We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location--Fairmont?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location--Fairmont?”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautiful property, especially if you get a lakeside cabin. The location of the cabin room was fantastic. We stayed 2 nights and it was enough time to explore the Jasper area. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant.

However the room felt like it needed refreshing. In fact they were doing some work on the property near our room, (outdoor masonry work) but it seemed like there were many areas around the property that needed attention. Little details that Fairmont seems to get right at other hotels were unattended to, such as ripped screens, chipped resurfaced baths, banged up furniture and a stand alone air-conditioning unit piped through a window, that the staff kept turning on even with the heat on. However the bed was very comfortable, and the sitting area facing the lake was very relaxing.

We had one casual dinner at the bar area that was good, and a very expensive breakfast in the downstairs restaurant that was so-so--and way too costly. All in all I would recommend, because it is probably the best in the area, and the property is so nice that the little flaws and the comfortable bed made up for the flaws in what I hope is the making of a great Fairmont hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxandLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear MaxandLola,
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. We very much value the input of our loyal Fairmont guests. We are delighted you were able to enjoy our location, our helpful staff and our beds. Please accept our apologies in regards to the small details that were overlooked in your room. We have brought this to the attention of the appropriate department heads to ensure that we remain committed to every detail of guestroom maintenance. There is never an excuse for these details being missed and we are truly sorry. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,316
    876
    677
    462
    259
See reviews for
930
1,756
71
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Disappointed – The price for the Jasper Park Lodge is way too high for the quality of the room. The bathroom was very small and we could hear just about EVERTHING from the rooms next door. There is no air conditioning and the windows were too small to allow much air through them. The door to the balcony and the entrance to the room both had screen doors which allowed for a cross breeze, but the balcony next to ours was so close that with the door open we had no privacy. The second day at 4:00 we came back to our room after a day of hiking and housekeeping had not been there yet. We wanted to relax and take showers before heading into Jasper but instead we felt hurried to get out of the room so housekeeping, who were waiting outside, could come in. Wasn’t a huge deal but, was definitely annoying. What other people have called rustic or nostalgic, I would just call shabby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsehj4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear jsehj4ever,
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies that your room did not meet your expectations. We appreciate learning the details of your visit and will ensure follow-up will occur as what has been reported is not indicative of the level of service or quality we strive to provide our guests. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back to create a more positive and memorable experience with us. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent for 3 glorious nights in the Whistler Cabin. Mt. Edith Cavell, snowcapped in July. Mirror mountain reflections in the clear water of Beauvert Lake. Try Evil Daves in town for a great meal and don't get too close to the Wapati.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silver-foxe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Silver-foxe1,
Thank you for your positive review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your views from the whistler cabin. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've stayed at Fairmonts before, and I was disappointed in this property. The room, while it had a nice view, was pretty worn out. I would compare it to an upgraded Super 8. I looked around and thought "$500 a night, are they kidding?" The biggest problem was the lack of air conditioning. The hotel is aware this is a problem - they have a note in their hotel directory book that says average temperatures in Jasper are usually low and we should close the curtains during the day to keep the room cool.... So I have a lake view that I can't see because I have to keep the curtains closed. The room was too warm, even with the windows open, and I could hear people outside and noise from the lounge.

I was also disappointed in the food. For room service, my burger was overcooked and fries were cold and soggy. One morning I went to the breakfast buffet to find a lobby full of irate, hungry people waiting to eat. Apparently the hotel was not prepared for the tour groups. An hour later, we were finally given a table. Our waitress was missing most of the time and I was finished eating before she offered drinks. However, the next morning we were given a table immediately and the waitress was great, so I suppose its hit or miss.

I did appreciate the cafe. The woman working was very nice, and the food was quite good.

Room Tip: If you visit in the summer, make sure your room will get a breeze. My room was on the end and tucked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADSeattle98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear ADSeattle98,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed the food and service at Fitzhugh’s to go, however, we are disappointed to hear the rest of your stay was not up to the same standards. Please accept our apologies in regards to your room accommodations and meals from in room dining. It is with comments such as yours that allow us to continuously improve our offerings and we hope to welcome you back for a chance to create a more positive, memorable experience. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed the second two nights of our Canadian and Alaskan holiday early June at this outstanding hotel. We arrived tired after a long days coach trip via Athabasca Glazier and Glazier Skywalk and were quickly checked in and transported to our bungalow. We found the beds very high so had a stool delivered from the main building, The views from the hotel dining room were magnificant and we enjoyed superb food. The beds were very comfortable and we had a undisturbed sleep. Next morning we were scheduled for coach tour to Lake Maligne but on enquiring at Concierge found we did not have the necessary voucher. This was Sunday morning but Nicole (Concierge) spent a lengthy time helping us and eventually had a voucher faxed for us to join the afternoon coach tour. She saved this part of our prepaid holiday being spoilt. On returning to the hotel we had a lovely rekaxing evening meal outside on the veranda in the sun with the lake and mountain view. As the bungalows are well spread out it is necessary to call for a buggy transport - this was the only drawback to this hotel as it would have been easier having our own car. On the plus side wild life could walk between the bungalows and early morning was best for viewing them

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear H Alan J,
Thank you for your positive review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure to pass along your kind comments about Nicole! We hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

At Jasper we stayed at the Fairmont Park Lodge Hotel, a beautiful park hotel with rustic cabins in grounds bordering a lake.

First impressions were a well run establishment and we were efficiently checked in and given our keys with a map of the site. Our allocated accommodation was a quarter of a lakeside cabin building. The accommodation was very spacious; rustic, but well equipped with a partitioned lounge area, king-size bed, tea and coffee facilities, iron, ironing board, and bathroom with bath, shower etc., however, the cabin was exceedingly hot, far too hot! The heating was off. Thinking that perhaps it had been warmed by the sun during he day, we attempted to cool the building by opening all the windows and putting on the supplied portable fan and the ceiling fan - and went to dinner.

Once again Fairmont seem to take advantage of its position of being a little out of town by charging a premium for meals - however, to their credit, we had a most wonderful mean in one of the restaurants, the Mooses Nook.

Returning to our cabin the measures we had taken to cool the accommodation had met with little success. We had a dreadful night's sleep due to the heat and the inconsideration of one of our fellow guests within the building who seemed to need their TV left on all night. The next morning we left a note for housekeeping. Our maid confirmed the room didn't have air conditioning and that the heating was off (thanks for stating the obvious) and suggested that if we were too hot we should contact reception who may be able to provide a potable air-conditioning unit. The heat within the room was from the floor, particularly the tiled bathroom so we called to reception to ask for the underfloor heating to be turned off.

After much to-ing and fro-ing we were eventually told by a maintenance man that this is a problem experienced every spring and autumn: the un-lagged steam pipes which feed to all the radiators in all the huts run under the floor and there's nothing they can do about it, save provide a couple of bottles of water and some ice! Whilst the refreshments were very welcome, it is hardly a satisfactory solution to a long-standing problem which should have been attended to years ago!

As a result of Fairmont's complacency over this long-standing problem we had two poor night's sleep - at a cost which should have guaranteed that at the very least. There is little doubt that most other cabins were similarly affected judging by the numbers who had to keep all their windows open all night too.

Room Tip: Don't book the hotel in either spring or autumn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flombergasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Flombergasp,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you found our check in to be quick and effeicient and enjoyed your spacious room accommodation. Please accept our apologies in regards to your room temperature. We can certainly understand your frustration. Thank you again for taking the time to write and share your observations as we learn so much from our guests and their expectations. Notes such as yours allow us to frame up constructive feedback and enable us to better serve our guests. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future for a more posivtie, memorable stay. Sicnerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile




Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, and the room was good but the bathroom was quite tiny, but to be fair we booked a cheaper room (we had a queen bed). We got the top floor and we were pleasantly surprised with a balcony that had a lake view:)

We had beautiful weather so, it was awesome to lounge by the pool. The view by the pool is stunning! Also, the pool is heated to an amazingly warm temperature if you hate cold pools. Lol

We splurged for our anniversary with a intimate dinner on the lake. It is a special menu with your own private server. Everything about it was amazing, from the glass of champagne to start off to the amazing views. Our private server, Stephen, was just the best!


Qualms - We had a great server at Emerald lounge on our first night but he was so over loaded with tables he could barely get to our table to see if we needed anything. Also, guacomole is a $5 charge with the nachos which is fine but it should be more than 6 tablespoons.

Our room never got cleaned. The second night we got back around 5 and they still hadn't cleaned the room. We phoned to see when they normally clean by and they said until 6. This seems quite late, since most people would be getting back to their rooms to get ready for supper, which was the case for us. Also, we had our dog and she didnt like other people in the room with her. So we said to just leave it for the night, but asked them to clean it before 4:30 the next day. They said no problem. Next day, we got back around 4:30 and again nothing was cleaned. We had a spa appt at 5 and were planning on leaving the dog in the room. We phoned again and they said they would send someone right away. We also explained the dog situation and we had to set up a dog sitter very last minute with the hotel.
So we left the room to go to the spa and dropped the dog at the sitter, while the room was getting cleaned. Came back about and hour and half later to find the bed made and the towels switched. The floors were still all dirty, dirty dishes in room etc.

We got ready regardless to go for supper and went to the front desk to let them know what was going on. All they said was that they were really sorry and thankyou for bringing it to their attention. For a Fairmont (and I've stayed in a few) this was pretty bad.

You can tell by our other reviews we are pretty easy going and love most everywhere we stay, we just really felt we should write our experience.

In conclusion, it's a beautiful setting, with good food and friendly staff but they have major issues with the cleaning schedule and cleaning staff

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHamms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear TheHamms,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy you chose us to celebrate such a special occasion and had such a great dinner on our private sundeck. We will be sure to pass on your kind comments to your server, Stephan. Please accept our apologies that your room was not made up by your requested time. We will be discussing these issues with our housekeeping staff to ensure it does not negatively affect our guests in the future. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.0 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Property: Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing