We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge - quiet luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge will surprise you. Your room is in a log cabin style building housing about 6 rooms. Your lodge will have a kitchen, living room, and porch for you to enjoy with your cabin mates. It will be quiet! and romantic as the cabins line the beautiful lake with views of the snow capped mountains. Jasper is at a lower elevation than Banff and Lake Louise and it will be warmer here if you are touring the Canadian Rocky hotspots. Jasper ranks second to Lake Louise and ahead of Banff for the views. This is another romantic setting with a different hotel room opulence. WiFi at Fairmonts is free IF YOU JOIN the Fairmont's President Club - for free. This membership gives you free WiFi at Banff and Lake Louise.

Room Tip: To get free wifi join the Fairmont's Presidents Club for free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenFromIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear KenFromIllinois,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us! We are thrilled you were able to enjoy your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your travel companions back in the near future! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,483 - 2,489 of 4,234 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were booked at this hotel as part of the Rocky Mountaineer train trip we were on. We stayed at the end of July,2014 and it was very hot- in the mid 90's (F). I wish I had read the reviews before staying here but assumed since it was a Fairmont hotel it would be first class. The rooms were more like a camper cabin and 2 stars at best. We had 2 people in the room and were given a room with 2 twin beds. What hotel has rooms with twin beds? The most important thing to know is that not all rooms have air conditioning. So imagine it's 95 degrees in late July and you are trying to cool off in you room with a ceiling fan and a small room fan. NOT!!! The furniture in the room was in poor condition with holes and big scratches. The room is in need of an extreme makeover. Not only were the rooms not air conditioned but the lodge didn't have any either. So if you think you could escape the heat of your room by hanging out in the lodge to cool off, forget it. There are many other options for lodging in Jasper. Take my advice and make another choice

Room Tip: Request a room with air conditioning if you are staying during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SGCAVER12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear SGCAVER12,
Thank you for your comments and observations. Please accept our most sincere apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations. This year we are continuing working with designers to finalize a future multi-year guest room upgrade project. Your comments are valuable to ensure that our priorities are aligned with our guests. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the quality hospitality and accommodations you expect should you return to our area in the future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The best thing I can say about this hotel is that it is situated in a beautiful location. Aside from being terribly overpriced (over $400 for a basic room), the rooms are old, small, and poorly appointed. The bathroom and sink area were so small that we had to "stage" our cosmetics outside and carry only what was essential into the room. The sliding door on our closet was off its track, and it took the staff two attempts to get it fixed. There is no ice available in the rooms; we had to call the front desk to get some delivered. The parking situation is awful; there are not enough spots for all the guests, and most of the parking is not located near the rooms. The restaurant was overpriced, and the food was mediocre. Our $17 caesar salad arrived with stale lettuce. No air conditioning, although this is not typically a major problem in Jasper.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank sam-I-am-0014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Sam-I-am-0014,
Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent stay with us. While we are delighted you enjoyed our beautiful location, we are disappointed to read of the challenges you faced during your stay. We can agree that finding a parking spot right out front of you cabin can sometimes be a challenge. We like to maintain an idyllic natural setting our guests can enjoy and have consciously chosen not to turn valuable green space into more concrete parking spots. In many cases additional parking would hinder views and the pristine surroundings. We have a great team of valets who are friendly, efficient and available 24 hours a day that would be happy to assist with parking your vehicle. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the quality hospitality and accommodations you expect should you return to our area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

First, since the first time I visited the Jasper Park lodge in 2001, I've wanted to return. And the property didn't disappoint. It is a really special piece of earth. The beautiful Lac Beauvert is surrounded by the magnificent peaks of the Northern Canadian Rockies... The air feels better and you feel more in touch with nature than any other resort we ever visit. But, the property is aging and if you're not careful, I fear you could end up in an accommodation that has you feeling like a 12 year old camper at a medium level summer camp.

We shared the Stanley Thompson Cabin with another family, so 4 adults and 4 children in a 4 bedroom and it was Jasper Park Lodge at its best. The previous version of this cabin burnt down a couple of years ago and the new version is clean, well appointed and simply beautiful. It also has a pretty nice location along the first hole of the wonderful and I mean wonderful golf course. Funny enough, the "Signature Cabins" while pricey, don't always give you the best location or view on property. In fact the Outlook Cabin, where the Queen has frequented, looks primarily over a parking lot or other cabins and at 5000 plus per night... I think some of that has to do with the strict rules of the National Park.

We stayed in Four Fairmont properties on this trip and the other 3 will be ranked at 5 stars. Fairmont is on the top of their game for service, but this property struggled. Perhaps it is the uniqueness of the wide spread campus or the ability to get and keep help long term in such a remote location, but nonetheless, the crisp, remarkable, process driven service struggled at Jasper, but without calamity... just no "Wow" or memorable moments. In fact, I am short to remember one name from the staff we encountered...

I would be remiss if I did not mention the GOLF! The Jasper Park Golf Course is ranked #1 in Canada and it certainly earns that reputation. At 100 years old or so, Stanley Thompson's masterpiece is just that and I could play it every day of my life and never be bored. In fact, I ran into the renowned architect Robert Trent Jones Jr, at breakfast, and he enjoyed it too. And he knows a little about golf.

Food was good. Moose's Nook and Cavell's are both very solid and offer a terrific wine list and reasonable prices for the offerings.

Look, you want to go to Jasper, and you want to stay at JPL. Just be realistic or do the work to make sure your accommodation is right. I am told they are going to invest 50 million dollars in the property. I am thankful, because I want to visit the Jasper Park Lodge for many years to come, but on this visit, the property and the people perform at a "3 Star" level.

Room Tip: Do your research and request what you want! If you can afford to pick a cabin or specific accommodat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davek36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Davek36,
We would like to thank you for your honest review of your recent stay with us. We very much value the input of our loyal Fairmont guests as you’ve come to expect a certain level of quality from our hotels. We eagerly take in any feedback whether positive or negative, as it will only help us improve the product and service we offer. We are thrilled you enjoyed your rounds of golf, the cuisine and your stay in our newly renovated Stanley Thompson Signature Cabin. Within a Fairmont experience, every guest is offered a warm welcome and is made to feel special, valued and appreciated and we were disappointed to read you did not experience such service. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The location and environment of this hotel are incredible but the rooms are very out-dated, not clean And very smelly. It is very dissappointing that a hotel with this history And stature is maintained so badly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Klaas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Klass B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are terribly disappointed to hear that your stay was not as memorable as we would like. While we cannot change the past, we are committed to continuous improvements and learning from our shortcomings. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back and show you the exceptional and memorable experiences we strive to offer all our guests. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was by far the best place we stayed whilst travelling to meet our ship for cruise. We had one of the log cabins right by the lake side... what a feeling to open the door and find a huge moose/elk or whatever it was right on your doorstep at 5 am log cabin well appointed and set up if it was self catering and longer stay.. 2 bedrooms, bathroom kitchen and a huge lounge dining room with open log fire.... again stupendous views when sat outside the cabin of the lake right infront...
Is was in 2006 but cant add correct date..sorry... absolutely fabulous...very pleasent staff, polite isnt the word..nothing was too much trouble... food was fabulous.. this was my first holiday out of the uk and boymwhat a fabulous time. Would certainlymcome back here

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magicsangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear magicsangel,
Thank you for your positive review! We are thrilled you were able to enjoy the beautiful views, our friendly staff and even got to see some wildlife. We hope to get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very disappointed, small rooms that need urgent refurbishment, scuffed and worn furniture and dirty walls.
So called free parking was two hundred metres from our room, and we were threatened with fines and towing away! Our patio area was dirty and unkempt, weeds and unswept.
Bathroom inadequately stocked and way too small. Only thing going for this establishment is the beautiful location. Way overpriced.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Ingrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Ingrid H,
Thank you for providing your comments and observations of your recent stay with us. We are always looking at ways to improve and always appreciate feedback from our valued guests. We are very disappointed to read your comments about your experience with us. There is no excuse for minor issues like scuff marks on wallpaper and we have brought this to the attention of the appropriate department heads to ensure that we remain committed to every detail of guestroom maintenance. Thank you for your comments regarding your patio and entrance, we will ensure this is taken care of right away. We hope in the future you will feel comfortable alerting the Front Desk, as our managers on duty would have addressed the issue and would be happy to correct them. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
464 reviews
1 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,689 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
644 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: 1 Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: £127 - £515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Alberta's magnificent Jasper National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the iconic Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge resort invites you to experience our Great Canadian Lodge, surrounded by nature and abundant wildlife. Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge is a 700 acre year-round luxury mountain resort which wraps around the shores of pristine Lac Beauvert and Canada's #1 Golf Resort Course. The resort's charming village of cedar chalets and Luxury Signature Cabins, all connected by picturesque paths, offer guests unique access to explore the natural environment surrounding the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing