We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful scenery but a little disappointing.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mt Isa, Qld
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery but a little disappointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Firstly the lodge itself is visually very attractive. The positioning of the walking track around the lake makes a walk or run accessible to most people. We were on a tour and our bus driver gave us lifts into town to gather supplies for our stay , otherwise we would have had to pay the high resort prices. We stayed in one of the lakeside single rooms which were adequate with only on pokey bathroom. The restaurant meal we had was of top quality although the matched wine was very expensive. The service at dinner was good but at breakfast was disappointing. The food in the Bain Marie's was cold and had obviously been prepared well in advance. When I pointed this out nothing was done.

Green Features: As for all Fairmont resorts they display their practices and encourage patrons to participate.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnMtIsa_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear LynnMtIsa_Qld,
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are delighted you enjoyed your meals and dinner service. Thank you for noticing our ‘green’ contributions. In 1990, our Canadian hotels pioneered the Green Partnership program—a comprehensive commitment to minimizing our hotels’ impact on the planet, which was accompanied by a guidebook on sustainable best practices in the lodging industry. This green philosophy has grown to become a core value of our company. We are disappointed to read your breakfast service and food quality did not meet your expectations. Your experience in no way indicative of the level of quality for which we are known for. We will be addressing these issues with our Food & Beverage teams to ensure that challenges like these are better handled in the future and do not have a negative impact on our guests. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    860
    670
    461
    259
See reviews for
924
1,733
69
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chatham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My family just spent two great days and enjoyed almost every second of it. Two negatives, they struggled to provide vegan food at Cavell's even when we called five hours in advance and discussed our vegan needs. they promised variety and then did not offer it and the cook staff made us feel like we were inconvenient to them. The food came out piecemeal and of medium quality. The Moose Restaurant was awesome for our vegan requirements and really made us feel special and not a bother. The food was incredible! We had five vegans at the table and they easily served us. Shuttle service is horrible! The left early from the Fairmont and i wondered about the people whom arrived later and the shuttle had left. On the return we arrived fifteen minutes early so we wouldn't miss the shuttle but after twenty minutes we asked the Booth staff where the shuttle was and she looked me right in the eyes and said I just missed it and she had loaded it herself only a couple minutes earlier. When I told her she was lying she refused to talk anymore. we took a cab back to the hotel. The Fairmont has two shuttles on site and should not contract out to sub par venders. Besides that....awesome place and we would return but be wiser of these two areas.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Upon check-in we were upgraded from a lodge room to a lakefront cabin (at no extra charge). We had a breathtaking view of the lake! The service was genuine, my workout gear (President's Club) was waiting for me in the room. We took many photos of the area surrounding the hotel and even took the opportunity to check out the Pro-Shop at the golf course.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Really enjoyed our stagy at this facility. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The ground were very scenic and tranquil with spectacular lake and mountain views. This was my favorite place we stayed at in the Banff/Jasper area and was really a nice change of pace from the crowds of tourists experienced elsewhere. We stayed in a lakefront suite, which did have older furnishing, but felt more antique than dated. The beds were new and comfortable and the room was quiet. The lodge really had a nice ambience, with good restaurants and a large, open lobby. Game room was a big hit with the kids, but wished we had more time for some of the other activities. The lodge isn't that close to town, but not much to do there and would prefer to be outdoors anyways or relaxing at the lodge.

Room Tip: Parking is limited near lakefront suites, especially in small lot closet to cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nkrpctl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel is a lodge hotel with rooming in lodges throughout the grounds which are expansive. Parking is somewhat limited at busy times.

The rooms are well appointed but no ice machine closely and no robes provided in rooms. Considering what they are charging for the rooms I was slightly disappointed with this.

We had a nice view of the lake and the grounds are set up with walking trails. We did some kayaking on the lake which was fun and $40 for one hour.

The hotel was very busy and a popular spot for visitors to stay. A short drive away from the centre of Jasper.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, WA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

For the price we paid for the rooms, this property was overpriced. It was a not a complete disappointment, but we won't be back.
OK let's start with the positives:
- The location is great, beach on the property.
- Tranquil grounds and lake.
- Kayak and bike rentals.
- Parking is free (this might have required signing up to their President's club, which is free).
- Internet is also free if you sign up for President's club.

Now let's move on to the negatives.
- It's old. No I'm not talking rustic. It's just old and it shows, and it's not very well kept either. The bathtub was full of spots, the toilet was "rusty".
- Service was pretty bad. We went to Maligne Lake and came back to our lodge at 5pm and the room hadn't been made up. Sigh. So we called, and half hour later the room keeper came and made up the room.
- The floor was pretty dirty when we came in, there were some mud streaks on the tile floor, some hair too. I'm not easy to gross out, I just don't like paying a lot of money for motel-level cleanliness.
- No air conditioning. I guess it's fine most days of the year. But when we were there, it was over 90 degrees, so AC would have been welcome.
- Because there was no air conditioning, we had to leave some windows open, and some of our neighbors stayed up until late and chatting outside (no doubt because it was hot). But we could hear their voices, and although they were not making loud noises, it was still tough to go to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soekotjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontJPL, Manager at Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear soekotjo,
Thank you for your comments and observations. We are delighted you were able to enjoy our location and boat and bike rentals! However, we were most disappointed to read that the resort did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies in regards to the servicing schedule of your room. It seems that we failed to meet your expectations and we are truly sorry if somehow we missed an opportunity to service you better. We can appreciate that some areas of the hotel are older than others and would benefit from updated décor. As you touch on, we are in the process of addressing this through renovations and we hope for an opportunity to showcase these renovations to you in the future. We are committed to continuing to invest into the resort to meet the needs of all of our guests. We truly appreciate your valuable feedback and can assure you that your comments have been taken very seriously and will be beneficial in assisting us in the future. We do hope that one day we will be able to welcome you back to enjoy the true Canadian Lodge experience that we strive to offer all of our guests. Sincerely, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed in Jasper at the Fairmont after staying in Banff and Lake Louise (both in Fairmont hotels) and our experience was different, but still very enjoyable. Jasper is a much more relaxed location and the hotel fits with that relaxed atmosphere. The staff were friendly and helpful, the cabin style rooms very comfortable and the service quite good. Take a bottle of wine to one of the viewing spots on the lake (only steps from the cabins) and enjoy the peace and quiet. Very satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenandfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#7 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge

Property: Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
Address: Old Lodge Road Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jasper
#4 Business Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by snow-capped peaks and sparkling lakes, The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge welcomes you to the Grand Rocky Mountain Lodge Experience. The charming cabins and rustic elegance make it the embodiment of peace, tranquility and natural beauty. Enjoy great golf, a luxury Spa, spectacular outdoor adventure opportunities, uncrowded ski slopes and fine cuisine at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Jasper Park Hotel Jasper
Jasper Park Lodge
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge Jasper
Jasper Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing