We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very disappointed, small rooms that need urgent refurbishment, scuffed and worn furniture and dirty walls.
So called free parking was two hundred metres from our room, and we were threatened with fines and towing away! Our patio area was dirty and unkempt, weeds and unswept.
Bathroom inadequately stocked and way too small. Only thing going for this establishment is the beautiful location. Way overpriced.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Ingrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Ingrid H,
Thank you for providing your comments and observations of your recent stay with us. We are always looking at ways to improve and always appreciate feedback from our valued guests. We are very disappointed to read your comments about your experience with us. There is no excuse for minor issues like scuff marks on wallpaper and we have brought this to the attention of the appropriate department heads to ensure that we remain committed to every detail of guestroom maintenance. Thank you for your comments regarding your patio and entrance, we will ensure this is taken care of right away. We hope in the future you will feel comfortable alerting the Front Desk, as our managers on duty would have addressed the issue and would be happy to correct them. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,301 - 2,307 of 4,033 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have spent countless stays in Fairmont properties.

JPL in short summary, is a luxury setting with a very dated accommodation. That said, we loved our stay. It helped that we knew what we were getting into before arriving.

The rooms are very dated, lacking some care (radiator covers poking out needing screws etc). They setting is near no other. We are fortunate enough to live 4.5 hours away, and finally decided to take a local stay-cation during the week before August long.

Be prepared to pay big bucks for everything. Our lakefront suite was $700/night and the view was worth every penny of that. If you don't have the view, I would struggle find justify paying half that.

The lodge is 8 minute drive to town center, so close for groceries etc.

Restaurant was okay, your standard Fairmont $64 2 entree 1 beer lunch and $50 breakfast for 2. That said, it was noticeable that the chef had used the onion knife for cutting the melons in a fruit bowl. Oh well.

If you come here expecting luxury accommodations with marble floors, this isnt for you. If you come here expecting luxury amenities, and luxury location.... Then this is for you.

In Jasper, it is similar to Oahu in the sense that everything is laid back and tired. To find a premium luxury 5star hotel here aesthetically, just doesn't exist.

The pool was great for our little one, warm and again a second to none view. The room was so tired, but at least clean.

All in all, I would sooner pay $900 a night over $700 and have this place upgrade the suites. But in Jasper, you cannot have your cake and eat it too.

Room Tip: get a lake view, it's part of why you're coming here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richknebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear richknebel,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in regards to your experience at our property. We are delighted you enjoyed our luxury amenities and location and your little one enjoyed our outdoor heated pool! We truly appreciate your valuable feedback and can assure you that your comments have been taken very seriously and will be beneficial in assisting us in the future. We do hope that one day we will be able to welcome you back to enjoy the true Canadian Lodge experience that we strive to offer all of our guests. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were attending a family wedding and everyone agreed it was an absolutely beautiful setting. We were impressed with the email confirmation that our room was ready at 11 am however when we arrived at 3 pm and were told it was not ready, we were disappointed. The room was clean, but the tired furniture, the poor condition of the tiles in the bathroom just left you wishing for more.
The coffee maker did not work. There was no air conditioning and it was 30 degrees, unusual for that area, I admit. The bell hops appeared to be helpful and were certainly hospitable. The price of food was high. The interlocking brick sidewalks needed to be levelled and the cottages needed to be freshened up. Like I said "tired".

Room Tip: Beautiful view if you have lakeview cabins/rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjeanthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear kjeanthorpe,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies your room was not ready upon arrival and you found your guest room to be ‘tired’. This year we are continuing working with designers to finalize a future multi-year guest room upgrade project. Combining its proud heritage with the grand vision of a luxury resort in the Canadian Rockies, this substantial investment is another milestone in the rich history of The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. Your comments are valuable to ensure that our priorities are aligned with our guests and we hope to see you again in the near future! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very outdated. Way over priced.
no air in rooms very old in need of a good coat of paint and major bathroom update.My credit card was over billed am awaiting the outcome.
Staff was very pleasant.
the steam and locker rooms were not well kept at all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Leonard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Leonard O,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We would like to apologize for the challenges you faced with us. Feedback is very important to us as we consistently review our practices to ensure we offer our guests the service and products they deserve. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our vacation stay at Jasper is enhanced totally by staying at Fairmont Jasper Lodge. I know the rate is a bit higher than most of the accomodation at Jasper, but it is worth it. The service, the amenities, the Location is so perfect !!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Han P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Han P,
Thank you for your positive review! We know that even the best locations and offerings would be meaningless without outstanding guest service. Our skilled and motivated staff is equipped with the tools and the mindset to naturally deliver on this promise. We are thrilled you were able to experience such service and hope to get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great room but no air conditioning and it happened to be warm that weekend. Staff was the best of any that I have dealt with. Food was what we wanted but a little pricey.. Can't say enough about the front door staff and bell man.


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Hugh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Hugh A,
Thank you for your positive review! Within a Fairmont experience, every guest is offered a warm welcome and is made to feel special, valued and appreciated and we are thrilled you experienced this during your stay. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our stay was quite memorable. Good environment and amenities, We loved spending our time there, eating our breakfast in the patio everyday in front of the beautiful lake made us feel so calm. I recommend to rent a boat and go around the lake it is a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Parisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Parisa N,
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy you were able to enjoy your breakfast on Cavell’s Terrace – we agree it is certainly a relaxing experience! We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.0 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
446 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,623 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
628 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: £168 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing