We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our room was old, small and dark. We had terrible customer service when we complained.
Food was good but waited a long time for it to arrive.
Parking takes forever!
The location of the lodge is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank PinkNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear PinkNicole,
Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are happy you found the lodge beautiful. It is, however, unfortunate you had less than a satisfactory overall experience with us. We continuously strive to meet and exceed guest expectations and clearly did not achieve that with you, of which we apologize for. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    954
    729
    494
    276
See reviews for
1,017
1,884
75
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Scenery , atmosphere, property grounds...second to none. A true Rocky mountain experience. Walking the grounds experienced wildlife up close face to face with a few friendly elk. Food is incredible, and a pool ,steam and sauna to work off the calories.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you, Peter C, for your kind comments. We're very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

It all starts with the drive into the property, had to stop to let a family of elk cross the road.

The cabin was great, bed was awesome, nice TV, great rustic cottage feel. The view of the lake and mountains is incredible.

The golf course is incredible, one of my favourites, a must play.

Can't wait to schedule another trip back to Jasper, will definitely bring the family.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A beautiful hotel in an unbelievably stunning and tranquil location. Excellent food and fantastic service. Pictures cannot do it justice. We stayed 2 nights - it wasn't enough ! Will definitely be back as it has been the hi-light of our Canada trip.

Room Tip: A lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, Dawn A. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Canada again soon. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The scenery and facilities in the national park were amazing. However, the bedrooms are very run down and need refurbishing. This needs to be reflected in the prices they are charging but this is not currently happening. We stayed for one night as part of our route through the Rockies. We did complain and were offered a discount off our food bill at reception. Please only spend the money once it has been refurbished which I was told is due as it has not had a face lift for 10 years.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dannic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

What a great hotel. It is more of a lodge-don't expect it to look like a large Fairmont hotel. However, it has all the Fairmont amenities with the feel of a lodge. It is a place to relax. It doesn't have the busy feel of some of the other Fairmont properties. The rooms are outside of the lobby which give it a more uncrowded feel. They will pick you up in a golf cart if you don't wish to walk to the lobby. Service is exceptional. Food is delicious, but on the pricey side. The lake is beautiful with availability to sit and relax while enjoying the view. The hikes that are within walking distance, are easy with incredible lake views. It isn't in the town proper, so that can be a disadvantage when dining. We had a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: I would ask for the different types of rooms when reserving. They are all different in their layouts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello Joanne M, thank you for your review. You're right - each Fairmont property is very unique, with our resort offering that "true Canadian lodge" feel. We're happy to hear that you received exceptional service, enjoyed your dining experiences and of course, took in the beautiful views. We hope to see you again in the future! Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I don't know where to begin but I did have a really bad feeling about this place when I read recent reviews last week. We booked a Deluxe room through our travel coordinator in Vancouver. She is in n way responsible for this outcome, but the upshot is that've were given a room in a cabin with peeling, chipped paint on the outside, pothole road to walk on to get there, chipped bathroom vanity, ridiculously high bed with two mattresses stuck on top of one another in a framed bed, chipped table with two chairs, no air-con despite there being a control panel for aircon on the wall! Very very dated decor. Old tired, worn furniture. The whole cabin was full of mismatched pieces.....bins of all descriptions - cane bin, multicolored can bin, plastic bin, metal bin. Unbelievably bad. Then to top it all off we could not get into any of the eateries on the property. Not even the casual dining place, Emerald Lounge. There was at least a 30 minute wait. So we ordered Room Service which came quicker than waiting in the queue.
We very much believe we were gazumped here and that they didn't really care.
The cabins are very budget. In fact we've stayed in better budget cabins in caravan parks at home that only cost $99 a night!! Not several hundred dollars ($300+).
DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Only free wifi if you belong to the Fairmont President's Club, which we do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieEggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear AussieEggy,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in regards to your experience at our property. Please accept our sincere apologies and regret in failing to meet your expectations regarding your visit. We truly appreciate your valuable feedback and can assure you that your comments have been taken very seriously and will be beneficial in assisting us in the future. We do hope that one day we will be able to welcome you back to enjoy the true Canadian Lodge experience that we strive to offer all of our guests. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.0 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
399 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
926 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Property: Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing