way to spend an afternoon. The facilities are good although as a captive audience there were limited options for eating - especially breakfast (either the full buffet or a minimal cafe).

To get in and back from town they have a shuttle service. It is too infrequent and seemed to be over used even out of season. We had to be put in a taxi as the shuttle and back up bus were both full.

A lovely hotel in a great position but isolated from the town.

Three suggestions - 1. put in air conditioning (five stars require modern facilities) and 2. improve the shuttle service it is inadequate (we would probably stay in town next time) and, 3. if you want rail travellers don't make them wait for a room.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin close to the main hotel building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loud1Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Loud1Canberra,
Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us. We are delighted you were able to enjoy some aspects of your stay. We are disappointed to read that the rest of your stay was not up to the high standards we are known for. Please note we offer a variety of breakfast options including: full buffet breakfast, continental buffet breakfast, a la carte breakfast and Fitzhugh’s to go that offers a wide variety of fresh baked pastries, breakfast sandwiches and cold cereals. We apologize that this information was not given to you upon your arrival or during your stay. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future to create a more memorable experience. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed as part of a Scenic Tour. The setting and scenery is amazing. We had a elk camp on the lawn at the front of our lodge. The lodge was recently renovated but when we walked in on a 20o day the room was heated to 25o! There is no air conditioning. We slept with the windows and front door open to try and cool it. We also had no hot water on our first morning and when we spoke to the front desk they weren't very interested or helpful.

This doesn't really have the 'Fairmont' feel for service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillandJohn012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Jillandjohn020
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed the scenery and were able to see some wildlife during your trip. Please accept our apologies in regards to the temperature in your guest room and the service provided by the front desk. We can certainly understand your frustration. We will be addressing this issue with our team to ensure that challenges like these are better handled in the future and do not have a negative impact on our guests. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.0 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Property: Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing