We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breath of fresh air!”
Review of Lobstick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lobstick Lodge
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air!”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed at The Lobstick Lodge in early October as part of the Thomas Cook 'Canadian Pioneer' tour and were pleasantly surprised. We were given a large suite on the ground floor near the restaurant. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well furnished with everything we needed.A safe would have been welcome but none of the seven hotels we stayed at on this trip had that facility in the rooms.The restaurant was comfortable and inviting with a good selection of local and international dishes and a friendly and happy staff.We love Jasper and have stayed in several hotels there over the last ten years and think that the Lobstick is among the best in its star rating.Town is a good twenty minutes walk away but with scenery like that it is a privilege.While there take a taxi ride to Jasper Park Lodge,another jewel in Jasper's crown!

Room Tip: A low rise hotel so you cannot realy get a bad room,a lovely bar/lounge on first floor with fantasti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    219
    233
    86
    74
See reviews for
209
269
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Lobstick is one of the original mountain lodges and still going strong. Although the age of the hotel is showing in the carpet and the creaking floor boards of the foyer, the entire hotel is very clean and in good shape. The bathrooms have been updated with a deeper tub for those that prefer baths to showers. The shower itself has those newer curved shower curtain rods so it feels roomy when showering. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
Beds were very comfortable with extra pillows and blankets in the room. Found the room to be a bit chilly, so turned up the thermostat. Unfortunately, every half hour or so, the baseboard heater would make a loud bang, loud enough to wake you.
My room had a kitchenette and table that seated 6. The kitchen comes with a full fridge, sink, stove, microwave, dishes and cooking pots and pans; everything you need to make a meal.
The restaurant was clean and overlooked the front street. We ate breakfast there which was a buffet. There are two types available, full buffet and continental. The full buffet includes the hot items, such as eggs, bacon, etc. the continental was more than sufficient for breakfast as it included toast, pastries, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice and nuts. Dinner was very good. The portions were very generous and the meals were well presented and flavorful. As with all touristy towns, the prices were higher than what you would expect, but the prices were no higher in the hotel than in town.
The lounge was very nicely done. A fireplace and strategic seating made for intimate gatherings. The wi-fi internet access was spotty at best and generally unusable for me. I did not use the pool or any other amenities.
As we were there in late October, there were not many people around as this time is the shoulder season between summer and skiing season. Lobstick is on the NE edge of town, away from the main road so it is quiet, but a fair walk to shopping. Would not want to walk back carrying all my purchases, but there is plenty of taxi service in Jasper.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etagem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

A good stop off during our tour of Alberta/B.C. - the hotel is ideal for this and we found just about everything to our satisfaction. Room was clean and very comfortable and the hotel, though not in the centre of town, was only a 15 min stroll from downtown. Staff were polite, welcoming and courteous during our stay. Only downside was that we ate in the hotel restaurant on our first night but unfortunately it wasn't a great experience so we didn't return. Think the chef had a bit of a liking for spices so didn't want to take the risk that this would prevail with other meals. Plenty of other good places to eat in Jasper though so no this apart, no issues at all with this hotel ; indeed it was good to be able to relax in the lounge are and enjoy a drink either inside or out.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMY71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Quite a ten minute hike to the Lodge from the lovely small town centre and there is no connecting bus service. If you have a car or if you enjoy walking then there's no problem but otherwise it's just too far away to be strollable, especially with luggage.
The Lodge itself is unpretentious from the outside (rather like a wooden Travelodge) but we enjoyed our stay in early October and recommend it to others. The rooms are generously large, the beds are huge and very comfortable (apart from the very large fibre-filled pillows),room service is friendly & helpful and the facilities are sound.
The deskstaff were young and somewhat inexperienced (as were many others in both Jasper and Banff hotels - students or RTW youngsters, often Australian or British). The TV in our ground floor room (only 3 floors at the Lodge) was huge and connected to the usual 50 or so channels. We had a small but pleasant en suite and a large sitting/dining room attached to the bedroom, with sink, fridge, freezer and cooker, plus table, sofa and chairs; the only drawback being its location, close to the reception desk & their early morning chatter.
Facilities were limited in the hotel...small pool with small sauna & whirlpool inside and three hot tubs outside, often filled by large guests! Masses of information, maps & leaflets freely available. The small restaurant was unremarkable - it too resembled a Travelodge set-up, but service was friendly and efficient.

The Lodge is part of an independent group that runs 3 other properties in Jasper, one of which is next door: we were tempted into Chateau Jasper for a Thanksgiving dinner and regretted it. The meal was incredibly bland and was a real disappointment...it matched the insipid atmosphere and decor.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are larger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Rooms were spacious and clean - breakfast was good although the dining room was very busy and service could have been faster. Loved the lounge area at night with a few drinks. Would def come back here

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feeby_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

A nice place and good for the price. Maybe not 5 Star,but good for the $$$.
Car park is a little inconvenient to bring baggage over gravel &upstairs.
Breakfast could be included like many other places.Did not have any problems with staff. Always polite and obliging.
As usual no way to heat water other than coffee maker. A jug or kettle would be welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We arrived off the Rocky Mountaineer train, and all members of our group received a very rude 'welcome' from the member of staff on duty - may have been the same one mentioned in earlier reviews. Her attitude seemed to be ' I just told the people in front of you all this stuff so I won't bother talking to you properly'. (The other members of staff on the desk that we spoke to seemed much more pleasant and willing to be of service).
Our room was on the top floor, as we requested following reviews on Trip Advisor. It was spacious, with the two biggest beds I have EVER seen, a small table and two chairs. There was an in-room fridge, but no airconditioning. The windows were old aluminium type, and were quite difficult to slide open to admit air.
While our room was tidied during our stay, the beds were not made up by staff - I had 'tidied' them, but elsewhere staff did them to hotel standard as a routine.
The bathroom was clean and had a good size bath/ shower.
There is a lovely balcony section to the bar area, where meals and drinks can be served. One member of staff here (Martin) was particularly friendly and chatty. Soft drinks were the cheapest anywhere we came across in Canada - a refill is included in the price.
We were just a short walk from the main area of Jasper, where there is an excellent grocery store, a Visitor Centre and Post Office. Shops seemed very dated.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
819 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobstick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobstick Lodge

Property: Lobstick Lodge
Address: 94 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lobstick Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the town of Jasper, Lobstick Lodge is near all the area's major attractions. With 139 spacious guestrooms and rooms with kitchenettes, this Jasper resort offers an excellent family restaurant, meeting and catering facilities, an indoor pool and sauna, 3 outdoor Jacuzzis, 1 indoor Jacuzzi and a fitness center. Lobstick Lodge is also a great skiing destination with friendly, knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lobstick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lobstick Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing