We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lobstick Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lobstick Lodge
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Stevenage
Level Contributor
216 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Very average hotel”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our first impressions from the outside was of a very run down and much unloved hotel.
Inside the décor was in need of some TLC and we found hundreds of suitcase scuff marks along the corridor to our room.

The floor boards were really noisy throughout the hotel and we ended up playing a game of who could walk to our room from the reception area without making a sound.

This was impossible!

Our room was clean but was located near the stairwell which also gave you access to the rear car park. So every time anyone used the stairs or entrance it sounded like a herd of elephants coming in. The Hotel was extremely hot and the heat in our room was unbearable which made us both feel sick upon entering. We eventually had to sleep both nights with our windows wide open just to keep the room cool. The Bathroom was okay but again in need of some TLC.
Our LCD TV’s picture quality had more snow on it than outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeWantAnotherHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    206
    218
    82
    69
See reviews for
199
247
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibbons, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We found our stay at the lobstick lodge to be quite a pleasant place to stay and the staff were very accommodating...the rooms are large and clean and modern....the food was good, we had Christmas buffet as well as breakfast buffet, prices are good for what you get....the facilities were maintained properly....the pool was a cold pool which was a definite surprise at first but the hot tubs were what they were....hot tubs....for being an older hotel the lobstick has managed to keep relevant and kept up with the times....we will be returning!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The hotel was clean and the rooms had all the modern conveniences (refrigerator, coffee pot, flat screen tv etc). Staff was pleasant enough. My only complaints was the company Christmas party (was informed that it was Lobstick management) that was held on our floor. The party goers couldn't seem to contain themselves to the banquet room, but rather drizzled out into the hallways, being very loud and rowdy. My husband asked them more than once to please keep it down and finally had to complain to staff. I find it ironic that it was the management team that was making the ruckus. My second complaint is that no food services are available between breakfast and supper. The restaurant closes until 5. I was confined to the hotel room with my son who was sick and no vehicle and was unable to get anything decent to feed him other than local pizza delivery. The fact that the Lodge is so far removed from the downtown corridor makes that fact a little inconvenient. There was also a little gift shop that coincidentally was closed the entire weekend that we were there.

Room Tip: Request that your room be far away from the 3rd floor banquet room OR inquire as to any functions th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Black mold found in first room after noticing wall paper was coming off the walls. We were given another room, in this room the security chain was broken and the oven did not work, ended up using the microwave for our family dinner. No apology given by the management group or staff. We have stayed at the Lobstick previous years but this experience.has reassured our family not to stay at the Lobstick. So, properly back to the Best Western or stay in Hinton.

Room Tip: If you want a good care free experience find a different location. This is only my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnEastwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian_Higginson, Manager at Lobstick Lodge, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that your experience at the Lobstick Lodge was not up to your or our standards. The problems you encountered have been repaired however I am very disappointed that we did not apologize for this situation. It is my understanding that the clerk working that night tried to rectify the issues but did not explain or apologize properly and that is not acceptable. For the record I am sorry for the issues during your stay and while the alternatives you have listed are very good I do hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had 2 nights here during our 19 day fly-drive tour of BC/Alberta. On arrival the receptionist was having difficulty with another guest and was getting a little frustrated; eventually another receptionist arrived to deal with the queue waiting to check in. We were somewhat surprised to find our room was semi-basement. However, we did have a full kitchen, large sitting area with comfortable sofa, dining table and chairs and large bedroom (and, of course a bathroom). Although we could open some of the windows it was noisy at times as it was almost under the steps to the lobby and there was a seat immediately outside the window where people gathered in the evening and mornings and talked very loudly...not realising there was a bedroom close by no doubt. However, it did mean we could cater for ourselves and enjoy a plate of vegetables with our meal - why do restaurants either not serve veg or if they do they have only been waved at the hot water and are practically raw....not even al dente! Did not have time to use the swimming pool but it did look very inviting and the areas around were clean. Visited the Museum which was small but very informative.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ser45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel is quite charming actually and the rooms were surprisingly nice (for a small little town and after staying at the Sandman in Quesnel). It has a ski cabin feel. Unfortunately we were left with a bad taste in our mouths after the receptionist was a little rude to us when our room key didn't work - you would swear that she was the person inconvenienced and not us! The heat in the rooms was controlled centrally and we couldn't change it. When we phoned reception to ask about lowering the temperature we were told to open a window. The same response for several other rooms in our party! (sorry ozone layer!) Another very annoying problem was that our entire party did not receive wake up calls, apparently due to an IT issue. This may sound like an unimportant issue - but when you have buses and trains to catch this can really ruin your trip! We had a very rushed breakfast and although the breakfast staff were friendly they seemed quite overwhelmed and we had to wait for dishes to be replenished, which we didn't have time to do. I wouldn't stay here again, Jasper is a quaint little tourist town - there must be better service out there!

Room Tip: If you have to sleep with your window open due to the rooms being overheated ask for a room not faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourtheworld-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after our Rocky Mountaineer trip from Vancouver. The check in was rather casual though we were pleased that wifi was a free and easy option. The hotel looks rather tired and neglected and I think this was the oldest one of a growing chain... I do hope the owners return their interest to it and refresh it sometime! Having said that there was a new bath/shower unit which ensured the bathroom was not drenched after a shower.. very good. The room was large and well equipped but just felt cold and uninviting despite the much appreciated happy birthday chocolates and champagne...which we happily enjoyed.
we rang through to reception as we could not find the channel listing apparently on page 9 which was blank, a maintenance man arrived to tell us again to go to "page 9"... "but it is blank" we stated again... he was totally surprised and simply repeated "but it's on page 9, oo I don't know then!" An amusing moment.
We ate in the bar the first night and that was awful... turkey pie and vegetables... dry and tasteless so agreed not to eat there again though we heard from other travellers that the breakfast was OK.
The pool area was tatty and uninviting.
I do hope the owners upgrade this Inn as it has a great location with lovely views.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor at the back which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ka h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
837 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lobstick Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lobstick Lodge

Property: Lobstick Lodge
Address: 94 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lobstick Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the town of Jasper, Lobstick Lodge is near all the area's major attractions. With 139 spacious guestrooms and rooms with kitchenettes, this Jasper resort offers an excellent family restaurant, meeting and catering facilities, an indoor pool and sauna, 3 outdoor Jacuzzis, 1 indoor Jacuzzi and a fitness center. Lobstick Lodge is also a great skiing destination with friendly, knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lobstick Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lobstick Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing