We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location and great staff but disappointing accommodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cheshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and great staff but disappointing accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I travelled to Canada in June 2014 and stayed at several Fairmont hotels in Vancouver, Vancouver Island, Jasper, Lake Louise and Banff during our 24 day stay. We stayed in Jasper Park Lodge for 4 nights having travelled from Vancouver to Jasper on the Rocky Mountaineer. The weather was excellent and the scenery at Jasper Park breathtaking. Staff at the hotel were courteous, helpful and friendly. Accommodation however was disappointing and in stark contrast to the excellent accommodation provided at other Fairmont hotels. The rooms were reminiscent of an average quality, 1980s style motel. The bathroom and decor was dated and the absence of A/C or adequate ventilation made the cabin style rooms very stuffy and uncomfortable during day and night. There was ample free parking around the hotel and as "President Club" members we were eligible for free WiFi. An outdoor pool and the main restaurant overlooked the lake and snow capped mountains. The quality of the food at the hotel was good although not cheap. Would I stay at Jasper Park again? Despite the beautiful location and excellent staff - no! For the price tag and Fairmont reputation the accommodation should be upgraded and cabins provided with adequate temperature control.

Green Features: This hotel had environmentally friendly practices regarding linen reuse and low energy lightbulbs.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gutman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Gutman10,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are thrilled you were able to enjoy the beautiful scenery that surrounds Jasper National Park – good weather always helps too! We are also happy you were provided with the great service we are known for. Please accept our most sincere apologies your guest room did not meet your expectations. We can appreciate that some areas of the hotel are older than others and would benefit from updated décor. As you touch on, we are in the process of addressing this through renovations and we hope for an opportunity to showcase these renovations to you in the future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,288
    859
    669
    461
    259
See reviews for
919
1,733
69
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

On a trip travelling through the Rookies working our way from Calvary to Vancouver. Have stayed in numerous hotels on the way and the Jasper Park Lodge is not a nice experience.

Our room was quite away from reception so had to drive and find a space in the limit parking. Followed the path from the car park to the room to discover the door had a double lock and we only had a 1 key for one lock. Had to trek back to reception to sort it out, they said they'd send somebody out. Waited for 20 minutes and nobody had arrived so had to call up reception from our mobile to get somebody out. When somebody came, turned out our room had 2 doors; a front and a back and the front door (the one the path went to from the car park!) only opens from the inside. Bell boy said this happens all the time... Sounds like there needs to be a process change and have reception inform guests that there a 2 doors to some room. If this was the case we would have realised straight away there was another entry into the room and it would of avoided all the issues.

Rooms are a bit old and dated but that didn't really bother me that much. The bed frame is rubbish and I stubbed my toe and banged my shins numerous times. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything in the next room, so thanks to the idiot next door for playing the banjo at 1am in the morning.

After sorting our room out it was 9.30pm so we went for a stroll in the grounds and end up in the lounge area. We were in there for approx 45 minutes and not once did anybody ask us if we wanted a drink from the bar - Nice service!

Paying for wifi is a joking, yes you can get it for free if you join the presidents club and are prepared to be email spammed, but why should I have to? Every other hotel on my trip has had free WiFi.

This hotel charges a premium but you get lower than standard service.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Mark V,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are terribly disappointed to hear that your stay was not as memorable as we would like. Clearly, several aspects of our services failed to meet your expectations during your visit with us and we are truly sorry. All feedback is welcomed and we strive to use every piece of feedback to continually improve our services and offerings. Your experience was in no way indicative of our normal level of quality and service and we hope that you may give us a second chance in the future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I am in the room right now and it's 11:16pm and there is lots of yelling and shouting going on outside. Sounds like lots of fun, but not past 11:00pm when you are trying to get some rest. I am in a "cabin" with rooms on either side. To the left, I can hear the couple listening to the news and the right, I can hear the word-for-word conversation of the other couple. Needless to say, there is no sound-proofing between rooms. The cabins are rustic (see old and dilapidated) and I can't even say there is any "charm" about them. They are poorly lit and pretty dingy. There is no AC, so leaving the windows open means you get to hear the late-night folks getting rowdy back to their room. Having stayed in other Fairmonts, I can't believe this place is as run-down as it is. It really is like summer sleep-away camp - with all the noise, dirt, shabbiness and rowdiness. Someone from Fairmont management needs to come take a look at this place. Just because you have the name Fairmont, doesn't mean the property meets that level of excellence, and this one most certainly does not. Based on this property, I can't say I am inclined to stay at a Fairmont every again. Sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaLawyerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear FloridaLawyerchick,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a TripAdvisor review of our property. Feedback is very important to us as we consistently review our practices to ensure we offer our guests the service and products they deserve. We were very concerned to read your review and hear of your disappointment in a few areas. We can certainly sympathize with your frustration in regards to the noise from neighboring guests. Kindly note we do have security available 24 hours for situations just as these. A member of our management team will be reaching out to you to further discuss your challenges. Again, we are truly sorry for these challenges and hope to be in contact before you depart. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just stayed 2 nights. Magnificent view of lake from main area of hotel & some of the lodges but our room had no lake view was very basic with a cramped bathroom. Cleanliness needs to be addressed all throughout the premises. Dirty glass windows/doors in main terrace area where patrons dine at restaurant. Crumbs & debri around tables was still there the next morning at 7:30am. Ladies' toilets in the lobby area weren't flushing & talking with others in the larger lodges with several bedrooms they were deeply disappointed with poor maintenance & cleanliness.

However key people in their organisation made the short stay pleasant - Yanni in the restaurant/bar off the terrace - Emily who drove patrons from their lodgings to reception & Dani in the boutique "Open Country" downstairs in the hotel were all professional, competent & a delight to deal with. Management needs to reward them for their interpersonal skills & service to patrons but seriously address cleanliness & maintenance issues.

Room Tip: Join the Fairmont's President's Club & WiFi is free.
See more room tips
Green Features: Not obviously promoted. Certainly alerted to not feeding wildlife.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knightley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Jan C,
Thank you for providing us feedback from your recent stay with us. We are delighted you experienced such great service and will be sure to pass along your kind comments to Yanni, Emily and Dani. Providing impeccable service from the moment our guests arrive until the moment they leave is a hallmark of the Fairmont experience. We are disappointed to read of the cleanliness challenges you faced and can assure you these issues will be taken care of immediately. Your experience was in no way indicative of our normal level of quality and service and we hope that you may give us a second chance in the future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed in a cottage near the lake with my partner. It was in November, very cold and a bit snowy. It was a magical time of year to be there. I loved it. The food at the hotel was lovely. We were there with a bunch of friends and the hotel was very accommodating. I will definitely return and am thinking of getting married there!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbdfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi bbdfan, thank you for posting your comments. Winter is a lovely time to visit and we hope you were cozy in your cabin. We would love to see you get married here - winter, spring, summer or fall - all seasons are beautiful in Jasper. Please feel free to contact us directly at weddinginquiries@fairmont.com if you'd like to speak with one of our fabulous planners. We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel location, restaurant facilities and above all the staff, are all excellent. The guest rooms however are in poor decorative order, dated and certainly not worth the $500 CAD we paid. Apparently there is a planned upgrade of the rooms which may make it the hotel it claims to be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Chris L,
Thank you for providing us feedback from your recent stay. We are thrilled you found our location, staff and restaurant facilities excellent. Please accept our apologies that your guest room did not meet your expectations . As you touch on, we are in the process of addressing this through renovations and we hope for an opportunity to welcome you back to an updated room in the future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed two nights at JPL followed by two nights at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. They were both very enjoyable but quite different kinds of places. The Chateau Lake Louise is certainly more elegant with a more exquisite location. JPL is off by itself with no other hotels nearby. JPL has less of the madding crowds. True, it is a fair distance from town but I considered that a plus. Our room was in the main lodge with a veranda with a view of the lake and the mountains. I used a certificate for a free room upgrade. The concierge booked a trip for us to Lake Maligne that included a lake cruise. We were picked up at the hotel and had a nice narrated trip with stops to look at very interesting places on the way to the lake. I suggest this trip if you have the time, it took about a half a day. The canoeing on the lake next to lodge was a treat and not expensive. The room was quite nice with none of the problems mentioned in some of the other reviews. The temperatures were moderate so no need for air conditioning, but I can understand that that could be a problem. The staff was courteous and helpful. I hope to go again next year and hope I can write another good review. Tip: join the Fairmont Presidents Club and the wii-fi is free, also you will have access to some special promotional deals.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barts448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi barts488, thank you for sharing your experience with us! You're right - all of our properties, especially the Fairmont Banff Springs, Chateau Lake Louise and Jasper Park Lodge are unique and very different from each other. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Maligne Lake and Spirit Island, and that you were able to take advantage of the canoes on Lac Beauvert. Thank you for sharing the tip about joining the Fairmont Presidents Club to get access to complimentary wifi! We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#7 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Property: Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing