We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jasper Park Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had an outstanding stay at the Jasper Park Lodge. Amazing location even if it's not in town. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of the way to be helpful. They will resolve any issues you may have with a smile.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dzuy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi Dzuy V, thank you for your comments. We're very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,294 - 2,300 of 4,039 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Shabby, uncomfortable hotel a few miles outside Jasper. One of the most unpleasant stays of my life. Rooms are shabby shacks with no aircon and in the case of ours, many things that didn't work like the bedside lights, the clock, the painfully slow wifi etc.
On the first night alone we got locked out of the room and found maintenance and took an hour for maintenance to sort the broken locks. We ordered a meal in the Emerald Lounge. Nothing fancy just burgers and fries. The fries came 20 mins before the burgers.
This place is a disaster. Stay away.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oystermouthensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Oystermouthensis,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of you recent stay with us. We were most disappointed to read that your stay was not as memorable as we would like. We strive to provide all guests with the best experience and in reading your review it is evident that we have not accomplished this. It is with comments such as yours that allow us to continuously improve our offerings and we hope to welcome you back for a chance to create a more positive, memorable experience. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This property has seen better days. The whole property needs an upgrade, the rooms the grounds and the main lodge. The standard rooms are definitely on the small size. Peak season is July and August and rates are definitely on the very high side for the product they offer. Parking is impossible on weekends. They should have some type of adult swim time, loads of young loud kids.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank jadePa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Jadepa_,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Please accept our most sincere apologies that our hotel did not meet all of your expectations. Our standard rooms range from 275sq. feet, Fairmont rooms are ideal for individuals or couples. Kindly note our website lists the size of each style of guest room, for those travelers who are looking for larger accommodations. We strive to make every guests' experience a pleasant one and again, regret you were disappointed in your visit. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to create a more positive and memorable experience. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The other reviews have said it all. A truly world class environment, up there with Gleneagles and the Mandarin Hong Kong, but a hotel whose success leads it to rest on its laurels.
The lodges are from another era, tiny bath in a cramped bathroom, thin walls which have no sound insulation, 1970's decor, poor maintainance of public areas.
The breathtaking mountain views cannot be an excuse for poor quality upkeep and modernisation of facilities. Recently the Fairmont took over the Grande Dame of them all - the Savoy, it was after a full makeover and 21st Century amenities and rooms.
The room rate of JPL and the Savoy is the same - so come on Fairmont, is this poor management or value - which is it?

Room Tip: Demand the newest room or lodge available or don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gartartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Gartartan,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies your stay did not live up to your expectations. With the support of our owners we continue to address and improve upon our hotel product each year. The need for refurbishing our guestrooms is certainly an area we are discussing as we plan for future renovations. Combining our proud heritage with the grand vision of a luxury resort in the Canadian Rockies, this substantial investment will be another milestone in the rich history of The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. We hope to welcome you back for a chance to create a more positive, memorable experience. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Main lodge and gardens well-kept, guest rooms far from reception at main building and not maintained well! Gardens around guest buildings overgrown and all (not some, ALL) shrubs had winter-killed branches that hadn't been trimmed yet at end of July. One (and only one) very friendly, helpful staff member greeted us at the main hotel entrance; all other staff were competent but indifferent, offering only the most basic service. Not enough parking at our guest building. Very long, inconvenient one-way drive to go around (and around) to look for a spot. Spaces very tight and hard to get in and out of. Had to park quite a ways away and carry luggage back to room. Key we were given did not fit door, so had to walk back to main lodge for assistance. We were treated quite rudely when reporting the problem. Room was smaller than expected and very basic. Sink area and toilet were clean but shower had mould, walls were dirty. We didn't turn on the ceiling fan as it was thick with dust. Lake Beauvert is beautiful, nice pathways, great views. Construction near our room was understandable, but the workers were very loudly conversing and laughing all day which we found unprofessional when we were trying to enjoy the peace and quiet of a wilderness lodge. Restaurants were expensive, even for Jasper. This was our one "splurge" hotel for our 2-week trip and it was the one we enjoyed least. Based on the Fairmont name (and price!) we had expected spotless rooms, immaculate grounds, excellent service and friendly staff but were disappointed in all areas. Would have been livid if we'd paid full price (reported on travel site to be $700 per night!) and felt we didn't get our money's worth even at the "deal" price. Many better places to stay in Jasper. Would not go back.

Room Tip: not sure there are any??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Angela863,
Thank you for your comments and observations. We are delighted you were able to enjoy the beautiful views however, we are most disappointed to read of the challenges you faced with us. Our property’s physical presence and character is meant to inspire and excite our guests and we truly apologize you felt our gardens to be under maintained. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our grounds superintendent to ensure this is rectified immediately. We can agree that finding a parking spot right out front of you cabin can sometimes be a challenge. We like to maintain an idyllic natural setting our guests can enjoy and have consciously chosen not to turn valuable green space into more concrete parking spots. In many cases additional parking would hinder views and the pristine surroundings. We have a great team of valets who are friendly, efficient and available 24 hours a day that would be happy to assist with parking your vehicle and helping with luggage. Again, we are truly sorry your stay did not meet your expectations and hope we can welcome you back in the near future so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

our room was a small log cabin near the lake about a three minute walk from the main lobby. parking was difficult, hard to find any parking near our room. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Walking from the lobby to our room just as night fell we encountered about 10 elk. We walked down near the lake in the morning and it is beautiful, tons of Canada geese around the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mildred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Milred J,
Thank you for your positive review! We are delighted you were able to enjoy your stay with us and even got to see some wildlife. Please accept our apologies you were unable to find a parking spot near your guest room. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were really surprised at how wonderful this hotel is. The scenery is truly like none other and being able to dine with the lake nearby, superb. It's a very suitable place for a getaway with the friendly and helpful staff alongside the views. I would go again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Julie F,
Thank you for your positive review! We know that even the best locations and offerings would be meaningless without outstanding guest service. We are thrilled you were able to expereince the true Fairmont service and were made to feel special, valued and appreciated. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future! Sincerely,The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.0 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
447 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,626 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
628 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: £171 - £386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing